Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ScreenArena

by tiffi - Compo Entry

My 5th LudumDare entry. Didn't quite finish it. It's not really balanced and I planned on doing more enemys and weapons, but the time run short.

Controls:
wasd/ArrowKeys + Space or Gamepad

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#289Theme3.82
#308Fun3.36
#393Mood3.12
#459Overall3.28
#468Audio2.87
#514Humor2.54
#670Graphics2.91
#965Innovation2.48

Comments

Doccrazy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51am

I like where this is going (and I'm a huge fan of splatter effects :D ). Too bad you didn't have time to finish it; a goal / highscore at least would have been great.

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:06am

Very interesting game, good concept and good graphics!

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Very easy to get into, I like the choice of after-wave bonus too.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:42pm

The embedded box on your ludum page isn't big enough for the game window so it has scrollbars :/ The links work though.

Your game is extremely difficulty but otherwise well executed. Keep at it!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Fun game, love the screen shake. However the controls are horrible. It would be better if you could walk with wasd/arrows and then face towards the mouse when attacking. Now the movement is awkward.

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Elegant music under that perfect to run out from enemies, excellent game mechanics!

Kwask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:09pm

I liked this game, I thought it was fun! I played it in the web player and it seemed like the player's attack animation wasn't playing through fully, but other than that, I really enjoyed playing it!

Scam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Loved the gore. If you ever plan to do post-LD version, set the aiming to be separate action from moving. For example put the movement to WASD and aiming to mouse. I also liked the progression element - do I heal myself now or increase my attack/defense for future?

mutuware says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Well, that escalated quickly.

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Well done arena fighting game here! The progression/upgrade system is really nice and the screen shaking effect is not at all as disturbing as i have seen it on many other games. Overall this is a nice base for further development!

mathias234 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02pm

nice litte game. if it were on mobile i could probably play it for hours

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08pm

A very good start :) I wish you had time to finish

callum.thepro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11pm

The game broke for me when I got blown up, apart from that, it was fun to play and fit the theme very well.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Really basic but fun experience. I found controls a bit not great, because you cant hit and run away at the same time. Also art needs some to be worked nore, in my opinion.

nov1kk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Its fun to play and nice idea!

KristophTG says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:42pm

The game was pretty fun. The music was very nice too.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Hi there. Like the fighting, much blood. Got to wave 5 first time. Be nice if UI in breaks between waves was also keyboard controlled. Nice sounds, music could be quieter proportionally to SFX maybe? Good job!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:45pm

enjoyable game, the graphics and audio really gets me in the mood. Good job!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:07am

Nice arena shaped screen for one! :3
Although it's incomplete, it's still good.

MaesK says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Nice game! Maybe some mouse controls to hit would benefit the overall combat system. Also, I can't get to understand when bombs explode, if they are timed or if they must be hit. A flash before explosion would be nice.

Nevertheless, I liked too the round system, and specially the powerups you may select. Good work.

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Good job! Nice and fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]