Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Unity Ascension

by hitchh1k3r - Compo Entry

The Entire Game on One screen?
My first idea was to make an MMO type game, where everything happens on one screen, for every player... and it's the same screen.
That would have been a great idea, but I've never made an online multiplayer game, and didn't even now where to start... but that didn't stop me. Unity Ascension is a multiplayer online platform shooter. I was able to finish most of the game: I had an ending I was very please with planed, but ran out of time... making online games is really hard!

The server running this game isn't very fast, and I've never made a networked game before, so you'll probably notice rubber-banding. Hopefully you can still play and enjoy the game. The server is located in the US, and will probably be much slower for people in other parts of the world (I'm very sorry, but it's the best I can do right now). You can always check out the gameplay video above if the game is unplayable for you.

CONTROLLS
- Use the mouse to aim and fire (right click will change the tool you are using).
- Use WASD or the arrow keys to move, and spacebar to jump.
- Your health will decrease every time you shoot, or heal another player (the black bar that appears at the top of your character is your life).
- You cannot shoot or heal when you only have one hit point left... (that's a half implemented fix/bug in the compo. version) :(

NOT SURE IF IT'S RUNNING RIGHT?
There is a fair chance that my server has gone into a state of buggy/kind of working... check the gameplay video, and if it's not like that let me know so I can restart the server... and sorry.

REQUIREMENS
- Active internet connection
- Java Runtime Environment 7 or 8

TOOLS I USED AND CREDITS
- IDE : Eclipse
- Code : Java 7
- Library : LWJGL 3 (early stable build)
- Library : Matthias Mann's PNGDecoder
- Library : GLFW
- Code Snippet : http://stackoverflow.com/a/20953376
- Audio : OpenAL
- Audio : Bfxr
- Graphics : OpenGL
- Graphics : Photoshop
- Server : CentOS 6 x64 + Official JRE1.7
- Text Editing : Sublime Text 3
- Thanks : To you for playing!
...and I was going to use J-OGG but I didn't have any music so I cut it out of the build.

In the future I'll probably make web games, but LWJGL 3 is new and I just had to play with it. ^_^ Also I'll probably never make an multiplayer game in this timeframe again.

HOW TO PLAY
- Unzip the download, and run the Client.jar file (you'll need Java 7 installed). If you're on a newer Mac you'll have to right click and select "Open" then "Open" at the "Application is unsigned" dialog.
- The first time you play it will ask you to join a team, click the color you want.
- Use the mouse to aim and fire (right click will change the tool you are using).
- Use WASD or the arrow keys to move, and spacebar to jump.
- There are five point categories, you'll have to figure out how to earn points in all 5 (only two are possible with a single person on the server).
- Press tab to see the score screen, the points there were all gotten by people playing the game before you, you can add to your teams points.

CAN'T PLAY?
If the server crashes I'll try to fix it as soon as I notice, but feel free to tell me on Twitter (@HitchH1k3r) in case I don't notice.

FINAL NOTE
I'm going to be playing games like normal, but will be writing my scores and comments down to batch rate them. This way hopefully more people will arrive at this game page at the same time, and can enjoy playing the game more (together).

FUTURE VERSIONS AND SECURITY CONCERNS
There is a certain level of risk with networked games, if you'd like to see what this game is doing in more detail check the source link above, and please let me know if you have any concerns. The source link also has any "PORT" changes I've made to the game, and a list of planned changes that I'd like to make after the competition is over.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#271Theme3.84
#395Fun3.25
#619Innovation3.05
#620Mood2.87
#638Audio2.57
#687Humor2.32
#744Overall3.02
#1009Graphics2.37

Comments

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:49am

Nice concept and well done :)
Keep working on the game ^^

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:47pm

nice game, really enjoyed the presentation and the video you posted. Liked the Majora's mask time lapse in the video!

zakchaos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:28am

interesting game, would be cool to see it developed further,

Yazara says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:30am

This is cool, the first online multiplayer I've seen this Ludum Dare. It works pretty well!

Wampus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:44am

Interesting to see a live multiplayer game. Next you'll be doing server interpolation :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:49am

I logged in and played a little, it was ok. But then someone else joined and it got crazy hectic. With a lot more polish and a lot of people, I feel like it would be pretty fun.

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:56am

Wow! Online multi in LD is a tough feat to pull off, that it was your first is just amazing :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:56am

This is really fun! Awesome job - not too often you see really well done multiplayer games in LD. I never did figure out what the points are, though.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:56am

Nice work making a solid multi-player game, and great use of theme. I have the pleasure of getting a four player game going when I tried it out, so that was a great chance to play it properly. My only complaint was that with one hand on the mouse and the other on the WASD keys, it was hard to jump because the space was so far from the other keys. Making "W" jump would have solved this. As it stands, most players when I played just went to the bottom of the screen or stood in place and shot as much as possible from where they spawned.

