Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SnowCard

by mrexcessive - Compo Entry

Hi... Thank you for trying my game.

This is an attempt to create an Xmas themed toy... You have a some windows which are covered in decorations, you need to find the sequence to remove the decorations... There are clues in the garden outside...

Click on a piece of decoration to try to remove it. If you get the sequence right you get a nice noise... and a little bit of music, get it wrong and ugh...

Made with Unity 4.6 and the new UI, which is great, a great time-sink right now! I've never used the mecanim before either, so much learning occurred.
Dynamically creating UI elements which stretch and scaling them correctly is F_U_N (not) !

Scripting in C# using Visual Studio Express

Music is me playing piano edited with Audacity - apologies for the excessive tweeness of this...

Textures/images etc. created with the GIMP

Filezilla used for file transfers.. er. Windows 8 laptop running Unity/Gimp/Audacity/VisualStudio all simultaneously did really well... Kudos compared to last W7 one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#574Audio2.67
#829Innovation2.72
#869Humor1.91
#894Mood2.53
#914Theme3.29
#984Graphics2.41
#1077Overall2.59
#1112Fun2.26

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Help screen coming soon... For now... All you can do is CLICK on the stickers.... use your eyes... you can work it out !!

Good luck and thank you for rating... Leave a comment and I'll rate yours if I can.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:50pm

And we have help... click button at centre bottom of window...

MrTedders says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:14am

Nice little wintery game.

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Difficult game, but interesting and I like the wintery theme :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Very nice puzzle game! The help button was really needed ;)

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49pm

a pleasant game for christmas! :)

pixzleone says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Cool game. Maybe add a way to lose score or something.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Interesting idea. Lots of nifty sounds and music. Great job!

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I'm rather awful at it, I must admit. I didn't pick up on anything quick, but it was an interesting design. Could definitely have been a bit more fun with some help!

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Graphics are cool. The rule is a little confusing, could someone explain it?

Larzan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:11pm

A very innovative game, like the sound bit reward thingy, well done :)

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Please make a native Linux build. Unity Web Player doesn't work on Linux.

sprawl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Nice little game. Managed to actually finish it despite the obnoxious fail sound :P

Other than that, I enjoyed it. The background is really nice.

mutuware says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Nice unexpected little piano segment.

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Good work ! I love the stretching animation

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:27am

A rather charming little christmas game. The snow and the window both looked nice, and the little piano riff when you got a combo right was pretty pleasant.

Unfortunately, the fail sound was maybe a bit too grating (perhaps something lower and out of key could have worked better?) and the puzzles didn't really have much to think about in them.

With a bit more variety this could be a lovely little game for the season. Perhaps you could send it to family members as a little christmas gift!

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:38am

I noticed the colors in the background, but I really didn't understand what's the main rule. Perhaps you should explain it more clearly ?
Anyway, good job for your compo :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:47am

Nice little winter game, Simple and charming with nice sounds. Took me a while to realize that the spheres in the background indicate what I need to press.

rzuf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26am

Hard to get at first, but it's nice and very christmasy. :)

gmaker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:43am

very difficult to me! but innovations =) good job!

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:46am

Neat little game. The piano effects were pretty cool.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:09pm

@All thanks for your kind comments. I wanted to be obscure about the spheres... sorry 'bout that ! Was going to be more subtle with xmas trees dancing in the background, but ran out of time to get Blender models and animations imported... next time maybe! Cheers all !

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Interesting little game, but clues are often blocked by something, you cant see properly. Thats when the game turn into a guessing game. Plus it needs some variety in its gameplay. Its too blant for now.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19pm

@CustomPhase you can always see the clues if you mouse over the decorations so that they shrink. Also you can open the windows one at a time by clicking the plain/not-coloured decorations (there are a limited number of these of course). It should always be beatable without resorting to guessing.

Silii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:52pm

hum, good, i will retry-it after work with my touchscreen laptop

okkolobr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49pm

The first sequence is hard to get, as we can't see well the garden. After that, it runs smoothly.

Nice relaxing little game :)

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Once you figure out how this works it's pretty cool. Nice sounds overall (i agree with others the fail sound gets a little grating as you here it often) but I did enjoy this game for a while.

A better tutorial would help greatly, as i'm sure a lot of people will have tried for 5 minutes and given up without working out what to do.

iostream says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Could you make a Linux build?

psydack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:51pm

I cant win this game because every time miss some color. But I liket it. =)

Sakuyan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:29pm

I like the idea of the game :D
Lovely audio feedback.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Phew, you definitely didn't make it an easy game! I got a few of the decorations off, but got a little lost after that. I think maybe the clues that I needed to find were behind the Christmas decorations haha.

I did really like the fact that guessing right/wrong had different audio effects. It provided good feedback to the player.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Afraid I didn't understand the clues. Sorry bro :(. Nice art style and the wintery goodness felt good.

panda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Nice! Took me a bit of time to figure it out, but then it went fine. Very good use of the theme! Perhaps add some variety in the next version?

