Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Swords and Hammers

by nicotuason - Compo Entry

A simple medieval RTS with hand-drawn art and procedurally generated maps. Refresh the page to play a new map!

How to play:
1. Left-mouse drag to send troops.
2. You can only move into territory adjacent to your Castles.
3. Castles will automatically build troops.
4. Move into neutral ground to build more castles.
5. Destroy all the enemy castles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#4Overall4.29
#5Fun4.23
#17Graphics4.40
#32Theme4.39
#222Audio3.28
#296Innovation3.51
#312Humor2.89

Comments

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:00am

Love the style! Ambitious to do an rts in 48 hours, good job!

lordsavage says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:31am

Well done Nicotuason, this game is both aesthetically great and very creative. Very Impressive!

ehtd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

This was extremely cool!

DrHahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59am

I'm not good or big on RTS, but this is actually super cute (I still suck). Love the sketched looking art and the bouncyness.

liamtwose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Wow. Love this entry, and has so much potential. Great job!

tMalicet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:44pm

I love RTS adn didn't though it was possible to do one in 48h. Congrats!

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Awesome!

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Wow, this is actually amazing.

Wow/10, nice

rabbeni says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Finally won some game :D
Good job

Lyxilion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:52pm

This is a great game ! I love it !

Wilson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Love the art, and satisfying territory control gameplay. It would have been nice to have some way to move all troops in a territory with one drag though for after the initial expansion phase.

Figglewatts says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04pm

This one was cool! I like your simplistic take on an RTS.

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Really gooOOod..!! Fun and beautiful !

Kitch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

Wow! That's a great implementation, solid mechanics and a fab art style. Great job!

Thanks!

MrLeePerry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:21am

I reeeeally enjoyed this. It was simple and elegant, just really slick. My one issue was kind of that once a castle is built, it seemed really hard to take it back... seemed like the map got static pretty quick with emplaced strong positions. But still, very very nice work :)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42am

Perfect art style and great mechanics! Well done! Very addictive!

Managore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:07am

Wow, I love the style! Really simple and really fun.

adrianulima says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53am

what a beautiful game.. and is very fun!! congrats

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59pm

This was pretty cool and was fun. Nice job bro!

Alter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Great! Very fun game! I like it!

shanageek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

AWSOME! I really loved it! Its amazing that you made a fun RTS game in Compo

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:45pm

fun game! I died a horrible death :D

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Great entry! Very well done, especially for 48 hours.
I didn't noticed any bugs, and it was very fun to play

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:16am

This is really best!
Awesome gameplay.
Great graphics.
Very good gob! Really enjoyed the game.

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:03am

Love the polish. It's quite fun, too! Great work. :)

xhunterko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:32am

Great minimalist RTS idea!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:17am

The art style is really awesome! The game mechanism is a simple but also make the game very friendly for new players.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Game play is primitive. But visuals are fantastic! Love scetchgraphics =)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:34am

The art is brilliant, really loved it and impressed you attempted a RTS in the time. Was able to build a few castles but the pink guys are just to quick for me. Fun to watch the little guys moving around though, a great entry.

zemeon12 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:15am

really good but kinda easy.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:50am

Love strategy games! Neat, simple and fun. Well done!

Shivur says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Very fun!

Saf says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Your visual style is superb! The papercut-doodle is really charming.
Also the addition of castle building to this classic mechanic is a good addition! Good job overall! Would love to see some evolution of this game

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:12am

Really nice job here -- the art style is incredibly charming and the gameplay is simple and satisfying. Very impressive work for a quick turnaround.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:36am

wow very nicely done - altho some more balance would be great - destroying an opponent castle is tuff - play again

feiss says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 11:23am

I love it! simple to play, hard to win, funny, aesthetically pleasing.. and with some serious code inside. Great, great job!! :)

xaedes says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Very polished! Was a lot of fun to play. Great use of Voronoi! But whats a bit frustrating is when all cells are taken by someone its pretty over. And with (bad) look you can get initial positions that puts one of the players in an advantage.
I dont see how you can improve other than decreasing the defense of fortitudes. Or what would be much more fun: Three parties and a little bit increased grid resolution to make room for the third party. Would love to play that in an additional game mode!
Great Game!

BloodJohn says ...
Feb 1, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Awesome game! Mechanics are familiar, but the execution unexpectedly pleasant. I didn't calm down until she won several times. :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]