Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Fruit Factory

by abdurrahmankh - Jam Entry

make sure the fruits goes into the right box. otherwise fruits wont be happy.

*I personally recommend to try out solo mod first.
** but 2 Players mode is hilarious! don't forget to try that too!

*** do you think the controls are too hard? check this video of me playing to get over 2000 score, might help with how the controls "feel"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqWLAjaOC50
------- Developing Details -------
programs used:
- Flash CS5.
- ArtCursors.
Team:
- game Design and programming : Abdurrahman Khallouf.
- Art (every thing) : Alaa Khallouf.

Time needed: every second of the 3 days.. even in my sleep.
Music: newGrounds.com
Sounds: Freesound.com , freeSFX.co.uk


-------------other-----------
checkout Time Lapse for this work on Youtube:
http://youtu.be/vUgjounjZ-g

----------Game Details---------
your goal is to keep track of the factory, and dont let wrong color fruits into the boxes.

tips:
- the machine on top gives you big bonus fruit, once you put the 4 requirements in it.
- laser doubles the quality of any fruit.
- you have limited mistakes allowed, so be careful.


---------------controls -----------------
*controls mentioned in-game.

1Player mode:
Arrows to move. (Z) to grab\drop.

2Players mode:
- player one: Arrows to move. (M) to grab drop.
- player two: WASD to move. (C) to grab drop.

#edit: I fixed bugs where scores doesn't show, and when it does not restart properly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#195Humor(Jam)3.26
#241Audio(Jam)3.34
#484Innovation(Jam)3.06
#534Overall(Jam)3.18
#544Theme(Jam)3.51
#588Fun(Jam)2.94
#644Mood(Jam)2.85
#644Graphics(Jam)2.98

Comments

Bogden says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00am

Very cool game. Pretty well implemented, and felt fun to play. The physics worked well.

A few points though:
-The game should get harder over time to give a sense of progression and to avoid boredom. I ended up getting tired of the gameplay after a while and decided to end it myself. It would be cool to add new colors over time, speed up the conveyor belt, etc.
-Minor thing, but if you get over $1000, the score disappears.
-Being able to switch from one color to the same color can lead to a long stretch of doing nothing. I had double green for like 3 switches.

Didn't have a second player, but I bet the two player version is super fun!

Bogden says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00am

Very cool game. Nice music. Pretty well implemented, and felt fun to play. The physics worked well.

A few points though:
-The game should get harder over time to give a sense of progression and to avoid boredom. I ended up getting tired of the gameplay after a while and decided to end it myself. It would be cool to add new colors over time, speed up the conveyor belt, etc.
-Minor thing, but if you get over $1000, the score disappears.
-Being able to switch from one color to the same color can lead to a long stretch of doing nothing. I had double green for like 3 switches.

Didn't have a second player, but I bet the two player version is super fun!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:22am

I had a hell of a time getting the controls to work for me... it was almost impossible to get the hover craft to the fruit I wanted to grab on time! Not sure why I had so much trouble with it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30am

Tough, but addictive. if the controls were a bit tighter it might make it a little easier, but I think that's part of the fun.

Magosis0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:38am

First thing to say about Fruit Factory is it felt like we were playing on buttered up black ice. Holy slippery momentum Batman! That being said though, the gameplay is a fun idea. Classic sort-em-up with cute visuals. The music was silly and bouncy but fitting. I would say the detection box for where your robot can pick up fruit was a bit of a mystery to me... Maybe introduce some sort of low opacity "forcefield" effect under it where it is able to pick up fruit? Including 2 player mode is a huge win in my opinion. Great game type for multiplayer as well. My only concern in the multiplayer (aside from the greased up controls) is the money system. It wasn't immediately apparent how each robot made their own money. All in all very fun and great job in the short time span!

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42am

Nice simple game!
The control are really hard, but still playable!
Good Job :D

Alaa Khallouf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Hello every body :)
I am alaa khallouf, the mentioned artist
i noticed many of the comments say the controls are hard, i played a lot with my brother while testing the game and we never felt it hard, actually its meant to be slippery type but some people said its really hard to control the robot.
we made the max speed high, so you can quickly move from left to right and go to the bonus machine quickly, if you dont need the speed try to stop the acceleration frequently.

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Nice game! I like the palette and cure robots!

Vacso says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Would have liked the controls to be less float-y. Apart from that I like it.

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:03pm

I like this game. The controls feel a little awkward, but I think that might have been your intention to make it difficult. Good job.

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Very hard to control, got pretty frustrated about it fast

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Very cool and fun. Graphics and sound are nice, I especially appreciate the details like the fruit wearing hats and having different faces. One suggestion though: I think the game should become a bit harder the longer you play, maybe by introducing more colors or having fruit that changes its color every few seconds. Other than that, fun game!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:07pm

these are some cool advices, I will update to the new version when the judging ends, it will increase difficulty overtime. and I will make the controls better. seems like a lot are struggling with the controls.

Shampop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14pm

It was hard to play because of the controls, but you just said you will improve these in a future version.