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Awesome game :) love it

Kiwiboi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:19pm

I like it! Something I thought of is either make it more obvious which order to pick the colors in or make it not matter which one you pick first. Otherwise pretty fun! :)

riktothepast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Its a little confusing how to get the right pattern. The animations work really well. Good job!.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:11am

took me a while to understand the game, but looks nice

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:52am

Neat idea. It took me an entire game to realize the "clear" ornaments basically allowed you to see what was outside--I thought they were wildcards/free points.

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:07am

Well done, overall one of the better games. You could replace the balls with elves, One who moves, the other who stands still for your 'click order' and Santa enters when you win.. the balls don't exist in one screen, they pop in and out, so -1 theme, but overall awesome

indie4fun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:14am

It is a bit confusing at the beginning.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:25am

Nice animation on the window when it opens. I liked the piano. I couldn't always see the balls because the pieces of paper were covering them up.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Cool and relaxing xmas game.

Good job!

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:06pm

It's hard to know which one you need to use to make a combo but it's rewarding when you do it :)

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Nice game, illustrates also that I have the memory of a goldfish.

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Neat game! I like the little music jingle when you select the right combination of colors and the idea of revealing a winter landscape in the background is nice! Obscuring the hints by making them orbit each other or being stuck in the snow adds enough challenge without making it frustrating. Although sometimes I didn't understand what order the colors had to be select in. Good job!

rabbit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Very odd. Youre right about it being more of a toy than a game. I don't really get anything out of it.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:46pm

I thought it was for each half of a window at first, since the balls appeared there. Worked fine for the first two ;) Then I realized it didn't matter. I nice take on the old memory game. Another thing you could do is have colored symbols as decorations and make the 3d models match the symbols, etc.

Snicklodocus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Good game - gets me into the winter spirit! Interesting take on the classic Memory game. I liked the piano, but wish the eggs outside were more winter themed.

vinull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:37am

Interesting idea on a memory game, though I really didn't have to memorize anything it still felt like that type of game.

PapaCheech says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:11am

Took a while but I beat it!

madlee says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:14am

Nice game, very simple but pleasant to play!

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:06am

Cute, I like the snowflakes. :) At one point I thought I was stuck near the end because the translucent(?) tiles look like they should have a color, it was just a little confusing -- like those tiles were broken or something. Good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:48am

Thanks all for your kind comments. Was hoping to have better/more christmassy 3d things outside, had made a bendy jumping tree in Blender a few days before Compo, but couldn't include that and knew it would take me about 3 hours to get it done again ;)

@snickersnaks the transparent decorations are for opening the windows to sneak a look... but there are only 5 and once gone they're gone.

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:41am

I like the idea a lot but after a few tries I was able to work it on and remove some pieces hehe. Really nice integration with the background :D. I like it a lot. Congratulations!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I think I will make a post-compo version of this... Some animated 3D things in the garden... Thank you all for the encouragement to do this!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Solid puzzle game

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Nice puzzle game. A bit confusing at first. Pretty good in overall!!!

sebasRez says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:41pm

I couldn't really tell what the stickers were supposed to be but It's a nice combination of mixing 2D and 3D which worked well. Also think the instructions were a good addition but a bit more of a intro tutorial would be nice to get an insight of what the game will be about because at first glance I was not sure what to do. The effects were also really nice which added juiciness to it.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:09pm

The game was nice, but I did not like the guess work. Sometimes a part of the hint was hidden behind a flag. But still nice and unique in many ways. I liked the nice piano music, the bad one however urgs :(

Anachron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Nice use of sound and colors and I love the Christmas theme :)

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Neat idea and really cool hint system for the puzzles. Nice work.

kipelovets says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Not bad puzzle

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:01pm

A charming little casual game with a neat twist to the stuff matching mechanic.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:10pm

interesting puzzle game. took me a little bit to figure it out

WiErD0 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Really fun, love the ending. The only thing I didn't like is that I could never find out which color was first and I got it wrong most of the time. If there was a pattern, I couldn't figure it out.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:25pm

I enjoyed figuring out how to play and thought the reward of hearing a jaunty tune was nice, however in some cases the flags obscured the clues in the environment which turned it into a guessing game. Some sort of penalty for screwing up would make it feel more gamey I feel.

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Interesting little game. A bit confusing in the beginning.

drnick says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Quite limited, also the idea overall is quite nonsensical. Perhaps you could explore this nonsense idea and make something dada.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Decent theme, good reward sound, simple enough mechanics.

Nothing to really draw you in to keep you playing though - nothing about scrolling through to find the colours of the ornaments is enjoyable. Maybe if they had musical tones when you hovered over them, it'd be more interesting to search out the colours you need.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Nice one

XenosNS says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:40am

Interesting idea, liked that

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:32am

very chill, not immediately obvious what needed to happen but the help button helped.

