Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Block-It

by Crazi456 - Jam Entry

*Music was not made within the 72 hours
*Online Multiplayer might be coming soon in a postjam version

This is a Local Multiplayer game where you try to defeat your opponent by making their blocks stack to the center of the field.

Player 1: W/S to control paddle, A/D to rotate blocks
Player 2: Up/Down arrows to control paddle, Left/Right Arrows to rotate blocks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Innovation(Jam)4.18
#39Theme(Jam)4.29
#91Overall(Jam)3.83
#123Fun(Jam)3.65
#300Graphics(Jam)3.68
#447Mood(Jam)3.11
#719Humor(Jam)2.15
#2356Coolness0%

Comments

Shazoke says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56am

good

Sirthan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:00am

Pretty nice game, unique idea, and all sorts of other cool stuff. I wish I had a friend to play and get the full experience though... (You should add a CPU player :PP)

tweedle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:07am

I think I might be the Block-It World Champion! Cool Idea!

KeinBaum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20am

Oh my god, this is brilliant. I love it.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:38am

This was absolutely brilliant. The most outstanding thing here is the innovation. Loved the concept. We're sorry to say this, but we really wanted to see what would happen if we just let the blocks build up. We wanted to break your game... We sat here for 15 minutes. And in the end, it was worth every. Single. Second. The collisions went crazy. 10/10. Gl with the ratings

seraphki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17am

Hah, somehow my left hand is more skilled than my right. =] Would have also liked to play against AI (at work, can't 2p) but I understand that wanting an AI for a twitch game during a jam is a tall order. Nicely done!

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:12am

interesting...have to play it with a friend!Cool!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:13am

as @KeinBaum said, brilliant idea to combine 2 games :)

Anikki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:55am

I like the idea. Nice tactical aspect with the block shapes. Tetris/Pong combo makes obvious sense.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Idea is good and smart what else can I say. As as realization

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Great concept. Wish there was single player, but AI takes a while.

monsieurvinou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Really great game! Dead on with the theme!
We tried to make a tetris with my friend, but couldn't manage to with the angles :s
But we're not very good at games! :D

ruerob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:27pm

I like this little game. it has nice graphics and a very unike idea. Now I just need a second player.

Waschtl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Cool idea, a nice combination of well known mechanics. :)
Controls feel good, I only played it against myself, so there was no real challenge but I can see where this is going.
Suggestion: Randomize the initial flight path of each block.

Anyways, good job! :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:14pm

I never would have imagined competitive tetris pong in a post apocalyptic setting would be a thing. But I see it and it is good. Nice work ; ]

coded_ninja says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Really like the idea. Good job!

broknecho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Cool Idea! Neat blend of the two games. Great job!

fancypants says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Awesome for multiplayer.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:58pm

2 Innovation stars for not just remaking a game, but two at once :)
Pretty funny.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Excellent idea, I could see if complete lines disappear but if they do, this is great. Awesome job

NeithR says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Very impressive especially collaboration of ping-pong and tetris combined together! :D

rantt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Wow, playing both sides at the same time is super hard. Really cool concept. I enjoyed it, good job :)

mahu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Loved the concept, really cool game.

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:19pm

I liked it! Need some AI for single player

Zeldhoron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Awesome concept, i would like the "reflection block thingy" to be a bit quicker and maybe an AI but still awesome! 8.5/10

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:52pm

very original. Playing alone is even better than playing in two. It very hard to concrete on both players at the same time.

wood.innis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:13pm

This is a great game, with a great combination of two classic mechanics. I would love to see this playable with a controller. And I agree that an AI would make it a lot more fun.

billrizer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:01am

Cute little mashup. Would love to see single player mode

cabezotta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:37am

Very nice! Great work!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great idea, very interesting gameplay!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]