Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Rubble

by Aevek - Compo Entry

I decided that not only would I only use one static camera for this theme, I would never clear that screen either. Everything level piece sticks around, which presented an interesting and theoretically enjoyable design challenge.

I mostly tested with a gamepad, but most of the people I asked to play-test preferred the keyboard. So play however you want.

You play as a knight whose castle is sinking into a lake of lava. Realistic, I know.

Instructions

Move: Left/Right Arrow Keys or A/D or Gamepad

Jump: Up Arrow Key or W or Space or Gamepad button 0 (A button on xbox controller)

Move through each level to the blue sparkly thing, collecting trophies is optional.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#436Theme3.69
#510Innovation3.19
#549Mood2.94
#583Graphics3.05
#644Overall3.12
#735Fun2.90
#826Audio2.15

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02am

I really love how the rubble comes into play with the level design! The platforming is a little bit floaty, but otherwise pretty fun!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:09am

Nice platformer. I would have maybe liked a bit more gravity to feel more control. Otherwise I enjoyed going through the different levels. You respected the theme well.

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:48am

I really enjoyed this game. Great job!

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:23am

Good work! The way the levels collapse into rubble and remain on the field is pretty cool and ties it into the theme well. The controls really need to be tighter. I enjoyed it!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28am

like the theme interpretation! character physics seem weird. love the art for the knight

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:29am

There are some really good ideas here in this game, and overall I am very impressed. If I were to give some feedback it would be to lock the player for a shorter time during level transitions.

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:30am

Changing the level is not a unique idea in this jam,
but keeping the rubble was!
Nice game!

Bernhard says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Liked the falling block mechanic, wanted to reach the top but then those evil saws came >_< Finished the game but only 6 trophies or so. Maybe I'll try again to get them all.
Would be cool if there was an actual game mechanic with the accumulating rubble.
Also I feel your pain with the platforming as its always hard to do it well with physics driven movement.

Blockers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:50pm

managed to get through quite a bit before having some really strange hitbox issues-- but up until there, this is a really solid game, the rubble mechanic is an awesome idea, especially how you tied it in with the saw blades. the physics were a little floaty, but nothing too much to ruin the game :D

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I like the mechanics... really well done! And I know but I wanted to make my game a bit difficult I mean... I couldn't make it longer due to the time so!... thank you anyway I also really liked your entry!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

really nice rubble effect. could be a realy good game if made in full. consider it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06am

Very nice game! I Included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/QrqYJieiXWs

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:54am

I think I got like 11 trophies or somethin, really enjoyable though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59am

I like how the crushed rocks are also used for the next levels. Great graphics too :D

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23am

Nice simple little game :D

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Cool mechanic! Controls felt a bit wonky but the level design was cool, especially later on

FrazzyBob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:34pm

The controls felt funny otherwise good job, liked the rubble idea

okkolobr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Got a little bug at first try (character keep on passing through the platform :( )
Retry it, everything worked. Nice take on the theme. Well done !

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Nice idea! Really clever gameplay idea keeping last level elements to next, I got the theme usage. Controls and movement could be much better, hope you fix it in a post compo version.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:06am

The inability to do a running jump was a little frustrating, but otherwise it's a fun game and good application of the theme. Factoring the rubble of one puzzle into another puzzle is a great idea.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Sweet game! The whole idea for climbing over broken platforms seems really fresh. Level design is well thought. Gameplay works smoothly. Good job!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:42am

A solid, fun, and well-designed platformer. While the character movement could have been more polished, this was very well done!

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:51am

Really nice mood, I love the rubble movement between levels and the smaller arena with every level. Had some big collision issues when trying to avoid the spinning blades though, which killed me enough times for me to get angry and quit

Ironically, my entry also has a few collision issues ;) Damn collision!

rantt says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:55am

Cool concept, and well executed. I liked it, good job :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:51am

Nifty. I noticed that the collision with walls is off, as you can stick to walls indefinitely. It seems intentional from some of the level designs?

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:27am

Honestly, the collision detection is so buggy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]