Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Just Dance Dance Discotron Central: Cobra War

by RobotLovesKitty - Jam Entry


After the century long robot wars of 1972, a young robot tries desperately to hide it's identity, and happens to be at the disco trying to pick up a date for the evening.
----------
It's a keyboard party game!
for 1-X players (you share a keyboard)
For MAXIMUM fun, I recommend the Free Dance mode, since the Campaign is pretty impossible right now without practice.


get into position before the "groove" timer runs out, and to make sure your secret robot identity is safe, answer your dance partners questions as human-like as possible! (I know it's hard, that's because you are a robot)

CONTROLS:
(hah good luck if you are alone, we were cruel)
123 - Answer questions
QWE - One of your arms
IOP - Your other arm
KL; - Your Leg
ASD - Torso and height


As for the theme, you never leave the disco screen! Also it will never be ported to the Nintendo DS, we promise.


Much Disco! Many Missing features! Much Teamwork! Wow!

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#8Humor(Jam)4.29
#59Audio(Jam)3.89
#72Overall(Jam)3.89
#74Innovation(Jam)3.89
#95Graphics(Jam)4.23
#103Fun(Jam)3.71
#119Mood(Jam)3.69
#497Theme(Jam)3.56

Comments

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:00am

Masterpiece. Bit difficult to get the hang of, but considering it's a QWOP-like, that should be expected.

Cat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08am

Very funny! I couldn't get my right arm to move though (the 1, 2, 3 keys didn't do anything)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:36am

1,2,3 are for answering the questions

jrap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42am

I am confused and delighted.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17am

Love this. I don't even. Snowman. Cobra War.

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:22am

Bwhahaha. I have no idea what I'm doing but I like it.

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:03pm

This turned out great! My roomates and I got a pretty good kick out of it. Well done RLK & Friends!

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Love it. Great job.

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Amazing game! But the controls are very hard.

Wezley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:55pm

This game deserves a million dollars! I love it! xD

triplefox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Top notch!

slarrimer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15pm

I'm glad you included the free dance. It was good way to blow off steam after my miserable failure in the campaign mode... Great work!

theomg says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:13am

This made absolutely no sense and was amazing.
Only complaint is your stream was distracting during the jam :P

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:13am

So confused, but hilarious!

Mechamew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:27am

Hahaha! What did I just play?!

This is so great! Really interesting combination of things here. After one play I don't feel I fully grasped how to bust out moves in the best way, but still had heaps of fun. Will try work on my moves!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:48pm

so funny :))
great game.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Extremly LOL! Drunk robot on dance floor. Will wait fighting PvP game with same controls.

2Bit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:50am

Hilarious and interesting game. Love the idea. Looks great too

Milktoast says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:22am

I always suspected I was a robot.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:37am

For a game jam entry this looks very polished. Well done! I recall you were streaming online to learn how to code in Unity: what I'm getting at is if this game was the result of putting in the work to learn since then, then this is pretty damn impressive.

Acuity says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:54am

Wahahahahh this is the best!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:57am

A QWOP-like dance central game? YES. Even if most of the time I felt like it was grading us arbitrarily, it felt amazing to coordinate with my friend to get RADICAL :D

Zimennik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:27am

Nice idea, but controlls is 2hard4me.

iShadow says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:51am

Greatness in every aspect! My only concern is my USB keyboard that can only register 6 key presses at once.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:00pm

lol http://i.imgur.com/oigGTyU.png

Wertle says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:42pm

This game cracked me up! I had a lot of fun laughing at the silly poses, and trying to keep track of the answer options. Impossibly hard, yes! However, if you want to mess with this further, I think it could easily be ramped up. I wish the controls were just on the screen all the time, I think it's hard enough even knowing what you're doing that it wouldn't detract from difficulty or anything like that. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]