Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

#CorporateCrimewave

by DrHahn - Compo Entry

Get In. Get Data. Get Out.

#CorporateCrimewave is a quick game designed to test your strategy skills. Get all the data point, get to the exit, avoid detection.

Tweet your thoughts at me @Element_105, or use #CorporateCrimewave

I am planning to make this for Android, so keep an eye on the itch.io page.

If you see weird white lines drawing, sorry, but it's because of collapsing resolution (runs at at 720 x 1280). They just show where you're moving along.

Controls :
Backspace - Return to Level Select
F - Fullscreen/UnFullscreen
Mouse - Everything Else

Tools:
Gamemaker
Ableton
Photoshop
Illustrator

Some Thoughts
- The art style comes from me just finishing a short graphics design course and falling in love of flat design
- The music done in the first 8 hours, and helped determine the art style and mood of the game. This bit was the easiest because I've been making music longer than games.
- It's the most AI intensive game I've ever made. It's the first game I've ever made that hold any proper AI.

EDIT: - Fixed some collision bugs.
EDIT2: - OSX Version. Untested.
EDIT3: - Removed OSX Build because it doesn't work. Added Windows 8 build because Win8 thinks my Gamemaker games builds on pre-Win8 are viruses sometimes. This build also has a few edits in it from my attempts to get it working on mobile.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#13Audio4.12
#33Fun3.91
#47Overall3.91
#193Innovation3.68
#238Mood3.31
#476Graphics3.21
#830Humor2.05
#1111Theme2.85

Comments

igneousmoon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50am

The art style and music are very cool!

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50am

really cool idea! keep working on this and it will be great. i could easily spend all day playing this on my phone. great job.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02am

Wow this one is impressive. So many levels and mechanics! Looks good and I could perfectly see it on phones! Well done!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:13am

woooow i really loved this! the idea is very original! This could be taken even further in the puzzle area i think, but you made it more strategy and action which is really cool. good job!

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45am

Interesting 'stealth' mechanic for a puzzle game, but the controls were really frustrating. Sometimes I would make moves I didn't want to, and being able to control my character directly just made more sense. If the enemies only moved when I moved, this sort of grid based approach would make much more sense, I feel.

Seraphina says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:51am

This definitely ate up more of my time than most LD games usually do haha. Great work.

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:54am

It was a fun idea and I really enjoyed the bit I played. I really liked the music too!

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:46am

That game was solid

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:02am

Hi, I messed up my entry settings, it's fixed now !

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:19am

Awesome game, greatly creative level design, all levels bring something new, I never got bored (though it's a bit long to respawn, especially when you die often). I couldn't get past this level : http://a-szybiak.com/img/screen0.png
I don't know if it's a bug or not ?
Anyway great job, awesome music and mood too.

DrHahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:17am

@Alexandre Not a bug, but depending on how early a build you got, the collision with the sights was slightly broken, which is fixed in the latest (Not sure when you downloaded)

The Jahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Interesting concept, very simple but very fun. Perfect for mobile. And the soundtrack is awesome to boot!

Two notes:
- Had some difficulty telling where the character was at the start of some of the levels; maybe highlight it with some effects or color it a bit differently?

- You can disrupt the character's motion mid-path and redirect it (double click). Not sure if this is intentional, but the game seems pretty grid-based, and this breaks out of it, so I figured it was worth mentioning.

Good stuff all-in-all, though.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

Game was nice, and I played it for a litle but, Very nice play style, Good job :)

Azlen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

Not sure how to play this on mac. Can't figure out how to open it

flatgub says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:24am

You really should port this to phones, you could totally make money from this in its current state, its awesome as it is!

egos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:25am

so polished
The concept is good

- need a spot on the charater at the begining

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:33am

Very cool! Amazing amount of work done for the compo. Just the pathfinding alone would have taken me all weekend!

stjahns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:01am

Cool concept, well polished, tricky puzzles, and sick beats! Would totally play this on a phone while on the can!

Akurn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Doesn't seem to work on OSX. The download is an name.app.zip. Extracting gives me nonsense files, and renaming from .zip to .app says it can't open on non PowerPC :(

Wertle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I really liked the feel of the pathfinding-based timing to stay out of sight, I think it will work great with touch and it feels really different than most stealth games like this that I've played. Liked the transition between scenes, I think the art style is very cohesive. Wasn't sure how to rate on theme since there were multiple screens involved even though the gameplay sequences themselves took place on one screen, but whatevs, I think what you have works fien for the game. Nice work!

Gins says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:02pm

This is a really amazing puzzle game. One of the best games overall that I've played this LD. My only complaint would be related to the theme, since it's not the entire game on one screen, just the levels are all on one screen.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:43am

This kept impressing me more and more as I played it. I expected the game to end after 10 or so levels, being an LD game and all, but you almost have enough content in here for a full game! And you kept peppering in more interesting mechanics as I got to the later levels, which I appreciated. The only nitpick I might have is that it's hard to pick out your player character when the level starts, I kept not being able to find it for the first few levels. But yeah, there's something about the base mechanic of clicking on a circle to path there while dodging guards that's very satisfying. Well done!

Headmade says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Hey wait a minute, this is not a puzzle game, this is a stealth game! The visuals really threw me off here, but that's is not a bad thing.

Wilson says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:48am

A lot of content, nice art+audio and plenty of interesting mechanics. Enjoyed it a lot!

Managore says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:39am

Really great stealth game! You managed to squeeze in a huge amount of interesting and challenging content, it's really impressive. I especially liked the run-through areas that didn't have landing circles on them, using those cleverly adds an extra layer of depth to the game.

kothead says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Great game. Very challenging, and skill demanding.

asobitech says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:55am

I'm impressed with the level design for this stealth game. Love the introduction of each of the different mechanics throughout the levels.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:00am

Really cool abstraction of a stealth sneak game into very simple mechanics. The vision cones on the patrols and cameras where instantly recognizable, and for the most part everything really made sense. None of the puzzles were too involved, and I was able to make steady progress without ever getting frustrated. You have so many different mechanics that each level felt fresh and challenging. The double agents were confusing to me though since they did counter-intuitive things like suiciding into turrets and other enemies. Whenever they showed up, things just seemed to work out without me having to do much so I never felt like they added to the game. The pacing and difficulty ramp were pretty much flawless, the only time I had to stop and ask for help was the first time I had to move through and empty space since I was so used to micro-managing my movement. The overall visual presentation of the game felt muddled, since I am color-blind, I was frequently unable to locate my character at the beginning of the level since the character sprite blended in with the background. I feel like you could have done something to draw the players attention to the character location such as animating or pulsing the colors. The intro hints were really nice for giving some clues on the mechanics for that level. I just wish you could restart the level a little bit faster when you died. Again, super solid level design and I'm really impressed that you were able to get so many well designed levels with such good ramping in the short amount of time. Great game, and thanks for making and sharing it with me!

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:51am

Super polished man! Loved all the little intros the level, gave a lot of character to what's essentially some circles moving around some squares haha.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]