Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Zoom

by Walnoot - Compo Entry

Keep zooming in in this top-down slash-em-up! How deep can you go?

To run the game, make sure you have Java installed, and then double-click the .jar file. Works on all platforms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#439Fun3.20
#441Innovation3.27
#557Theme3.60
#685Overall3.08
#706Graphics2.84
#846Mood2.59
#1631Coolness42%

Comments

dorkster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:20am

Pretty addictive for how simple it is. I like the scaling effect between levels.

I couldn't figure out if the game has an "end" level to reach or if it's infinitely generating. If it's infinite, maybe keeping a score and awarding points for kills/money/progress would help gauge performance between runs.

Walnoot says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Thanks for playing my game! You're right that the game has no end, I would've made something like a score counter but ran out of time :/

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Actually very fun to play! Too bad it gets a bit boring when you've seen all the levels. Transition effect is very nice, and the graphics fit the game.

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Like the art style!

Smiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26pm

really nice :) and innovated idea on the theme.

a bit difficult to slash. are the levels random generated or does the player start on a random one after death?

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:11pm

good game.. the scaling effect is great :)

Walnoot says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45pm

@Smiley, the levels are somewhat randomly generated, there is a list of prebuild levels that get randomly chosen based on the current level

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:55pm

"Can't find what you're looking for." error.

geckojsc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:11pm

borked link :(

Walnoot says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Oops, I suck, link is back now :/

Jim Haslett says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09pm

I tried to play but it just crashed on me when I hit the space bar.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Seems fun, but the enemies are a little tough to hit, It could just be me being bad but I don't know. Nice job on a fun game that fits the theme well.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Great take on the theme! The combat was a bit too difficult and the puzzles quickly got a bit monotone. This has great potential though. Nice work!

ramyaanudeep says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:09am

great concept

Anti says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Really fun game even though it was very simple. Cool idea and well executed.

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:16pm

I like the game but the enemies attack a little bit too fast which makes the game really hard. Good work tho!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:18pm

simple but nice gameplay ;)

Aomeas says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Your take on the theme is nice :3
But the loop at the end, resulting in just closing the game without having won is kinda frustrating :/

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:13am

Really really cool. I especially like the attack from the enemies which makes the screen shake like thunder :). Very good theme implementation!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:27am

Nice game, I love the transition between levels. There was no way I could survive the level with four enemies in the upper-right corner.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]