Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

S.I.N.E

by FloatingGhost - Compo Entry

Bullet hell game.

Twist: You are locked to a sine wave that can be manipulated.

Can you kill everything and ShINE?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#42Innovation4.14
#189Theme3.94
#266Overall3.50
#278Humor2.95
#383Mood3.13
#439Fun3.20
#555Graphics3.10
#593Audio2.64

Comments

Coolway99 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24am

Great Idea! I think the audio isn't too great though. Maybe if you are going sine wave music make it dynamic?

devshawn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

Lots of fun. Typo on controls: "W/S" and "A/S"

sharpcoder says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

This is an amazing entry! It's really innovative, awesome job!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28am

Wow, that's an amazing idea. Trying to control it makes my head hurt in a good way :D

taviandir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29am

Fun concept! As someone else said, I almost expected the sound to adapt to the waves - that would've really taken the game to an entire new level! Still good fun game, the lose screen comment made me laugh HARD :D:D:D

Kwask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:34am

I liked it, I thought it was a clever idea. I did run into this bug, though, when I tried to increase the amplitude and decrease the frequency a bit too much: http://puu.sh/dlFhA/407011470f.jpg

RedPanda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Amazing!

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Oh god I really like the look of this but my java install doesn't like this jar at all. Is there a specific version of Java to use?

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Opened it on Mac OS/X and the window flashed a few times then closed. I'll try again when I can get on my desktop.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Java 7, for hexagore

Wilson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Great idea! Tricky to get the hang of, but satisfying once you do.

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Good idea. A bit frustrating, perhaps, because of the automatic movement, even if you can change the course somewhat.

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:14pm

A really interesting take on the "tower defense" genre! I wonder if you are going to extend this and what are your ideas.

I also wondered about a link between actual music and the sinewave.

I have encountered the same bug listed by Kwask, but at this point I'm not sure if it's a bug or not. Probably you are not allowed to get out of the screen.

One minor thing: make fullscreen possible :) My resolution didn't make it easy for me to play it!

Good job!

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Nice game.

DuncanDonut says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Like it. Very addictive. Easy to pick up, nightmare to master (in a good way)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Very innovative! Never would have thought of something like that. Also, you get fives stars in humor for that cosine joke XD

dallonf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40am

My favorite game I've played so far! It's such an unusual method of control, yet it's actually quite intuitive and it makes you feel really clever when you hit something you were aiming at (or dodge an enemy's shot).

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:21pm

I like the idea. Controlling is hard as we can move the basic axis up and down which would have add a dimension. Maybe some dynamic music as mention before in the comments. Very innovative.

JNyknn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Wonderful gameplay concept, I must admit.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:02am

I liked the idea and the game was fun, but it was really mind-bending control. :)

Pretty sure I've seen that explosion before though ;^)

Junuxx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:11am

That was okay! Couldn't beat the boss.

WiErD0 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Sorry, I can't play or rate because I got an Invalid or corrupt file error, and don't really have the patience to try to fix it right now... Looks cool though!

Wakka says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:00pm

amazing idea, love it!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Nice idea :)

cmcoto says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:20am

Loved your idea! Had trouble controlling it, but it was good play!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Quite a unique idea, well done.

csanyk says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:21am

Interesting concept. I've not played something like this before.

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:22pm

This game is pretty innovativ! Great entry!

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Nice Idea!

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:10pm

I don't think you included the natives for Mac.

Waterman7 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Great concept and really nice take on the theme. Good job!

01101101 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Nice concept!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:38am

Really original idea, good work.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Hey, I did a Sine wave based game myself for LD #26! (different gamplay) :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]