Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Matter

by donan - Compo Entry

Dark Matter
Build a Time Machine and fix the mess.

WebGL support mostly required (unless you use the apps).
Controls: Mouse
F for Full Screen
Hope you like the game :D

Framework: Construct2
Graphics: Photoshop
Fx: Bfxr
Procedural Music: Abundant-Music

Note: Looks better on Firefox (Font on chrome might have reading issues on some computers)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#22Audio4.00
#79Graphics4.03
#86Mood3.65
#158Humor3.23
#175Theme3.97
#266Overall3.50
#549Fun3.09
#698Innovation2.94

Comments

DrHahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:40am

Nice art, I won't vote yet 'cause I think I broke it (got stuck between Indistation and the left wall.

icedvariables says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59am

Graphics and audio are great

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:08am

Nice game. Liked the puzzle

Grouflon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:13am

The click triggering move or action depending on the distance you have between you and the object is a little bit confusing. Also some combinations feels pretty random (Snake or light for instance). Otherwise, I find the idea and the overall ambiance pretty cool.

dekart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:30am

I love the mood and the soundtrack. Reminds me some retro games I loved in the childhood :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:46am

A nice little puzzler - well presented and rather fun.

I couldn't solve it myself, but my future self came back and told me how to do it as it remembered me coming back in time to tell myself.

There's nothing like a causal loop to start the day.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Loved it, even after getting stuck for a bit :P

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Very nice game, controllers are a bit difficult to use but nice anyway, I've got a time machine!!! :D

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Nice little puzzle! I had to watch the youtube video to get the mecanics at first but it was very clever. Loved the art and the music as well. Good job

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:43am

Nice adventure game, albeit a bit difficult. The mood is awesome, thanks to the beautiful graphics (love these old Macintosh game feel) and the music is very powerful! (I didn't know about Abundant Music before this jam, but it's clearly good to create musics! :))

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:25am

I really like adventure games... thanks for this one. I enjoyed how you put the entire game on a single screen to fit with the theme. Some of the item combinations were a bit confusing, but that's to be expected in this type of game. I did get stuck on assembling the machine for a moment, but not so long as to actually impact my enjoyment of the game. Good job on this game. You did a good job with the graphics.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Hi there. Visited/examined everything, got the axe and filled well... Somewhat stuck, will revisit have bookmarked. Love the music, really nice. Like the grainy graphics too. Good job!

pancakecity says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:44am

This is great, really enjoyed playing this! Especially the ending feature

indie4fun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:52am

Nice atmosphere! Love the "old screen" touch. The animations and the visuals are fantastic!

drnick says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Very nice to see a adventure game in Ludum Dare, in the way of those old Lucas Arts games but also with the fine (and certainly time-efficient on your part) black & white art of games like Shadowgate.

I specially enjoyed the gameplay in that it is all very logical and makes sense, unlike the fridge logic we often see in those.

The story of the game is also interesting and the opening sets well the atmosphere. The music sits nicely with the game albeit a little generic.

Definitely gave you some good ratings.

Norgg says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:09pm

I will have been going to be fixing that mess.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Interesting game! I Included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/YpdCMKphEUw

zatyka says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:35am

I like this entry a lot, but would have liked it better if it were more plausible to deduce all the solutions. In my play though, about half the solutions made sense, and the other half were me randomly trying things.

Lovely atmosphere. I liked the point and click interface... it felt very natural.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Nice game. he graphics and audio are solid & the puzzle aspect is pretty cool for a jam game. Something about it reminds me of Shadowgate, but I'm not sure what.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]