Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pocket Contra Force

by nodoxi - Jam Entry

Meet the Pocket Contra Force!

- 5 levels
- 5 bosses
- 1 broken heart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#30Theme(Jam)4.32
#54Overall(Jam)3.94
#65Fun(Jam)3.81
#73Graphics(Jam)4.31
#141Mood(Jam)3.63
#287Audio(Jam)3.24
#475Humor(Jam)2.64
#504Innovation(Jam)3.04

Comments

Arovoid says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:39am

I like that the game plays pretty smooth, has good graphics and is simple to understand.

But somehow, I cannot get to the second level. I always die when moving to the leftmost part of the screen.

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40am

Easy but nice game! love the graphical details. By the way, once I'd beat the last boss the screen turned black but I could still hear the shoots, is that normal?

Anachron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:42am

Nice entry! Charming graphics and pretty tight controls. I like how each level is a layer of the whole design. Screen just goes black for me on beating the final boss though, not sure if that's a bug... It would also be nice to be able to zoom in for a closer look at the pixel art.

Linkigi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:46am

This game looks great, I love the tiny pixel people and all the lighting and particles etc. You've managed to get across that 'Contra feel' for sure. It's fun to play too and I like how the bullets fly all the way across the screen (even if that does make some of the bosses a bit easy).

MrLeePerry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:46am

Woah! How am I the first person to play this? It's EXCELLENT man, I really really dug it. Great feel, love the reveal of each level... played all the way through just to see each new basement area. Really impressive for the time given!!!

Go rate a bunch of other games, at least 20, and far more people will see your game as its "coolness" rating goes higher.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

Awesome entry! Sweet graphics, tight gameplay :) Props for the "Contra" :)

nodoxi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

Thank you, guys!
Sorry for bugs, i will fix them in post-compo version after long sleeping )

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08am

It was not bad, considering the restraints on the graphics.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:09am

This was a lot of fun. The whole package feels great.

Moocowsgomoo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11am

Super polished, really cool graphical style. The gameplay is fun as well. It'd be nice to have more varied enemies, and make it clearer when it's safe to progress after killing a boss.
Awesome job!

xerohuang says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:13am

Nice game! Good art! 5 levels on one screen.

Gread72 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15am

It so tiny and so good ... I played it all the way through... thumbs up.

Wiering says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:26am

Well done!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Beautiful artwork, very polished!

flwns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I think i would have enjoyed this game more if it was a bit larger, and if space was jump instead of Z.

Goutye says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Really nice entry! I like the graphics! The levels are a little bit too easy (Specially Boss except the 4th). No end screen?
So, it's short but really well created!

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Yay, my eyes are hurting, figures are so tiny on my little retina notebook, but it so fun that I can't stop playing it! Great game!

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Nice. I loved Contra 3 !

Legiion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Its simple and effective, i like it

Aomeas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Nicely done with the theme!
The end of the game could have been something more special than a black screen, maybe :3
The art and the music are good, the bosses are a little bit too easy, though.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Awesome levels design and graphics! Gj ^^

Ulydev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Very polished game. Keep up the good work !

Rulrite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31pm

A really solid game! I liked the emphasis on 'pocket'; it really does feel like I'm playing a mini Contra. The graphics are wonderful and the controls are very sharp. If I could suggest anything to increase the difficulty, I'd probably recommend playing around with the range of the player's bullets - it was easy to jump and shoot all the way across level 4, for instance, so maybe you'd want to prevent that.

A very polished entry, considering the time restraints!

razieliyo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32pm

sublime

KK says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Impressive piexel art!
I think the stage design could be harder the mkae player have more fun

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34pm

very nice an good controls, but to easy because of the level dewsign

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Yes! Very nice little platformer. A bit too easy because you could die as often as you want. Good job, we will share it on twitter :)

Gins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Very amazing graphics and the music is very fitting. Also the game just FEELS so smooth to play, that's pretty good.

