Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Supermarket Bagman

by Pixelfan Games - Jam Entry

SUPERMARKET BAGMAN is the new Pixelfan platform game! Help our superheroe BAGMAN to scape and win the epic battle versus the malicious BADBAG! Enjoy the Game!

CONTROLS:

Movement: A-D / <- ->
Jump: Space
Restart Level: R

MADE BY:

PIXELFAN
Islas Canarias (Spain)
Web: www.pixelfan.org
Press Kit: www.pixelfan.org/presskit/

CREDITS:

PROGRAMMER:
Jacobo Caraballo

GRAPHICS:
Juanfra Gonzales(JF)
Fran Aguilar (Chesco)

MUSIC/SFX:
Oscar Roman (Ainim)

COMMUNITY MANAGER:
Gonzalo Matallana (Chalo)

FOLLOW US:

FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/PixelfanGames

TWITTER: www.twitter.com/Pixelfangames

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#86Humor(Jam)3.67
#290Audio(Jam)3.23
#391Graphics(Jam)3.50
#554Overall(Jam)3.15
#615Fun(Jam)2.90
#687Mood(Jam)2.78
#913Innovation(Jam)2.25
#1009Theme(Jam)2.03

Comments

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:36pm

:/ I wanna play, link to site, no to game~~~

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Hi Kuupu! we are testing and implementing new improvements! you can play it later! thanks ;)

The-Force says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:51am

There's only one thing I dislike about this game...FUCKING BAGJUMP (it's too hard)

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:48am

The background music is great! I'm still singing. But the wall jump was a little flimsy. Nice game! :D

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:12am

Very nice game. The intro is histerical, the music is amazing and the whole game has a lot of laughs. Good job!

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Nice graphics/sounds and a little funny story.
The bag jump requires a bit more polishing & it lags a bit on Retina MacBook with Safari.

Overall a great entry!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Nice SMB-style game. Really hard, but great in overall.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:04pm

added Walkthrough. You can see how to finish the game :)

Rodaja says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Las dos primeras pantallas son más difíciles que las siguientes.

Buena velocidad de reaparición para hacer un juego de plataformas de este estilo, aunque alguna pista visual de la muerte no hubiera venido mal.

Groydis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:00am

Link doesn't work...

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Hi Grodys! The link its working fine! we think is not a problem about us, but thank you for repporting! ;)

omaha says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:59pm

I loved the into graphics, but I felt that the wall jumping mechanic wasn't working as expected.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Wall jump is quite uncomfy. I feel it would work somehow better with a Controller, but not with a Keyboard. However, I died around 50 times before ragequitting, I gotta say loved your game :)
(Gracias por ponerlo en español, nunca pensé ver algo así por aquí)

sputnik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Nice art! Interesting plateformer. The walljump is kinda hard with the keyboard though.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Nice graphics and cool gameplay. I would like to see more connection with theme here, but theme is too broad to restrict much anyway. Very nice job with the storyboard.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:05am

The game is very fun, with cute art and catchy tunes.

The background is cool but it doesn't seem to fit the rest of the art, that bothered me a bit. I'd add a "run" key (super meat boy style), I think it improves the flow of the game a lot in this kind of games.

Great job!

Kuupu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Nice game
I think you can scale up the thing a bit, you have a lot of play area with nothing in it and really small sprites ;)

exoddinary says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:44pm

cute game, tho its quite stressful to bagjump xD

Hellequin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Awesome game! Love the graphics and all! Really well done!

alvarop says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Me gusto mucho la historia. Muy profuuuuuuundo.

allurious says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:43pm

The bagjump is way too hard for me, but this was a nice concept!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Decent little platform game, although I was stuck in that hole on the second level and I found the wall jumps too hard to do with keyboard. I like the little intro cinematic.

SneManden says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I am really impressed with the cut-scenes! They are mesmerizing and really well done!

However, I ragequited after a few levels (the one with giant robot sliding in from the left) because I couldn't put 3 consequtive bagjumps together (the controls for this were really hard/odd to me).

I liked that Badbag is present in each level :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Mmmmmmmm

The effort that has gone into this is plain to see. Cut scenes and art and things are pretty good.

BUT.

Maybe I'm jaded, but what I see is a Super Meatboy clone? The story is pretty much Meatboy, the gameplay is Meatboy, and it feels like Meatboy...

And then you've made the cardinal sin of employing the WORST WAY to deal with wall jumping, in my humble opinion. Requiring the player to push towards the wall, then quickly away from the wall after you press jump so that you don't fall back towards the wall... It's just torturous and unnecessary. You can test player skill in a variety of other ways, I feel that making the controls hard is the wrong way to do it. There are many other ways of employing wall jump.

AND THEN you threw a timed stage in just as you learned how to do the wall jump. RAGEQUIT :P (also, it doesn't make sense that you die if you hit the bag of a vacuum cleaner :P)

Kudos for good effort where it's due. but the rest of it needs some design love.

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Wall jump was way too hard, but I did like hand drawn art.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Nice work! The intro was great. I think this game could be really fun with just some tweaking of the core platforming mechanics. Wall climbing was a bit difficult. Maybe it would be easier if once a player is sliding down a wall they don't have to keep holding that direction. Also if I press jump while running towards a wall, it plays the jump sound but nothing happens. Also, I'm not sure what the connection was to the theme.

Kovalsky says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice game. Nice graphic.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Bagjumping doesn't feel right. :/
Other than that, a great game with a great story! :)
Nice graphics and sound too!

ALSO SO FRUSTRATING 102 DEATHS OMG

Team Buttface says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:24pm

The execution was good. I liked the presentation and the graphics were pretty nice as well.

The main problem I had was that the bagjump was too fiddly. Fix that and it's a pretty solid game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]