Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Interezza

by oskardevelopment - Compo Entry

Interezza is a real time strategy game that is inspired by the classic board games of its genre. Interezza is a fast paced joy of a strategy game that get you hooked, where the focus have been on the smaller and hidden gems that the player will rarely see.

- Click on a blue territory to select the units, click on a neighbouring territory to attack.

- Requires Java 1.7.

- F6 to switch to another player.

- F4 to restart.

- F11 or ESC to toggle full screen mode.

- Every number represents the chance of a dice thrown. So if a 4 attacks a 3, then winner is highest total of the 4 dices thrown versus the 3 dices thrown.

- Units "received" each turn is the amount of the largest connected area size.

- I have noted that the music disapears on Linux, I am unable to fix that before deadline, sorry, I hope no one minds!

Best regards, please enjoy and have fun!

// Oskar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#264Overall3.51
#273Fun3.40
#384Innovation3.36
#574Audio2.67
#607Graphics3.00
#630Mood2.86
#851Theme3.36
#862Humor1.93

Comments

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48am

Very fun game, would play many times over, though I was confused at first

Snuux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:53am

Fun, and good game! And java - best crossplatform language!) Thanks for game)

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Nice. Minimalistic but harmonic.

uniquecorn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Really fun game. I would legit play this game for fun.

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Good puzzle game :)

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:45pm

I was a little confused at first (even if you have just one basic action you can possibly take), still it gets amazingly addictive when you get it.

I would use more visual feedback to cover the areas you can attack and I still don't understand very clearly how much is "chance" (if any) is involved when you attack other areas. I hope I'm not missing anything! :D

Good job indeed!

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47pm

This is very fun, especially if you made the right moves.
This helped me think critically by a lot!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Thanks everyone! :)

@LostTrainDude, every "number" represents a dice thrown. So if 3 attacks 4, 3 wins if the three dices thrown are together a higher value than the other 4. If you select an area which is yours (blue if you haven't changed player), it note all neighbours. You can attack all neighbours that isn't of your own colour.

jellyislovely says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Took a little while to work it out, but there is a nice deep strategy there. Avoiding the opponents big guns while trying to gain territory. One suggestion I would have is to add a 'concede' button so you can skip to the next game when it's quite clearly going to be a loss. Excellent game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24pm

@jellyislovely Thanks! You can skip to the next game with F4 at any time, also if the enemy refuses to die you can always switch to the enemy side and making him move out from his hole with F6. :)

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Made me think at Risk, but still fun and efficient !

Maybe don't toggle full screen on first play ? Especially since there's nothing on screen telling me how to exit full screen :)

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:21pm

I'm honestly really impressed by the simplicity and elegance of these mechanics. The only thing I would consider changing, is player feedback. Due to the brightness of highlighted tiles, it can be hard to see whether or not your color has overtaken a space. This could be fixed by changing the sound for when the player loses, or highlighting the tiles in a different manner. Other than that minor complaint, I think this is very good. I'm a huge fan of simple procedural games :D

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Great game. Was a lot of fun.
Perhaps you could use border graphics or overlay graphics to let the color of the field itself remain unchanged when highlighting etc.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Love this game, At first i had no idea what i was doing, then it made sense, its simple fun and quite an inventive take on the theme.

Nice work, and merry christmas to you too :D

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Fun game, very harmonic and relaxing to play, in my opinion.

Alter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Addictive puzzle game. Well done!

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Good visuals, but I really didn't know what was going on. I've played the Risk-like dice games before, and I get that this is a real time version of that. But what happens when I click on a hex? How do my actions change what happens on the board? I can switch to other players, but why? Also, when it says "Blue player" does that mean the light teal-like blue or the dark purple-like blue? Kind of confusing to play. But if you work out the UI issues, this seems like it'd be a great game.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Awesome idea, strategic and interesting. I liked the graphics as well, very nice

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Simple and addictive, well executed and polished! Good job!

mr_tag says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Loved it! Requires fast thinking. Do not get trapped into thinking you have everything under control, things can turn pretty quickly :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Nice real-time implementation of dice wars. UI definitely needs some work though as in this state it's too chaotic to see what's really happened. But otherwise it's really good! If you're going to continue in development of this I would definitely like to play it!

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:29pm

good job.

floorman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Really interesting game. Took a while to get the hang of (and I'm still not entirely sure if I do understand it) but I won a game! So that counts! =D

I think I'll need to come back to this game to try and understand it better. But nice work nonetheless!

taviandir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:11pm

a good game!! it feels like a flaw to not being able to do friendly movements of resources. It wouldve been nice if the game was explained more in teh actual game. :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Pretty hard, but really well thought, good job ! Dice rolling is pretty frustrating haha

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Good puzzle game, got me confused at first but got me hooked very fast. wish the graphics were more interesting though, but then again, a very nice compo entry!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:30am

This is so much fun! A very elegant set of rules, reminiscent of Risk, Go, and Settlers of Catan. Also I love randomized maps, good onya!

Wevel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Fun game but some times things happen that don't make any scene.

dunin says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:43pm

A real time strategy board game was a weird idea, but cool (and stressfull)!
Some idea to make the experience better:
- feedback for the dices' values
- create the possibility to discharge one area in an other
- create the possibility to choose the rapidity of cpus (easy-normal-hard mode)

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:17am

I didn't really understand it, but it's pretty cool though.

MaesK says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 1:51am

Fun game, reminds me of Dice Wars, but it is extremely unfair with numbers. Most of the time you lose even with greater (by a lot) numbers. Is a tie considered a loss? If so, the player is at great disadvantage, specially at the start. Maybe a standard turn system would improve the game, giving the player more time to react and see menaces.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]