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:07am

Nice game, but the third game didn't spawned :( Check my game too: President's bodygurad simulator.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:09am

It's a good holiday puzzle game. It has a nice bit of advent calendar feel to it too.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:19am

nice puzzle..

igoramendola says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Interesting concept. I just read that you wanted to use xmas trees dancing in the background and certainly would look great. I think the game is promissing and is worth to work more on it to finish those kind of details. Nice work :D

maddogawl says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Good game, my son liked it a lot as well!

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Interesting concept, good effort for a solo entry. Nice job.

bushmango says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Once you figure out how to play it, this game becomes kind of repetitive.

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:47am

This game was really hard for me, i think its a great idea though! The window opening couldve had some cool effects to make it more "chilly" :)

Nice job!

Kitch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:51am

Nice little puzzle game with a cool look and feel. Good job. Thanks!

dekart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:48pm

I didn't get how to play, ended up clicking everything in random order.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Nice use of audio feedback.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:45pm

I like puzzles)

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:14am

WoW, not bad, really cool game!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:41am

Interesting little game, it took a while for me to get the hang of it. Nice!

Scam says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:12am

Bit confusing at the start. After understanding the idea the game became quite dull.

doos says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:29pm

I think my mum would love it.. She loves matching games and doesn't have the dexterity or eyesight for most games.

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Nice variation on Simon Swipe mechanic. Little confusing at first

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Very Christmas-ey. The audio is great. The animation cues are a little confusing, especially when the mouse leaves a sticker, and it shrinks suddenly.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Nice idea, the sound was a bit annoying. :)

Mekuri says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Nice little game. I found it slightly hard, because I was using my laptop playing this :P All in all a decent game.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Pretty cool! The hints could have been a little less abstact (maybe snowmen with coloured features?) but apart from that the game was interesting to play. It could have also used a clock to time how long it took you to solve the whole thing. I liked the musical sound effects, I always mean to do that but I've only done it like, once. :P

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:05am

ô_ô that was weird.

asobitech says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:29am

Needs a mobile port. Nice and simple once you get it.

Demy says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:25pm

At first it was frustrating but them i got how to play. Nice game

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Was confused at first but figured it out. Not a bad little puzzler.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Really liked it, didn't find it as difficult as others say. The piano bits are awesome!

Warpgames says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:28am

Good idea i guess, but... Sounds and graphics could be better in my opinion. Mechanics are not that obvious. But overall good game nontheless. Especially for compo.

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Neat little time waster, it does get a bit repetitive though. Would be nice if there was a new part of the song each time you get a sequence right, and of course the hints outside the window could use more variety instead of just "find the very obvious balls and then the matching colors", but I like the idea behind this, it could turn into something really fun for kids :)

Almax27 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Interesting mechanics although confusing at first, and that fail sound :(

JFern says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:41am

Nice holiday touch! Hard to understand what the orders were with the hints but eventually got it. Pretty awesome! (I really like the piano when I got things right and what happens in the end!)

FistBumpGames says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Kinda like a memory with colors, pretty straightforward. The sounds/music are nice, but a bit short though, maybe play longer sounds the more points you gain(?). liked the mood of the game!

dunin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:07pm

really simple and weird. Needs more gameplay (differents hints, ...)

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:35am

Pretty cool game, took me a little while to figure it out but once I did and beat the game I didn't have much reason to play it again. That being said there was obviously a time restraint and I'm sure you would have had different background hints if you had more time. Very good work, thanks for making this :)

Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:11pm

good puzzle

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:10am

Cute! Could probably use some polish, maybe nicer looking graphics or something.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:03am

Interesting. I liked the sounds, and it was fun once I figured out what I needed to be doing. I only ever figured out half the logic though, I never quite got a handle on how the clues related to the clicking order. Maybe it was the orbiting distance or the order left-to-right across the screen, but I couldn't say for certain. Also, I found the choice of graphics a bit odd. It's a cool concept though.

Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Nice sounds, graphics, and original gameplay. But I just didn't find it fun, sorry.

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Interesting approach, perhaps for mobile devices would be easier to play and funnier but nice idea¡

nsindrajith says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 3:55pm

nice cool game...

T1MGames says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Cool game, took me a while to get the hang of it, but then it was fun.

Poupi says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:05am

Good Job! ;)

efux says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Took me a minute to get the conecept, but after that it's a lot of fun =D

Dunric says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:09am

Nice!

Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:59pm

this was interesting took me a while to figure what to do but when i did i found my self playing for like 10 min hahaha :D. good entry.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Took me a few tries coming back here and then back to the puzzle before I figured out what was going on. Instead of using up the clear tape guys, I wish you could just click the latch to open the window. Sometimes it was pretty tough figuring out which order the colored balls were supposed to be in, but once you "get it" the puzzles get pretty easy. Nice that it finishes with Jingle Bells!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:15pm

really nice cool game

Xanjos says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:26am

Pretty interesting little match game. I really liked the Christmassy mood you've put into it (especially the music).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]