Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Drunk Ninja Vs Alien

by Maurogik - Jam Entry

In this game, you (a crazy drunk ninja) must fight against alien stickmen for the sake of all mankind ! (that's it, and yes, this is the whole story...).

Windows/Mac/linux versions : You have to download both the executable file and the adjacent folder.

How to play :

TLDR : Put your red fists in their yellow faces. Avoid their red parts.

PRO TIP : You can try to "whirl" by going up, left, down right in a circle so that your arms swing around you and punch aliens in their ugly faces. (like that : http://bit.ly/1w8lcnb );

Your character is completely crazy and/or drunk, so you cannot actually decide what he is doing, you can only direct him to where you want him to go. And, as if an out of control ninja wasn't enough to begin with, you are also being attacked by aliens ! You must try to land a punch while avoiding their red tentacles. Pro tip, "aim" for the head.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#75Humor(Jam)3.75
#128Fun(Jam)3.64
#153Innovation(Jam)3.67
#332Overall(Jam)3.40
#511Mood(Jam)3.02
#544Theme(Jam)3.51
#708Graphics(Jam)2.80

Comments

sprawl says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:01pm

This is actually quite fun. The controls are clunky, but that's not too bad with this kind of game. The slow effects were maybe a little too intense.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:16pm

an interesting and good game overall

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:50am

This game is hilarious! I had fun.

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10am

This is the best thing ever.

rsergiu2003 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23am

the audio was nice, I was going to rate that very high...

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:26am

Wtff as well ! xD 4/5 :3

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:26am

Funny! The slow down was a little too much. It would have been nice to trigger for 'combos' though. I wasn't quite sure how to get the fists to do what I wanted them to do, but it didn't matter. Great job on this!

Alter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:30am

WOW! So funny!
I got the pleasure of killing aliens =)

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:41am

5 stars for mood and humor! I laughed so hard playing this game! XD

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Drunk Ninja VS Aliens for the WIN!!! One of my favourites so far! Well done!


(Now I have to hand the game over to my son who is begging me to play it)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:31pm

10/10, that all I can say! :D

yodamaster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:52pm

What does TLDR mean? Can't control anything ...

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Maybe tone down the slow-mo a touch. otherwise great fun

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22pm

I had a lot of fun with this! I had a few minor quibbles, such as the lack of an exit option (I had it fullscreen and had to Alt-F4 to quit) and text being cut off at certain 4:3 resolutions. But the concept is solid and its a fun, challenging, and somewhat random (in a good way) experience. Great work!

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Thanks for all the kind words guys ! I just updated the game to add an Exit button on PC and to tune down the bullet time. Thank you for playing ;)

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Yea, fun game and cool idea. love all the small touches like the shadows.

Ellian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:25pm

It's a shame you don't really have control over, like, dodging or something because you when you die it feels a bit unfair...
But man this is FUN.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Pretty cool mechanic you've got there! Would have liked it a lot more if their blood was of a different color as I can't tell who punched who :P

tedling says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Woow, very cool character design with some neat spaghetti moves, love it! :)

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:28pm

I had fun with this actually! I would have liked to be able to have some kind of control over my arms. It made it difficult to fight without getting hit myself.

Pfilzweg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Plays pretty smooth and I digg the blood effects! But I'am not sure if i figured out how to play it?!

yongcamu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Dear God, lol. It's pretty fun! He's got some pretty sick moves, if you do name him, please let it be McGroove. x)

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

@yongcamu Sold ! He's named McGroove.
By the way, I just added some pro tip in the description about my special secret move you can do in the game. Try to make the circle with the arrow keys (slowly and keep the rythm), you will start whirling and swinging your arms around. It take a bit of training but once you master it... you'll be unstopable !

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:15pm

I had a ton of fun playing it!

Mechamew says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Very fun! Just running away from enemies is super satisfying because of the animation!

Feels like something someone could get really good at with practice!

One suggestion I could make would be to consider making it more clear when you're getting hits in on enemies and when they hit you. Death can be a bit surprising at times. A think a good fix for this would be to have the blood of aliens being different to the ninja's blood.

Otherwise, really enjoyed this - nice work!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:43am

Funny ! I like the mood, even if I always wonder whom is punched between the ninja or the aliens. XD

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Hi there. Loved the movements, especially the weird aliens. All quite Drunken Master. Very fluid. Killed quite a lot of them with your suggested whirl moves both directions. Nice music, maybe needs to be a bit quieter than the SFX, or punches louder ... Good job!

kaa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Very cool idea! Drunk ninja turned very well. Hard to master in such simple game. And, as was mentioned, creepy aliens are cute

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Easily one of my favourite entries yet. Good job. I found that the slow motion was a bit too slow.

Scam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59pm

It never ceases to amaze what kind of bizarre gems one can find when going through LD entries. This has been one of the funniest games I've played. I loved the music and the use of slow-mo. It would have been nice to have more control over the character, though.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Pretty fun, I totally did your pro tip and swung the arms around. A couple more moves would've added to the fighting :)

Also the text are just blocks for me, and this, I don't know if it's intentional: http://i.imgur.com/DaGLnF4.png

Silii says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Wohahaha. Hard :D
5 Innovation for me ~

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:20am

Lol, the music and the wackiness make this game more fun than it deserves to be. Good job!

OFF says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Really fun idea, it's hard to manage the move of the arm, but with a more realistic skeleton and joint it could make something really fun to play.
The bullet time effect on hit is awesome and give a great depth to the gameplay.
It only lack of more precision, and even variation, but that's one of the rare beatthemall in this LD.

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:13pm

This is the funniest game I have seen in this jam so far. I think the music is contrasting the wiggly movement of the player character really nicely. Good job!

StormAndy says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:49pm

:D This is a really bizarre and fun game, the sound effects really add to it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]