Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Quirky Roadblock

by korayementality - Jam Entry

CONTROLS:
Mouse to click on vehicle to select
WASD to move selected vehicle

Objective:
Set up an efficient roadblock as quickly as possible!

It's basically a police chase.
No you're not the runner.
Nope, not the chasing cop.
Instead, you're the roadblock unit!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#237Innovation(Jam)3.50
#392Humor(Jam)2.79
#637Mood(Jam)2.86
#679Overall(Jam)3.00
#682Fun(Jam)2.82
#713Graphics(Jam)2.79
#920Theme(Jam)2.84

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

Really cool game, I enjoyed it.

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Bevilacqua says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:26am

I enjoyed it :) I like how out of all things you could be you chose road block unit. 5 stars for humor. Decent graphics(better than I could ever do). Only problem I had was a little bit of difficulty selecting the car. I might just be stupid though!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:38am

Hilarious, I loved it. 10 adda 10

Aree Vanier says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39am

Epic!! Really fun and challenging!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:58am

Fun little game! Only wish there was just a bit more content to it. Also bigger scores seemed to be the result of luck from where the car was coming from? Otherwise, it's very original and well executed. Great job!

Anachron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:00am

Great concept and a good foundation for a cool puzzle game :)

Gread72 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

It took me a little bit to figure it out but It's different and fun.

SilentNight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:32am

Really unique idea. Definitely different and pretty fun. Nice job overall I had fun for the little bit I played! :D

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33am

Cool, interesting idea, though not a lot of fun for me. I wanted to hear screems, sirens and crashes, so I simulated those as I played.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:34am

Really enjoyed it. Keep it up!

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:17pm

A little hard to get the hang of, but i enjoyed it. Nice work.

nbilyk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Yes, 5193 points!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Cool idea, would be cool if there were more levels, or the difficulty somehow increased with each successful block.

guldlock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Great short game! I like the concept!

brombatti says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:40pm

I really enjoyed the mechanics of the game. Should have been better exploited because it was short. But I know that time hinders. Overall great game ^^

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:43pm

pretty neat! I don't think I've seen anything quite like this concept executed before. I had a good time with this one.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Great concept, nicely implemented. Wish there were more levels! :D

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Great idea!
Bit difficult to move the cars though.

schnerble says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:07am

Nice idea - quite original! It'd help to have an indicator of which car is selected. Otherwise some indication of where the points came from would be useful. Good work though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]