Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Musing About

by mathmadlen - Jam Entry

The ultimate Muse simulator - guide your clueless /and also a little spineless.../ brush wielding protégé through an entire week of hard work, onion soup and... more hard work!

Your objective is to finish your painting on time which sounds much easier then it actually is.

Paintbrush not included.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#41Mood(Jam)3.98
#110Graphics(Jam)4.18
#163Humor(Jam)3.35
#176Audio(Jam)3.48
#191Overall(Jam)3.63
#202Innovation(Jam)3.58
#285Theme(Jam)3.78

Comments

spazzarama says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:10am

I like it, really nice mood, and gotta love the absinthe to bring that creativity back in action!

VLTRAUIOLET says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:04am

Amazing art, a fitting music! It's a little bit tricky at first to work out that some bars need to be full (health, productivty) while others need to be empty (hunger, stress) - to begin with i was trying to keep them all full haha!

Great concept though, and really nifty use of the theme

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:38pm

I still can't define the true formula to manage productivity... but nice work, I like it! :D

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Really nice graphics and music, I couldn't find how to keep productivity high enough though. I just kept drinking until the end ^^

AMS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:20am

Dude, this game is amazing, its gameplay reminds me of 'Gods will be watching', love the mood and the overall feeling, plus it's hard as hell, because so is the life of an artist, good job! Lot of stars!

Animefrikis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:53am

Its a nice idea and hard to master game. One suggestion: It was a bit confusing that for some bars being full is the desired state, while for others being empty was the target. I feel that it would be better if you tried to keep all the bars full or all empty. Good luck :)

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:11am

I'm a failure of an artist ;_;

CScribes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:42am

Great game. I agree that the full bar was confusing, and I wasn't so ure if what I was doing was helping the painting or not. Controls were smooth and the music was nice :)

jtpup0 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:45am

Cool game it's funny, and accurate.

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:53am

This is insanely difficult.
I like all the art and music and everything, but no matter how I strategize and try to figure things I just can't win.
Also, it seems almost random what things do; sometimes they boost creativity, other times they boost productivity, then sometimes they decrease productivity. It makes no sense

sebasRez says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:13pm

That was really nice, I got confused at some points because sometimes full bars for some are bad while empty bars are bad for others so maybe some more distinction between them would help! The graphics were really nice and I believe all of us can relate to this completely.

Poor guy... onion soup day in and day out.

StejkRobot says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:13am

Really nice and relatable game! and im glad you didnt call it "Art graduate simulator"..

Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:44am

Cool concept I sort of wasted a day consuming alcohol just to see what would happen to my artist :P Needless to say my client was disappointed

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:31am

Awesome just awesome graphics!!!

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:31am

Awesome graphics and great music.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:39am

I really like this entry! It felt kind of impossible, which I suppose is part of the point--a bit depressing, but it had a certain charm to it. I loved the green absinthe effect and all the little details of the environment. Thank you for the game!

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:12pm

lovely graphics! super awesome artstyle!

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Fun and quirky, though it seems like it can't be won without a nice helping of luck. The effects of some of the actions seem to either be randomized, or so inter-related to the state of things it doesn't affect as to be near-impossible to predict. It was fun to play around and disappoint a few clients, but I never made it any closer than around 75%.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:24pm

You made some really nice graphics. Congrats! :)

Demy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Awesome atmosphere (i mean graphics, music and idea all together)

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:08am

Neat idea with some really nice art. I would have liked if the UI were done in the same style as the rest of the game. Still, nicely done!

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:51am

Awesome entry, I thought the gameplay was engaging and fun. At first I hated that meters being full or empty didn't always mean good or bad (meaning full stress is bad, but full productivity is), but I think that inconsistency gave the game a complexity that offered a beneficial challenge.

Learning the behavior of each action was a little frustrating as well, but I think that challenge worked to your advantage, otherwise the game would be too easy! Good work!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:06am

Really cool idea. The bars are a little hard to understand. Overall great work.

popcorn897 says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Very Very good game. It's interesting to try out different patterns of activity to try and make the deadline. Very hard to get right.

The music fits, the art is really nice, the game overall is quite nice. It also fits the theme perfectly :D

sorlok says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:54am

Really cool concept. Enjoyed playing around with the various options.

cardboard says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:52am

It took me a few tries, but I finally won, if you can call what I did to the poor artist winning. Great job with this; the graphics and gameplay are very nice.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:18am

Looks very nice! Possibly not my type of game though... I found it too frustrating! Very much liked the look and feel of the game though!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:38am

Good !!!! i did not found the secret formula, and i ended up sometimes falling in a kind of depression when i screwed everything up haha ! Maybe this game is a kind of good advice.... I didnt make it until the end, my notion of equilibrium don't works here :) Also the player has an iron stomach, i think mine should be dead right now with so many Fée Verte drinks...

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:54am

Very nice ;)

Piscythe says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 5:34am

This is really good. It's interesting and has some cool depth to it - it took me two tries to figure out how to win. The different types of gauges threw me off a little, but at the same time I don't think it would have made more sense if you arranged it differently. Right now I think it's pretty intuitive e.g. you want more creativity and less stress. My strategy was: use absinthe to buff creativity, coffee to jog the productivity, socialize when the social needs bar was filled up, sleep enough every night to cap out stamina and get health up to 85-100%, and when all the gauges are looking good, just work. I almost never used nicotine or alcohol because I couldn't see much positive effect from them.

alfadur says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Such games with multiple feedback loops are quite hard to balance, so an admirable job on making it feel about the right difficulty! On the 3rd try after having more or less understood how the stats work I managed to complete it in 5 days 4 hours, but it's

alfadur says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:43pm

*still didn't feel like being too easy. The art and music create great atmosphere as well.

Sorry for multiple posts, accidentally pressed submit too early.

ilokimo says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:42am

Very nice :), a little on the hard side, tried 3 time and got some progress but then it was time to call it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]