Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ab Intra

by Yarek - Jam Entry

INTRODUCTION

I'm gonna write this in case I forget the little I know about this place...
I can't remember my name, I can't remember why am I here and simple things like walking seem difficult for me. It's like if I was fading away.
I've been knocking on that door for hours but I hardly know why...
I just need to get out of here

Me for myself


What Kind of game is it? How do I play it?

This is a point and click horror game. Use the right button of your mouse to select between actions and interact with your surroundings in order to find your way out of the room.

Known problems

????

Tools Used

Visionaire Studio
Photoshop CS5
MixPad Multitrack recording software
WavePad Sound Editor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#12Mood(Jam)4.25
#39Graphics(Jam)4.48
#83Audio(Jam)3.77
#182Overall(Jam)3.64
#356Fun(Jam)3.25
#546Innovation(Jam)2.98
#557Humor(Jam)2.49
#687Theme(Jam)3.34

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

Really cool game, I enjoyed it.

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

exoddinary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

Hi can you post a web version as well? I want to try, but couldnt open it, dunno with my security system flaws or something.

It looks intriguing.

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31am

Very thrilling atmosphere! I wanted to know what happened to that guy, he seemed mentally disturbed.

I hope you give my game a try aswell: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46211

timtipgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:23am

I think I never played a horror point and click adventure before, so there's that for innovation :) Loved every aspect of your game. Great drawings, nice sounds and a very dense mood. Good Job!

Yarek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:58am

@exoddinary I can't post a web version because the tool used ( Visionaire Studio ) is used for PC games ( like Deponia ) but not for the web, I'm sorry. You have my word there's no virus, it's just the game and its files. Give it a try if you can :)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:10am

Awesome story and gameplay! Well done!

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15am

Nice graphics man.

talecrafter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:22am

Great idea and wonderfully executed.
The art style is gorgeous, of course, but sound is also well done and gameplay works without a hitch.
The only thing I don't really like is the necessity to switch between possible actions instead of context actions or presenting them all at once, but that is of course subjective. (Perhaps it is just the standard scheme of Visionaire Studio?)

Yarek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:33am

@talecrafter Thank you very much for your feedback.

To be honest this is the first time I use Visionaire Studio and I used this Ludum Dare as a learning opportunity. I know it's possible to change what you say about how you switch between possible actions but it required more time than this method and I didn't have time to do it :)

There were a lot of ideas that we wanted to implement but didn't have the time so we did what we could :)

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:42am

Neat game, bit too many jump scares without much buildup or time to appreciate the horror.

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Right when you want to know more of the story it ends!! Haha! But cool, I missed this kind of adventure games :)

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02pm

beautiful artwork. great atmosphere.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Great art. Creative intro and ending

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Pretty Spooky!

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Awesome game ! Some of the jumpscare really got me ! ARt is great, music and mood are also amazing.

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I like the manga style and the art,it's very original for a videogame, it reminds me Hotel Dusk of Nintendo Ds. Good game and nice gameplay. Congratulations ;-)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Cool point and click game with a very interesting mood. Most of the puzzles were unintuitive though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Awesome game dude.Can you give mine a try ,
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=47346

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:04am

Wow really cool mood to this game

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:09am

Really nice game. I really had fun playing. May be the music could have add more to the mood, but still, it's a high-quality game for a jam.
Here is my playthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rurJhW7rfk&index=7&list=PLmCAIfF6iKQWX1RhyAaKCdmk_61etZJ_9

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:24pm

The greyscale art really works in this game.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Nice one. Really nice graphics. Text is hard to read sometimes. There should be some outline or solid background to read it easier.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Quite scary!

Good job.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:43pm

This is so cool! Wish it would be longer.

// caryoscelus

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Nice story and graphics. And quite scary too!!!

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:38pm

This was great! Some really creepy elements.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Wow!! Super cool :D
Nice illustrations and sounds. I liked the scary atmosphere.
Also, the game fits very well with the theme.
Good work!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:05am

It was short and intense! I found the text really hard to read, though, especially since the game didn't display full-screen at my tv's resolution.

ynots says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:54am

NICE GRAPHICS....BRO

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Probably the most atmospheric game in this Jam :)

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:54pm

This was fucking inteeeeeeense! Holy shit! Love the artstyle, love the game. I've seen a lot of manga like this, but never seen it gamified. This is a really great idea. Made me feel things. rofl.

Nice one.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:28am

Well, that was creepy!

I really loved your art. I jumped the first time that guy grabbed my hand by the bed.

radmars says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:49am

Probably one too many jump scares IMO but great job with the atmosphere regardless. Nice work!

gladers says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Great game, art and mood is really well done!

svarther says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:10am

As a fan of adventure games I liked this game, great idea, fantastic art and perfect execution. Congratulations!

Harsay says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:08pm

I have only one thing to point out. That FONT!
Overall it's great, but for me the ending felt chopped out.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Absolutely loved the art style and the audio fits in very well with the mood.

syawqy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:12am

it's good that I play this game in the morning

Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:43am

"From the Inside," huh? You got me a good few times with the jump scares, especially the one where your wrist gets grabbed! I think the best tension-build was probably when the character looks inside the wardrobe but we don't actually get to see what's there--just that he's horrified--and then we're forced to go and interact with it in order to block the window.......

Art looks great, sound is great, and the experience is just short enough not to wear on you. For next time I agree with the other posters that some sort of SCUMM interface or something like that, rather than cycling options with right click, would have worked better--and maybe also a more unified story? I didn't understand why the game ended when I clicked the chest, or why the scary things were happening. Another thing to look at would be changing the font face a bit so that it sticks out better against the background. What you have but with a thick black outline would have worked, but I had a hard time reading the dialogues once or twice.

I really, really liked this entry, though. It was entertainingly frightening. Thank you for the game!

Yarek says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:56pm

I think it's worth saying that this entry was more a test than a game. It's the first time we try to create something in Visionaire Studio and the first time we try something atmospheric. There are a lot of things that could be improved ( jump scares, font, user interface, etc. ) but we run out of time and we did what we could :)

The good part is that we created something that we are proud of in a very short time and now we will improve on all of these things and create an actual game with this idea.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Nice game, everything is happening to quicly to be really scary but the mood is here !

Congrats !

sirdorius says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Wow! Great work guys! Great atmosphere and graphics

Tifu says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Cool atmosphere and art, controls could have been a bit better - for example, the mouse icon kept changing back to the default use, when if I have it set to 'look' its probably because I want to look at several things, would be a little more convenient if it just stayed as what it was last at. Text was a little difficult to read too, with the colour choice, and no outline or border on the font. But overall, good short interactive horror experience. Huzzah.

aeveis says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:44am

nice art! nice surprises, but I feel like there could have been a bit more suspense/narrative? Not sure what happened at the end with the eye in the wall, but good job!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Pssst - You are featured on todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pE047h0Gqx0

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]