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:11am

Impressive that you got a networked play component done in 2 days. The gameplay was pretty simple, but fun.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:26am

great game to play. Good work. love the time lapse. Will you finish this game and launch in the future? let me know if you do!

Divitos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:36am

Interesting multiplayer.

uberscientist says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:39am

It reminded me of crack.com Abuse (awesome LAN game I used to play at middle school)

AndresGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:49am

Overall really well done for the time given. Please keep working on it! Excited to see a polished version sometime in the future. It was hard for me to interpret the score and the UI, I'm sure it'll be much better in future versions.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:59am

Missed connection: I was brown, and you were green. We jumped around shooting floating coloured heads... but I felt a connection between us.

For such a simple game, I spent a long time on this. As a programmer I'm really impressed that you got this kind of a game working for a Ludum Dare. I've encountered a few multi-player online games here before, notably @porpentine and @mcclure's entry from LD26... um about Harpies? Regardless, you are making me jealous!

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:08am

Very well done on a technical level.

naali says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:18pm

I feel like this theme is hard to do something unique with, but having all players play on the same "screen" is one way to add depth. For improvements, I think that adding different enemy types that possibly scale due to some factor could have increased engagement.

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Not being able to see my health/ammo made it a little difficult to figure out what was going on, and a little frustrating when I ran out of ammo and then inevitably insta-died when I got hit trying to scramble for some of the flashy blocks that I thought might be ammo or health, but was unsure about. Had there been a life bar, counter, or something, I would have been able to immediately get relevant feedback every time I fired my gun, got hit, or picked up a flashy block, and could have quickly figured out the life:ammo relationship.

I also wasn't quite sure what the numbers meant at the bottom of the screen, or on the respawn screen. But that might've been more clear if there were other players playing at the same time as me.

The platform physics felt pretty good; glad to have the ability to drop down through a platform. I did sometimes have a bit of difficulty jumping sideways onto a higher platform; the horizontal distance was sometimes too much for the player's run speed.

The player's hitbox felt a little off. There were a few times I got hit when I was expecting the bullet to miss me. I think this mostly occurred with vertically moving bullets that were passing to the left or right of the avatar's rectangular body. Is the hitbox still a square? Or a circle? But I was pleased to notice a short period of invincibility after getting hit. Adding a visual indication such as blinking/flashing a bit could be a nice touch for that state, too.

I missed it at first, probably because I just took it for granted, but the hit particles were a really good touch!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I like the concept and visuals very much! You definitely should keep working on this game!

Odefus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:14pm

I went in blind without reading the description first and it was quite hard to figure out what was going on especially since I was playing all the way from europe and the lag was immense. Numbers all over the place and no break in the action to keep track of them.

After reading the description and watching the gameplay video it makes a whole lot more sense. While playing I completely missed there was a healthbar at all. I must have mistaken it for the "eyes" of the characters.

While playing I initially had no idea it was multiplayer. I figured the online thing was about leaderboards or something along those lines. I was joined by a blue fella and after figuring out it was another player I felt a certain connection there despite our limited ability to communicate. Perhaps the limitations on the communication are what created the feeling of a connection. Either way it was fun trying to figure out what was going on alongside someone else.

Having pulled off a functional online multiplayer for a LD entry is also pretty impressive. Solid entry overall. I had fun with it.

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Cool concept, but needs more tweaking.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Great fun! A bit laggy, but that is what to be expected within a very limited time frame. I enjoyed the game and I was lucky enough to play with someone else.
Good job!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:02pm

really simple but clean game, enjoyable and well done multiplayer

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:17pm

For a very simple and small game, it was certainly fun. A couple of friends and I hopped on and spent some time playing. The gameplay concept of your health decreasing as you shoot is actually pretty novel and interesting to play with.

rantt says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:47am

Cool concept, I really like the multiplayer idea. Fun game, nicely done :)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:05am

I was lucky enough to play with a group of 3 to 4; a one-screen multiplayer online game done for LD is really technically impressive! The platforming felt pretty good, the shiny particles were nice, and I thought the HP cost of attacking was interesting. Gameplay wise, it's actually better to find another player who's willing to heal you while you heal them, since you come out with more HP, and seem to get more points (skulls on the bottom). Good work!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:59am

Neat proof of concept, and I always give props to people that decide to take on networking in a game jam. Unfortunately the game itself needs a bit more depth, maybe some interaction between players, or power-ups.

Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:12pm

very nice graphics and strong gameplay
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]