Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Icing on the Cake

by Binary Gambit - Jam Entry

CONCEPT: I wanted to try out an idea about "Subjective Scoring". Basically you decide what your score is, and if you think you can do "better" keep playing. Can you build, in your opinion, the "perfect" snowman?

This game was created at the Frankfurt Real World Gathering, hosted at LAB75.

Control the wind using the mouse, collect necessary items, and build your snowman by rolling your snowball into the goal area.

Once you have made a snowman, drop a 4th ball into the goal area to reset the game. If you get stuck you can press 'r' to reset the game.

Press "escape" to return to the menu.

CAN YOU MAKE A "PERFECT" snowman?

-------------------------------------------
All coding done by me (Abregado @BinaryGambit)
All graphics done by Claudiace (@Cal_Cla)
-------------------------------------------

Known Bugs:
Sometimes when the game loads or resets it will hang for a few seconds. Don't worry it will come back.
Sometimes the items will get placed under the obstacles.. sorry!

Special thanks to LAB75 for hosting the event

Other LAB75 Event games include:
LethalMaze
Snamwons Revenge
A Carrot Game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#113Innovation(Jam)3.76
#132Graphics(Jam)4.10
#133Theme(Jam)4.00
#149Overall(Jam)3.69
#287Fun(Jam)3.34
#311Humor(Jam)2.96
#327Mood(Jam)3.29

Comments

Kevin_twenty7 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I Really liked it had fun

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40am

The art is gorgeous in this one and the idea is just charming! One of my favorites for sure :)

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40am

I gotta give this my full love! Was awesome working with you and your game turned out to be a real gem.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Really liked your art style, its very pleasing to look at. Good job!

CWolf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Nice game! Enjoy playing it =).

gladers says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:24am

Great job! Great fun making lots of crazy snowmen :D

ramyaanudeep says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:08am

funnny and intresting

aare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:20am

Nicely done. Especially the icing effect.

piotrevic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:26am

Cool graphics and good fun.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:29am

Very pretty, and it's fun to roll the ball around. Once one of the pieces spawned in the tree so I couldn't get it :(

DevWouter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:33am

The idea of wind creating a snowman is weird, just imagine you wake up after a winter blizzard and finding out that the world is covered with snowman :) The game is well executed and looks nice, but I wish it had more of a game feel to it. Having a subjective scoring mechanism didn't work for me.

Rowan123 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:41am

I really loved the game! You can see my playthrough here: http://goo.gl/VYOP7A

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:43am

I like the graphics. fun game overall

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I liked the graphical atmosphere you've made. Those snowalkes flying through your screen, that artstyle.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Thanks for all the comments. I do wish that I had time to add sound effects. Sorry to hear the subjective scoring didn't work for everyone (probably should have expected that)

admix says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Sweet! I like the tail and the particles make it much clearer about the direction of the wind! ^___^

nuno says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Awesome! Hi-five from another Löver :D

Damdoshi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:09pm

This is fun and pretty. The control is nice and the whole idea is innovative. I like it. : o

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:29am

Great art! I liked the idea a lot. I've some good fun playing it :)

ilokimo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:31am

Really good game design exploration. The game is interesting and would deserve some additional exploration. Just a little music would do so much for the mood.

Rothens says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:15am

Good one! :D

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:42pm

This was pretty and challenging. Lovely job!

b2 says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 8:37pm

couldn't play (mac)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]