Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Moving Melody

by ChuiGum - Compo Entry

*Headphones Recommended

This is my Fifth Ludum Dare, and as always I can see that I am improving.

Moving Melody is a rhythm based runner. It's not endless, there are levels (but I only managed to make about 2/3 of one). Jump to the beat, collect to the beat, watch clouds bounce to the beat, and see the colors change to the beat! I wish I had more time to make more levels, because it seems a little too short and I wish you guys could see more. The first and only level is about a minute long, but hopefully you'll have fun. You can probably notice that I didn't finish making the first level, but I'll post a link to the Post Compo version when it's complete.

Instructions:) Space to Jump, P to Pause

I would love to make a level based on a Song, that would be awesome.

The Entire Game is on Your One Computer Screen. (You can tell that I just said "Forget about it" to the theme)

Sorry for the big .zip folder, if anyone can tell me how to just give a simple .exe to distribute (Processing), that'd be awesome (for both of us).

*Little Bug People Seem to be Having:) I didn't realize that you could jump before the level starts. People said that when they jumped, they got stuck in the floor and it was Game Over. Only way to fix that now is to say... Don't do that :)

People have said that took a while for them to complete the first (and only) level. To me it was easy, but that's because I played through it probably a hundred times. So now I know that my levels shouldn't be super long. I thought that this level was too short but now I'll just leave it as it is. Thanks for the feedback guys, it helps!

Enjoy! c:

- http://ccolongames.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#237Audio3.24
#399Humor2.73
#518Graphics3.14
#521Fun3.11
#664Mood2.82
#921Overall2.83
#1037Innovation2.33
#1180Theme2.27

Comments

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:55am

nice game!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:04am

On a 32-bit machine :(

bakudas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:07am

cool, but i can't see innovation

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:57am

I like the idea, I'm running 64 bit it runs smooth but you should make it compatible with 32, Great job

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05am

Whoops, totally forgot. My bad @Hempuli, I just put out the 32 Bit link.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:33am

Cool game! Really nice graphics

bofink says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:37am

Good music and graphics, responsive controls... awesome game! :)

Lissar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:08am

"The Entire Game is on Your One Computer Screen." I played it in the middle of my dual monitor set up. What now!?

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:06am

Looks great! Thanks for the comment about this on my music game post!

I need to check this out on my other machine (logged on my OSX right now sadly)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:12am

- you dont need to release separate 32 and 64 bit executables. 64 machines can run 32 bit just fine for your game
- the game play, art and music are solid enough for a ludum dare game
- save points are essential because I keep dying then have to restart
- after about 10 tries I was able to make it to the part where the 3rd instrument comes in.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:14am

I really like it, but not sure how close to the theme it stays.

5T4MP5 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:27am

This was a nice relaxing play through. I didn't really feel compelled to play to the rhythm, but it was nice that elements in the environment reacted to it. One note: it feels a bit cheap that bumping into a ceiling results in death. Because the way the buildings are set up is very similar to canabalt, I expected it to respond in the same way. It's a small note really, but it was a little annoying during my playthrough. Otherwise I thought this was quite good. Very nice look to it.

Divitos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:28am

Amazing!

harley77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:31am

The dancing clouds to the beat gave me a good laugh. Very nice.

Rushout Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:37am

Nice game, i liked the music very much!
oh, when i jumped and fell on the building it was game over y-y
i couldnt go far in the game because i´m not very skilled y-y but i really liked the idea about the music and the rythm, the clouds dancing is very nice too. Good job!

Kitch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:55am

Nice work! Would have loved a hit on the note pickup, but otherwise, nicely built, fun city scape was beautiful, and loved the groovin clouds :) Thanks!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:15am

Great graphics and sound - very unforgiving. Save points would be nice.

One bug I found: I could jump during the count down at the very start. A few times, that caused a game over right away as I fell through the floor somehow.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:18am

Cute game. Like the pixel art and the really good controlls... I would have tryed it more often if there were some kind of checkpoint. The Game isn't 100% in line with the theme, isn't it ^^Godd job at all :D

Wusakko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:20am

Nice moving + cloud combo

Junuxx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:46am

Very nice! Fantastic graphics and characters and good music make this a lot of fun to play. Made it to the end with some practice.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:14am

solid infinite runner, well made.

Odefus says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:34am

Not really as much a rhythm based game as a game with some rhythm in the background. The game would also benefit a lot from random level generation. Nice pixel art.

Sharky says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:13am

Great graphics and music. The game is a bit unforgiving, every jump has to be perfect, and no extra jumps or your fall through the roof's or bumping your head and your dead. Someone buy that man a helmet XD and pay those builders to make more concrete buildings XD. but nice game :)

cxsquared says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:24am

Nice idea. I would have liked to see some bonus given for being more on the beat. Overall great game.

Lynx says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:59am

Nice job the way you did the collection of coins and color changes to music (how did you get the coin collection to the beat even as the player takes alternate routes?) I will say I would peeper to see the guy collide with the wall and fall (almost Mario style) than just freeze up

Anyways, great job!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:11am

This is a game that really needs a solid, cohesive visual style. I absolutely loved the way the buildings changed color to the beat. :) The background, with the blacks, whites and bright colors, should definitely be brought to the foreground. At the moment, the foreground and the background look like two separate games.

Rhythm games are some of my favorites -- I love to be sucked in by the beat, and get pulled into a trance as I play. :) Focusing on the music and how it plays with the environment will really help the mood!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Cute little runner, he's just so happy. Nice job :D

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I like the bright colors. Good job!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:45am

Hm... there's a part after the "stairs down" area where you have to drop down lower than your runner can actually get just by coming off, and it seems like you need to jump right before collecting the preceding music note. It's not a hard game, but I feel like the flow's a bit off, it needs more telegraphing, something... I kept on trying to jump on the clouds at the beginning, because I didn't understand that the buildings were part of the level--and if there's bouncing clouds in the lower atmosphere, then Why Not?

I like what you did with the music, though. It's really good music to run to, and I probably tried close to ten times to get past that one frustrating bit. You've done a good job of giving the game a certain "attitude."

Thank you for the game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:54am

that was pretty fun - could not figure out how the beat helped me - but great anyway - nice job

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:40am

Nice beat! Too bad I came into a part that seems impossible, so I lost the rest of the track :(

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:40am

Some sort of checkpoint system would have helped, overall it's not bad. I think it just needs some more variety and fine-tuned mechanics.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:15am

Nice little game, but didn't really give me goosebumps. Good clean work though!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:09am

Nice clouds!
The framerate was not constant for me, so most of the game wasn't in sync with the music or would fall in and out of sync. I also fell in a pit at one point and the game didn't recognize the death.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:09am

Great Canabalt style game with a rhythm to it! I greatly enjoyed the changing art and music with the gameplay, and the rhythm alignment with the gameplay felt awesome.

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I couldn't make it past that jump after that row of musical notes, no matter what I tried. A sound effect would be nice for when you collect musical notes. Unfortunately I don't know if there's more to come after that jump, but if you tell me how to do that jump, I'll try again.

Louisload says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:59pm

fun game, beautiful graphics and great music!
i suggest you implement some checkpoints throughout the level, i kept dying and had to make everything from start which is frustating

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Music and graphics are quite good and the idea on the whole has merit. Looking forward to trying out the post-compo version!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I love the idea. The color changes were really neat. What would have really sold me on this game -- apart from more levels -- is if the jumps were designed to be executed on the beat. If it was designed that way, I didn't feel it. Otherwise this could make a really cool relaxing get-in-the-flow runner. Hope you continue to work on it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]