Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

This Is How It Comes About

by DesignerNap - Compo Entry

An interactive adventure to learn a tale. Reveal scenes and settings to understand the story
there are hidden souls too... but don't look for them on your first try.
Use the mouse... that's all. No clicking, just revealing

This Is How It Comes About



If you find any issues or have a question about my game, please comment below.
if you want a quick reply, tweet me @xopsx

----

----

----

SPOILERS / HINTS

Touching the sun or the moon resets the current scene...
CITY - Find a way to build buildings after the moon appears
MOUNTAINS - Find a way out of the screen by controlling the plane
BRIDGE - Similar to City.. light the way...
DEEP SEA - Pop them
RAINFOREST - Bring the jungle to life
---


---


---
FULL SPOILERS
There are Eight Souls to collect
DON'T TOUCH THE MOON OR THE SUN

Drag the mouse across the bottom of the screen once the moon appears
Fly the plane into the sun
Reveal the bridge and then find the stars
pop the bubbles, then chase the fish, then touch the back half of the submarine
Draw the forest, trees at the borders, then watch the waterfalls carefully


EVEN MORE SPOILERS!!!

SOUL LOCATIONS

1. TITLE SCREEN! Be quick, she is about a third in
2. When building the second row, look to the right
3. Crash the plane, she appears to the left
4. Under the bridge when the train passes
5. When the sub appears, to the bottom left
6. She falls from the top right
7. She appears in the middle waterfall
8. In the sun

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#18Mood4.19
#124Audio3.49
#153Overall3.67
#173Innovation3.73
#210Graphics3.69
#557Theme3.60
#626Humor2.39
#717Fun2.92

Comments

YM says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:27am

I like it. Simple and effective.

I crashed that plane too many times to admit. heh

maxyan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:06am

Very nice story, but falling moon is little bit annoying

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:15am

Thanks for playing! The game was meant as a "slow discovery" type affair.. but I think I will edit the description to include hints :)

Mossy Frog says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:27am

Nice, very calming game, I enjoyed it, I like how you slowly transition the background as to keep it all on one scree. Fits the theme nicely :)

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Thanks Mossy Frog! :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Looks interesting, but I can't get past the star and moon scene. It seems that you need to find all the stars, but the moon keeps falling. Very artsy.

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Certainly interesting, I played it right through and enjoyed it.

Took me a while to figure out how to control the plane though, if I'm honest :P

SFX and Atmosphere were nice too :)

resty says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:18pm

very impressive, love it

Wilson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Lovely little game, very well done. Agreed the falling moon seemed kinda unnecessary, and took me a while to figure out the plane too :)

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Random Abductions - Don't touch the moon! look elsewhere in the scene
Andysolace - Thanks for playing! did you find any souls?
Resty - Thanks!
Wilson - thank you :) The original concept was that all the planetary bodies in each scene would reset the game. I think it is too punishing too early though...

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Loved playing you're game. Keep up the good work.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Thanks Techblogogy!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Great job on this entry!
The atmosphere is great and I really appreciate your work on the audio, the idea is very good also!

I took me some time to figure out this thing with the plane though

elliottd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:40pm

really nice mood. I like the interface. well done

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Thanks alpha rat and Elliottd! yeah, the plane thing was tricky. I wanted to make a game where there was no clicking, just guiding and revealing with the mouse :) tricky but kinda interesting.

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53pm

I loved it! Obviously I kept passing my mouse through the moon at first but I learned better. Great game, very poetic :)

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Thanks Andrea! the moon thing seems to be hit and miss. Some people like, others have asked me to remove it! The way i see it, if there isn't winning and losing its sometimes tough to justify that it is a game :)

Pete_H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Really atmospheric! Got totally caught up in it. It was a slow burner to start with but as soon as you figure it out your in and it's got you :) Nicely done!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Fun to see another game questioning the definition of a game. This is really relaxing and beautiful.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Thanks Pete!
and Johnbrynte, yeah! I made a few entries that were mostly "experience" games and I got met with a lot of "that's not a real game" comments. I didn't want to bring up the "dear esther" argument again! I love those sorts of experiences tho. who cares if they are a "game" or not!? ;)

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:22pm

no mac port :/ can't play

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Sorry Fanttum, I have no mac and gamemaker will not let me export a mac version without one. :(

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:38am

Love the direction you took. I'd love to see this kind of game more often. As it is, it's very frustrating and difficult to get lost in the experience because of punishing moments or looking for pixels on the screen. Overall the idea and execution is really something remarkable for LD. I want to see more of this kind of thing.