Only downside though is that the game ended up being repetitive and boring once I figured out that the optimal strategy is to just fire at the boss from the beginning of the level :(
With the level design slightly adapted, or maybe the range of your shots limited, that could easily be fixed, I think.

Larzan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Haha, that. was. great!
Funtastic, thats what i was looking for, someone who can implement this kind of idea in a good way, and you did great!

seraphki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Oh my! Its so adorable! Absolutely love the graphics on this. I'm amazed that you were able to implement such tiny graphics without making the gameplay impossible. I only wish the difficulty would have ramped a little more, you were able to beat all the bosses by standing in a spot and spamming the fire key. Love it though, the graphics really are so simple and gorgeous. I hope you keep working on it; I'd be thrilled if the levels just kept going down in a nice long tower.
Well done! Cheers!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Wonderful graphics :D The character is a bit small though...

gallerdude says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Love the retro look. Awesome game overall!

camlang says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Pretty awesome game. Cool graphics and mood. Player movement needs some tweaking though - it is too fast, and bosses are a bit easy.

twick says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Pretty fun. I kinda wish the Up arrows was jump button

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:04pm

The graphics are really amazing, looks really great although everything is tiny.
Just some harder bosses would have been nice.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:05pm

This game looks really nice and well polished. Felt a bit too easy, though. Nice use of the theme.

acro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Totally brilliant. Initially thought it was too easy, then got to the octo level. It ramps up nicely, very smooth (left/right motion was a little too fast for my liking). Presentation / graphics are really nice.
Only two things I'd criticise are the player blends in a little too much sometimes, and, after you kill the big things like the thing at the far right side of the first level, they continue making the red damage burst effect when shot, so it was hard to tell if I'd killed it yet or if more shooting was still required. I stood shooting that thing for a good long time before deciding 'it's probably safe to go nearer now'!

ilokimo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Good mood and one of the best fitter for the theme. Little bit last minute level design, but the amount of work done is impressive and really really worth the try! Hope you take this game further at least for fun!

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Wow, love the graphics of this! Really cool. Controls are solid, and good use of theme. The game is a little easy, but still great. Nice work OP!!

drZool says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Thank you for not making the game hard.

hexagore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Really enjoyed this, great use of the theme I think, along with great pixel art. Nice!

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Great use of theme and beautiful graphics! Gameplay is very fun even in such small resolution. Just the bosses could be little less tough.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Awesome graphics I love this kind of art, congratulations for the work! great game

chadiik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Nice game & super graphics!

Rycoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:41pm

This game is just awesome
Beautiful tiny Graphics, simple controls, catchy music and you took advantage of the theme. The only thing I didn't like, was that these bosses were easy, but it really took a while to kill them.
Overall a wonderful game. Currently one of my favorite games now

GFM says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Nice, tiny pixel art with filters!! I really like that kind of stuff. XD

The game was fun, but kinda too easy...

psychomonster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:43pm

This is the best game so far. I love the idea... the cute little animations... played it longer than any other game. Cooooool

jackrugile says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:45am

This is in top 3 so far, such an amazing attention to detail. Super fun to play! You conveyed so much with such small screen space.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:52am

Graphics are cool, but ...to small :) May be the game is too much easy also. But this good work by the way. Congrats!

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:14pm

This game looks really amazingly good. Especially given that most ingame objects are only 6 or so pixels high. I like the way several levels were put into a single screen, really nice.

It was a bit easy to beat in my opinion, but a really good game!

Frump says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:15am

Nice entry. Tight controls, good graphics, solid concept and execution.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:29pm

This is just fantastic. Brilliant interpretation of the theme -- the layout of the levels stacked on top of each other is super cool. Great retro graphics, great controls, great work all around!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:55pm

I like how everything is so tiny
The game feels pretty good and really fun
A little bit more dynamic music would make it even better)

Shimone says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:10am

The graphics and visual effects are awesome. I really liked this game and wished it had more levels. Great game overall!

gameattack says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:50am

Very original approach of the theme. Very fun! Too bad I couln't clear the whole game :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]