It was still fun, even if grandma is better than me ^^

elemel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:24pm

I made $412, the fruits should be impressed! The controls felt really wobbly at first, but they kind of grew on me. Nice and fun game, well done!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:40pm

lol Fruits are mean.

pht59x says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Good little game that lacks a real sense of progression. Multiplayer controls are a bit clumsy.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Really cool, plays well and the concept is great. I thought the movement was a bit sluggish however. Great job anyway!

MaesK says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Nice little game! It needs some better controls, though, as it is veeery difficult to move fruits out of the way, or I am not very good at this game, haha. I specially liked the faces and appearance of the fruits. Keep it up!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Enjoyable, but the weird physics that you've previously mentioned were very irritating. The fruit were cute but I wish they looked a little different in terms of shape-- have the lemons be oblong rather spherical, for instance. The music was fittingly bouncy.

Vaclav says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Haha very nice! Really enjoyable game.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Great game! Thank you

5k0d says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:24am

Very cool gameplay idea, and i realy like the pixel fruits, and very nice that you have added an multiplayer mode as well

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:47am

Haha, I love the slippery control! Wish the robot moved a little faster though.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:57am

I really like the personality expressed in the pixel art. I love the robot, I love the different fruits with their expressions and hats and all sorts of things. It's simple and fun, and I think I would absolutely love to play some 2-player once I have a second player available to me. ;)

The only issue I really had was with the handling of the controls. They're really very floaty and pressing the arrow key often sent my poor little robot shooting across the screen at variable light speed, which made it particularly hard for him to sort fruit like a good fruit sorting robot.

I really liked the robot, though. :) The robot is destined for greater things than sorting fruit. One day, he will save the world!

whizzter says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:25am

It feels like this game is executed very well to the idea, the only minus might be the controls but i have a feeling that this works in favour of the game in multiplayer mode.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Neat idea but pretty difficult to control.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:04pm

bit difficult to control, but fun

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:11pm

cool game, well done

monika says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Very fun. Like a lot of people here, I had a fair bit of trouble with the controls at first but got better at flying the robot as I played. Still never quite mastered dropping the fruit where I wanted to drop it, but I'll probably get better at that with more practice too. Might need to find a second player. I tried playing both players at once, and I'm pretty sure I'm blacklisted from ever working in a fruit factory again now.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Funny fruits with great character. Took me a bit to understand the game at first.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:31pm

The fruits are in love with me! Fun and funny game. At first I thought the controls were bad, but after I mastered them I got really into it! The music was great at the graphics were perfect. I liked it when a freeloading incorrectly coloured fruit would smile because it had almost made it, but then my smiling helicopter would come in and throw it away :D (not that I think about it... I guess the best strategy would be to collect wrong coloured fruit somewhere until their box came...)

Great game overall, fun and innovative!

Zi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:10am

Cool game! Very nice visuals and audio. I never knew where to drop the wrong colored fruit though. At the bottom?

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Neat concept. Games like these can be fun. But moving so fast and retarding so slowly really broke the game, I'm afraid. It's too bad. It was polished otherwise. Great audio.

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:21pm

The graphics are nice, but everything is so gray! I'd appreciate some color variety there to make it less dull.

The biggest problem is the controls, it's way too floaty and irresponsive. Seriously, it's terrible. Also, the player seems to be affected by gravity... why? It doesn't make it more challenging or interesting, it's just annoying. Seems like an unnecessary addition for me.

Plus, I think the game lacks some novelty factor. The core mechanic is not exactly original, and I think that's fine, but it needs something to keep me interested in it. Maybe the machine on the top was a step in that direction, but it wasn't exactly interesting in any way, so it just... was there. It didn't make the gameplay better or more engaging.

Overall a decent game, but it desperately needs the controls to be fixed, and some general polishing would be well received. Still, well done for your first Ludum Dare entry =)

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:38pm

May be the drag of this copter better be less, but anyway, it is very fun to play and music are great!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:18am

Fun game! The control of the robot was a bit frustrating though.

P.S. Your game will appear in my next video (episode #4).

gre says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Very cool concept and addictive game.
Music is really great.
Graphics/Fonts could be a bit more polished.

I have found the gameplay is a bit hard. Maybe there is a bit too much inertia, another idea could be to use the mouse to throw a grapnel (then you can keep the difficult inertia controls but the "catch" of items would be easier).

Lynx says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:03am

Odd controls to this game, it felt like I was controlling a micro RC helicopter than a responsive game character that I needed to react to the demand. Overall you have a great concept and the faces and personalities was a great touch but maybe tone done the slipper physics a touch and you'll have a universally great game concept to publish.

Maybe add a larger warning for mistakes or make the screen flash red when you're getting close to failing. Also make the UI text color white on the dark blue and pick maybe a san-serif font (like Ariel or Helvetica) to make your graphic design match the factory, computer driven, smooth pixel art style (just a graphic designer's suggestion there)

(PS: if you didn't make the music, you should opt out of the rating category)

rojo says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:00am

Cool, simple idea! I liked the graphics overall and the different faces in particular, which gave the game more personality than it would otherwise have. I found the robot a little difficult to control, so maybe slowing it down just a bit would be a good change. Something else that might be nice would be events or powerups to shake up the gameplay a little.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]