Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Glow Drop

by Gamepopper - Compo Entry

Controls: Mouse/Touch Input only!

Glow Drop is a physics based puzzle game where you eliminate drops as they fall. You can eliminate multiple drops at once by touching/clicking drops which are adjacent to drops of matching colours.

There are also special white drops which could either hinder or help you play, depending on if and when you use them.

To fit with the theme, this game uses only one Construct2 layout. Multiple layers and eventsheets made it possible to fit the entire game on one screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#133Fun3.65
#225Audio3.27
#289Overall3.47
#482Theme3.65
#511Graphics3.15
#553Innovation3.13
#600Mood2.89
#785Humor2.16

Comments

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:05am

Dangerously addictive. I could definitely see myself dropping this on my phone and playing from time to time. It seemed like there was a point where I couldn't recover my losses, though... that was a bit frustrating.

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10am

Sweet game! Sound effects and more visual feedback would make this a lovely mobile time-waster!

benjim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22am

I like the special drops. Overall good game.

locknic says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09am

I wasn't pulled in at first, but the more I played the more I realised the subtle mechanics. The game is surprisingly balanced quite well (no pun intended).

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19am

This is a great game, interesting concept, simple and engaging. Please release a version for Android ;)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:33am

Really cool simple game, had lots of fun with it! Could definitely see myself playing this for hours on the mobile, I got an achy finger from clicking too much ;)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Nice game! Only complaint is that I had to reduce my browser view to 65% to fit the game in screen.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Great idea! It's simple, but it works perfectly. And I like the music track as well, it sticks in your mind (although it's short, so it potentially could become repetitive if you play for a long time).

Nice work!

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54pm

This can be highly addicting really if were to be a mobile game. Oh my god you should go do that! So much potential here~

okkolobr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Nice one here ! Well done !

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Nice and simple gameplay! Also the music is good. Nice work!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:30pm

33581 .. became really stressfull at the end there :)
I like it, for a replay I would like to be able to turn the music off.

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Love the idea. Definitely a concept I could see people playing on their phones. I'm not really drawn to the visual style, but that might just be a preference thing.

SneManden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Yeah: another one of those games that should come with an "ADDICTIVE"-warning ;). Really challenging, but satisfying when you match lots of drops. Also, the background-music was really well done.

sheigeno says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:34pm

...woow too many ball on my screen.. xD

.nice game

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:08am

As others said, you should totally take this to mobile. A nice concept, well balanced and fun to play. Now, go and do it!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40am

Really awesome. Fast paced, I can see this making a really fun mobile game :D

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47am

16290! Solid mechanics

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:00am

A simple but well-built game. I'm also a sucker for technical interpretations of the theme, and I dig the single-game-screen idea. The graphics were good, the movement of the orbs felt satisfying, and the white orbs were interesting to use. You can definitely feel the polish, which helps overcome the relatively simple mechanics.

psychonull says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Looked easy at first glance, but the difficulty progression is very good!

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Very entertaining game - simple to understand, but very funny to play with all these physics colored shape! I love it. The music is excellent too, what did you use to compose it?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Simple game, very addictive! I Included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/81u-vDEfxwU

ketura says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:31pm

This is great, probably better with touch screen controls than a mouse, but the idea is solid. I would add some sort of visual element to make it more obvious what spheres are connected, like two different shades of each color for "connected" and "not connected" to take out the guesswork.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Nice work! Simple to pick up and play. This could make for a great mobile game.

OFF says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Even better than Bejewled and Tetris, the only tricky aspect is that is hard to be sure sometimes if circle touch each other but it works really well.
Direct on my mobile phone for travel! ;)

dlowe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Thanks for the game :)

Beerman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Very nice. Simple but compelling, like crazy multi-coloured bubblewrap :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:24am

Good Job on your game :)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:24am

Hi there. Excellent game. Agree with other posters, definitely addictive. Love the gentle glow and sounds. Great job!

mechabit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:42pm

cool game

local minimum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Nice execution of classic bejeweled type game. I think all parts, music, graphics and game play came together nicely.

I, of course, got really stressed quite soon and never obtained any great score, but one thing (I think) I noticed was that the balls seemed more and more reluctant to register my clicks the harder the game got. I don't know if that was by design, if it was just my stress speaking or some quirk of having more balls in play. If it was meant to get harder, maybe visually display the shrinking hit area on the balls.

Also, maybe due stress, I never figured you if the magic balls were surprise balls that you couldn't know what they'd produce or if there was some way of being smart about them. If the latter, maybe have a ? on them or something...

rainshapes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Great variation on the matching formula!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Really fun and challenging! I see this would work well on tablet. Great job!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:00am

Cool twist on the match-3 genre. My clicks occasionally didn't seem to register. If that could get ironed out, this would work nicely on mobile.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:31pm

very original tetris-type game, very good for touch devices, well done

nesis says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:27pm

I liked the colour palette and postprocessing applied to the graphics, and the music especially was done well. I can see people playing this compulsively like they do other games like it. A unique hook could perhaps be playing more with the physics of it, allowing the player to shuffle the positions of the circles.

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Pretty cool take on this quite old genre. I like the way physics were added to the gameplay. The music is awesome too!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:11am

Nifty and lotsa fun! The white drops are great, especially the randomizer, can turn the game around real fast!

guldlock says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I liked this game, felt like it could be addictive! :D

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Fun and addictive game. Good and fitting music. Managed to get to lvl 18.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I really liked the graphics and overall presentation. It was very polished, so well done! I didn't enjoy the gameplay. I've just played far too many of these games recently and just found it too unoriginal. I liked the in game music, but I wasn't a fan of the menu screen music.

ruerob says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Very fun to play and addictive little game, but at the later levels I just clicked rapidly on the screen without aiming. But maybe with a little practice I will be better. Very good. Thank you for your game.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:11pm

That was a lot of fun !

Ulydev says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Awesome !

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I started wondering if this game would be less action and more tactical if new balls would drop only after you click once. Now I felt I could just try fast-click some cluster of same colored spheres and couldnt see if there's some better strategy (than to become fastr clicker or get a better mouse :).

I would have liked if spheres that are close to each other would get more easier selected, or perhaps some indicator on mouseover (hard to see how that could work on android).

I do think this was a nice twist on match-3 genre. Works pretty well already.

One additional thing to consider: Why spheres? Why not other shapes?

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Brilliant stuff !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]