Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BEARPG

by MaxguN - Compo Entry

BEARPG is a mix between beat'em all and RPG.

You're a bearded stickman who is locked into a bar and is having a fight against two guys. But beware, if you beat them, there are two machines ready to revitalize them. They also, sometimes, duplicate them. So beware, the more you fight, the more you'll have ennemies.

When you defeat an ennemy, you will gain vital force and energy as well as experience to level up. Through levels, you'll be able to unlock new abilities.

Controls :
- Arrows | WASD | left stick to move
- ctrl | left click | A button to punch
- alt | right click | B button to kick

Made using :
- Unity
- Gimp
- Sourcetree for version control with git

Livestream replays :
- Day one : http://www.twitch.tv/maxguntv/c/5639429
- Day two : http://www.twitch.tv/maxguntv/c/5639443

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#467Humor2.60
#571Theme3.59
#955Fun2.60
#984Mood2.38
#1039Overall2.66
#1079Graphics2.19
#1109Innovation2.16

Comments

JeffBlacke says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:20am

nice!

saswat says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 12:49pm

looks good, try adding some power ups such as "if the player holds a key for long and hits the enemy, the damage will be more"

GG

paperweight says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:34am

nice idea :)

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:28am

Nice! I love the different moves!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:28am

Aawww... I came hoping for an RPG with a bear antagonist.

chakitp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:38am

good game! the only thing that annoyed me was that on a single press of the movement button, he moved in big chunks of spaces. i cant move precisely.

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:44am

I feel bad for those guys! I wasn't able to pull off the combos reliably, but it was kind of fun when I did. It's a bit hard to tell when you're able to impact the enemies. Pretty cool idea overall.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:55am

Great job!

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:05am

I love stickman, with good animations would be a good game.

srakowski says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10am

Had a hard time figuring out how to get he fireball in there! Love the graphics/design though!

pleepleep23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:11am

I liked it, but I felt that the movement was kinda off and the fighting mechanics weren't that crisp. Overall a fun game though.

nexyon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:15am

Tried it on Linux, the controls are not working smoothly at all :-/

FerraWare says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

I liked it!!

Just Tom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20am

I dig it, a brawler with progression :)
The controls felt a little sticky to me, as a heads up I played with a control pad. That said, keeping it simple was smart and learning the controls was super quick.

The graphics are functional and work well with the humour of the game. Honestly though, you had me at 'BEARPG', simply amazing.

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24am

Am I missing something? Sit on one side and kick and you get through all the enemies without trying. The graphics showed promise, I was just hoping for something more. Nice work completing the game though! Better than I did :)

Jqmfg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:38am

Good game, would have like to see sound effects and/or music. LOVED the name. The controls felt a little clunky as well.

MaxguN says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45am

Thanks for the comments :)

Concerning the controls, yeah, I'm a bit new to "platformer" controls in Unity and only used something I used for another game (and didn't prove really good either) but I didn't want to put too much time there.

@Pcholt : yeah, I didn't have time to balance the gameplay there, I too noticed it was easy to just score. In fact, the conveyors are supposed to go faster and I could have added a feature to make them change way so you can't focus only on one side. You can also use free super attacks by killing 3 or more ennemies.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:02am

I think if it felt quicker it could be a lot of fun!

QuexD says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:03am

good but you need to ether make the cooldown for attacks faster or be able to move and attack.

Lynx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:19am

Good start to an expandable game, needs a retro 80's style arcade soundtrack to keep that brawler vibe going

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24am

Got 50 my first playthrough. Good stuff.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59am

A very solid game! A bit harsh to get used to the responsiveness of it, but once you get into the flow, a fun time. Even for simple art, looks solid.

flatgub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:31am

It was fun and i enjoyed playing it, but i had a hard time doing the combo's and it seemed that the combo's didn't work at all when i was using the mouse...
Nice work!

Ovidios says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:26am

Nice idea! The start screen was a bit cramped and I found it a little too hard to actually hit/punch if you wanted to.
I also wondered why the punch/kick cooldown was random since it made it way more difficult to plan your moves.

Gread72 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:05am

I love beards on a stick man... cool

kavic says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:31am

Movement was a bit sticky but controls were easy to pick up. Overall an amusing little game. Good job!

frokes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59am

Cool little game! Would have liked to see a "mouse-aim" (the guy kick/punch towards your mouse. Simple but effective art style, prefere this over mashed low res textures.
Good job!

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:42am

The gameplay is awful; it have a delay between the key press and the action; the lack of sound is boring; =/

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Hey dude! First off, congratz on finishing a game!

I think there are a lot of ideas here that didn't get fully realized. For example, you play with two attack buttons but the attacks themselves don't appear to be different (other than the kick seems slightly longer ranged?) I had no reason to use a button other than the kick! I get the feeling the main reason for these two attacks instead of one was to allow for button combinations for your special attacks?

Your increasing strength over time works reasonably well, but the difficulty doesn't scale to match.

The controls for me felt very unresponsive, perhaps it was my machine's fault but sometimes attacks and movement simply weren't registered by my key presses, which is pretty essential in this sort of game. If you were to do more to this game I would work on this first and foremost and after that, I think there are some cool ideas that you could run with here but it would be good to pick perhaps just one of them, cut away on the others and make the game feel more focused and polished on one area. Perhaps the combat, perhaps the special attacks, perhaps the RPG element.

But either way, good stuff!

jamaxx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Really good.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Cool idea, a little repetitive- but I love the beard! Great job!

sim14789 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Had some fun competing with friends for score, loved the flavor text for the game, I'm wondering though if the controls could have been a little more responsive. All in all, great job

grid96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Simple with a nice 'paint'-style, but sometimes a little hard to control.

Madball says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:32pm

This is surprisingly fun for such a little game. However, I found a flaw that allows to gain score easily without much risk: run around the field and use super punch on enemies in groups of at least 3. It kills them instantly, and 3 kills is enough to get back the energy you spent.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Nice game, but I don´t like sensitivity of moving.

Dejsan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Nice idea but punching and kicking aren't so smooth.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Good clean fun! Combos were a little shakey but it has that "one more go" feel that is vital for a game like this. Good work!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:21pm

love the "rullband"

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58pm

0/10 was expecting bears, but there were no bears

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:02pm

0/10 was expecting bears, but there were no bears
fun concept though, probably a cool idea would be an upgrade store
expecting the full version out on steam in 2 months, with a fully playable bear character

tielbyrd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00pm

The controls are a little floaty and don't always respond, and it definitely needs some sort of sound effects(it'd be nice to hear a satisfying punching noise when you hit somebody), but other than that it's great!

goblin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Hey! very nice game. its funny!! look my game ;)

rantt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:34am

Fun game, very entertaining.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:29am

Good entry. Liked the rough pencil art. Beards rock! :)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:29am

Hi there. Nice animations, like the fireball power move. Good job!

Lynx says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:14am

Hey MaxguN, thanks for the review on my game! If you want to make a rhythm game, feel free to download the source code and hack'away. Happy deving!

nassi says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Tried with both keyboard and a gamepad, but the controls are too delayed and/or unresponsive for the basic gameplay to be enjoyable. Got to 55 after getting a bit more used to them though (hit and run tactics for the win).

nsindrajith says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:02am

good game, nice try..

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]