Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BEGG-Y 5000

by kurismakku - Jam Entry

Click to beg. Buy robot parts to impress different people.
Avoid the police, and buy food to survive.

There is lot of features that can be added to improve the game, but this was our first game jam, and we didn't manage to finish it in time. Still really satisfied with results, and we gonna keep working on it to make it more playable and interesting !

Let's connect ! :)
https://twitter.com/kurismakku
https://www.behance.net/martastrazicic https://www.facebook.com/schwesternsister?ref=bookmarks


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#90Audio(Jam)3.75
#127Mood(Jam)3.65
#209Innovation(Jam)3.57
#255Graphics(Jam)3.76
#332Overall(Jam)3.40
#600Theme(Jam)3.45
#861Fun(Jam)2.53
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:26am

wow, creepy, but full of feelings, great atmosphere, very original, yet sad concept. well done

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Really really sad, but interesting interpretation.

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:00pm

So so sad( Not the most comprehensive UI in my opinion, but as being said above great mood.

alabebop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Sad...nice music and innovative story!

AMS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Great use of the theme! Love the face of the robot, creepy and sad in a good way. Well done!

NeithR says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Cop taking money from poor? too bad some are true in reality.

Forge says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:57am

Very innovative use of the theme, love the music and the sounds, sad game, well done!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:16am

Loved the graphics and music!

Shpuld says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:17am

Not enough time to react to the cop most of the time, otherwise very nice!

kurismakku says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:23am

Yea the cop is really important mechanic in the gameplay. When you new person enters the screen, you should try to beg as much as possible, but as time passed before new person arrives it becomes more and more risky to beg because police can enter. But with good timing and observation of left and right side you can spot the shadow in time, but it is not easy. We will improve the UI a lot for the full version of the game.

Your feedback is really appreciated, if you have any advice how to make this game better, let me know, I don't mind if critics are honest.

ynots says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:38pm

creepy...

nuqu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:28pm

I really liked the concept, nice graphics and nice sound. The music and the SFX makes it creepy. Well done.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Nice graphics and sound :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]