Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Garden of Brewery, Science and Malice

by mortus - Jam Entry

Your goal is to brew a magic potion which will make you happy, but for it you need three types of ingredients.

<--- GOAL --->

Collect 30 of each ingredient to complete your potion.

<--- QUICK GUIDE --->

If you don't know what to do:
First day: just press the button.
First night: collect seeds by hovering your mouse over them.
Second day: mutate a bush with DNA, plant some seeds.
Go on, find a snowman.

<--- INSTRUCTIONS --->

Collect 30 ingredients of each type to win.

You can plant seeds only on days, click ground to plant.

You can gather resources and seeds only at night, move your mouse over something to pick it up. GREEN CUBES ARE SEEDS, blue cubes, red spheres and yellow cylinders are ingredients.

Enemies drop DNA when killed - use those to create protector-plants.

Mutated plants do not give seeds or resources. Don't forget to keep few of each kind for reproductive purposes.

<--- CHANGES --->

Fixed typo that made the game too dark.
Fixed spontaneous day/night changes bug.

Music by Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) - "Happy Bee"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#416Humor(Jam)2.74
#421Graphics(Jam)3.44
#425Overall(Jam)3.29
#438Audio(Jam)2.87
#449Innovation(Jam)3.12
#490Theme(Jam)3.57
#530Fun(Jam)3.00
#547Mood(Jam)2.98

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:16am

Really cool game!

Try mine, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:49am

Cool take on a tower defense game, seems to match the theme as well! Great job!

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:50am

Nice tower defense, and good graphics. Not too innovative but fun, it is a good result.

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:54am

Nice game! Even if main objective isn't clearly exposed in-game. I also didn't understand that you don't gather seeds on modified plants.
Im in love with the effect when you pick a resource!! Riiiight in the caldron, sweet and juicy :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:02am

Nice one. :)

Krimble says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:23am

Cool game, I like the graphics and the day / night cycle shadow effect.

Iak says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:44am

Very nice TD game. A few times it turned night again right after day started without me clicking anything, not a gamebreaker though (it's beatable anyway).
very fun balancing seed gain with strong defense!

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Interesting concept, though I found it hard to plant new seeds. Liked the night to day animation!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Very addicting game, good graphics and a nice fresh idea on tower defense genre. Enjoyed my time with this one.

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:35pm

I like that it's a different kind of tower defense game, took me a while to understand though.

egos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:38pm

real nice graphics and original gameplay

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51pm

I like how this entry presents itself, it's a nice take on the "tower defense" genre.

It's not that easy to get the seeds production process, but still the whole game is quick and enjoyable :)

Looking forward to see a PostDare version of it!
Keep up the good work!

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Interesting day night switch, I could just sit and watch the light effects.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:13am

Didn't understood how to stop the caterpillars :/
Yet, nice game and graphics :)

Manoloko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Beatiful game, I just don't know what to do exactly, the on-screen prompts don't help much, and the caterpillars are unstoppable!. But I love the day/night transitions and the general look, with more work could be something well worth playing.

Diamonde says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:18pm

You guys really put a lot into this game, and that's impressive given the short time. I like the gameplay, however a few levels in, the seeds stop spawning for me. I may have missed some detail of how the seeds work. An improvement I would love to see for your next gamejam is to make it a little easier to understand what the user can interact with.
Thanks for making a really solid entry!

Finlal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:20pm

very interesting game and excellent implementation!

RadStar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:22pm

cool game ! a bit difficult to handle at first but become funnier with time !

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Cool little tower defense game with nice graphics.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Unique looking and playing game, though sometimes that unique-ness leads to confusion. I was never really sure what each play did when I was upgrading them.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Nice game with its own level of uniqueness. Lot of potential on idea, cool music and nice graphic effects / models.

On bad side, interface need improvements. A closer camera view would improve this point a lot.

Hope that you keep working on it to a full featured version.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Always wanted to take DNA :) nice tower defence game!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Wow cool little universe. The day and night cycle has been done very well. It features the game a lot. I had some little problems with the controlls... maybe I'm to noobish. But taken all togehther: Nice job. Well done!

Dissiden7 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:04am

Great game.

Really liked the balance you had to strike between defence and production.

Odefus says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:27am

Confusing at first, but quite fun once you know what you're supposed to do. I like how you have to balance protection and resource generation. I wasn't a huge fan of the actual resource collection mechanic though. After a while I was just swinging my mouse around my plants wildly as a lot of the resources tend to end up out of sight behind the plants. At some point it started to simply feel like frustrating busywork. It was an all around enjoyable game anyway.

victorljs says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Nice Game.

SuperMsp10 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:54pm

cool game

Shivur says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Good game.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Great game. Nice tower Defense-ish game. The game felt very polished and I loved the graphics and the audio! Great job!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:36pm

It took me awhile to work out what i was doing but good once the penny dropped, well done.

-C

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]