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48am

Mood is fantastic, but found the discovery a bit tricksy. Crashing plane a lot ;D

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59am

Thanks Ryguy and Davient! People seem to really love crashing that plane...

acerunox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:44am

Really nice game. I liked the music, but one thing: after some time sound effects got a little bit irritating especially in jungle and TV (?) in the end.

Legiion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:59am

I Like it, the gameplay feels very unique

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Hi Acerunox, thx for the feedback. There is a bug that loops the SFX so that they play over each other and the sounds get REALLY loud! Would fix it but it would involve a lot of change to data and that I think it outside the rules of the 48hrs :) glad you enjoyed it tho! and Thanks Legiion! :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Very cool, I really wasn't sure what to expect but I was engaged throughout. I think I'd disagree with some comments regarding the moon, introducing it early was a good way of preparing the player for the rest of the game. Art and sound design worked well, I really liked the tone of the whole thing.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Please ignore (forgot to rate with my last comment).

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Thank you URbanLogic! Appreciate the feedback :)

InHelli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Unusual gameplay, sometimes known what to do. If you hide the game, the plane flies in the sun :) Simple and good game :)

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:45pm

I guess less game, more interactive story.
Really liked wiping away the screen static on the opening scene.
Wasn't so obvious what to do with the plane.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Quite the interesting story. I Included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/81u-vDEfxwU

Zimennik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Impressive!

wilbefast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Whoa, this is a very difficult game to get your head around *_*

I had to systematically keep coming back for spoilers I'm sorry to admit.

The SFXR thud is a bit grating compared to the rest of the soundscape. Music and artwork are beautiful otherwise and the mood is really nice. Good job :)

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Just for you Jupiter_Hadley https://twitter.com/xopsx/status/542421875133935618/photo/1

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:32pm

That's not a moon, it's... our robot overlords? This felt more like a sublime experience than a game. :). Some criticisms, even though I really liked it:

Iou suffer from the adventure game problem. The gameplay devolves into "click all the things until I find the correct one"

The actions you perform don't seem to mean anything. This game could have had the same effect by just being a movie that you watch. It would have been better to make the gameplay mean more than just "what I have to do to continue." Sometimes I wasn't even sure what I had done. Maybe you could have given the player two obvious choices and letting them pick one.

I felt that there were times that the game was showing me something cool, and then there were times that the game was waiting for me to do something. I think the cursor could have told me when I need to be doing something and when I can just watch the amazingness.

okkolobr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Nice experience. Thank you !

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Great atmosphere! Interesting challenges. Really well done!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Thanks for all the feedback Recursiveanomaly! :)
Okkolobr and Slothmachine, glad you enjoyed it! :)

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:10am

Every things I wanna say about this, is in the comments, the good ones though! :D

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Thanks danidre! :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Wow! This game is really good! Graphics is awesome. Nothing extra then gameplay

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Thank you 01rafael :) Lots of great feedback on the game. Seems like it may have been a little too long for the Jam though as lots of people stopped playing on the second or third transition. Oh well, as long as they had fun! :D

Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Sets a nice mood. Dying in a game like this however felt wrong to me, especially there is no real way to know what behavior is dangerous.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Hey that's cool, really fresh idea and fascinating to "play" through and see all these scenes unfold in front of you.

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:52am

It was quite an experience! I had to take a few peeks in the spoilers, but I may be a little impatient... Very pretty graphics and fitting music - sound effects were nice, except from few that I can't remember precisely - which means they weren't grating enough to annoy me.
Cool idea which resulted in an offbeat, original game. Nicely done!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-31-huv4hmz6

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]