Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Scan Lines

by KilledByAPixel - Compo Entry

HOW TO PLAY

* A scan line sweeps across the screen, creating and destroying the world.
* The scan line destroys any blue box it touches which instantly kills you.
* Touching a blue boxes saves your game.
* Use WASD, arrow keys, or gamepad to play.

This is a fairly short game with some difficult platforming challenges but many incremental saves. The LD48 version contains 30 levels. Also you are a snowman, don't ask why. Good luck!

Thanks for all the great comments and suggestions! I put up an enhanced version with some bug fixes, better platforming mechanics, cleaner level design, preview of the save points, and a new death transition. I will continue to work on it and keep that link updated with the latest version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#15Innovation4.38
#27Theme4.41
#47Overall3.91
#58Fun3.82
#130Mood3.53
#202Graphics3.71
#363Humor2.79
#480Audio2.85

Comments

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:43am

The difficulty ramps really quickly after level 4, but nevertheless fun :)

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55am

Very interesting concept and interesting implementation!

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I really like the idea behind this. The scan line mechanic is super clever. Being able to see a transparent copy of the next scan added a lot to the game. The difficulty is somewhat high.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:12am

good idea, good style. I don´t like the level design, but maybe it´s just to confusing because of lack of sleep :)

Leo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:16am

Clever idea, interesting game.

I don't know if it's because my computer somehow can't handle the graphics but the controls felt really sluggish. I wasn't able to beat a level because it needed me to jump with precision I didn't have. I was able to enjoy the game until then, however.

Excellent presentation.

lonewookie says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23am

I love the concept but it's a little slippery and hard after level 4.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:26am

great job

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

Thanks guys! I hear you on the difficulty, I need to tighten the platforming mechanics and improve level design. I was really rushed especially with level design. I'm still kind of wrapping my head around how to make best use of the primary mechanic.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30am

I noticed a pretty major bug with keyboard controls that may be causing players to have a worse experience. I mostly tested with a gamepad. I put up a link to an enhanced version with hopefully somewhat better controls.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:32am

Very Clever game. Im a fan.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:17am

Great innovation! It gets pretty difficult but it's still fun. Good job!

zakchaos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:20am

amazing use of theme well done, graphics were simplistic, but very well used, brilliantly done!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:13am

Creative and unique idea! Way to get a lot of levels on one screen!

Jaloko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:33am

Enjoyed playing this game, very fun.

Crefossus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:18am

Excellent job with the theme and great game design. I love the forgiving checkpoints that don't make you needlessly redo puzzles you have already solved. Extremely rewarding to play.

The particles and lighting are very well done. I love the graphics consistency overall, although the snowman does stand out a little. I think he fit better as crisp pixels instead of the AA.

The audio is probably the weakspot, but it's not too grating.

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:29am

windows only :(
watched the youtube video. feels awesome.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:51am

Very hard but definitively cool !

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:37pm

This was quite neat, and pretty difficult but fun, nice job!

NuSan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Good concept and interesting levels. Keep up the good work

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Bloody hell this game is hard. I also didn't like that it's a bit about premonition: You need to know in advance what's gonna happen, cause if you respond, you'll be too late. That said, I found it really innovative, nice concept, decent graphics.
For me, you could've made it a little easier and a little slower paced, but other than that, nice effort and very unique~!
(Check my entry too! it also has scanlines! :P)

glaze_96 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Awesome in every way!
I don't think that the difficulty is a problem because of the quick resets of the levels.
The only thing I didn't like was the controls. I like my controls a bit more responsive, but every one has their own taste.
Hope you had a fun time making the game! :)

Really interesting concept btw!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:25am

Hey interesting concept and great execution. I found it hard to understand why I was dying at the beginning (especially when it was because the scanline had destroyed the pellet). I found the controls a bit slide-y and the jump seemed somehow delayed.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:26am

Really like this one. I'm a fan of platforming, especially on the trickier side. This one wasn't super punishing, which was nice. Sometimes you couldn't react until after you've seen the scanline play out, but there were places whre I saw you indicated future platforms and things, which was cool. Maybe try and make that more obvious.

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Funny character and good controls!only thing that's missing is music.Great overall!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:33pm

love it, it's challenging, awesome visuals, solid gameplay, well done :)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:23am

Love the idea, it's new and it's brilliant. I think shoehorning in the snowman was a bit awkward, but the game itself has a lot of promise, I think the only difficult thing is being able to properly preview when a section is going to go away, it was really hard to see.

I really hope you take this mechanic and keep pushing it. I think it's got a lot of promise :D

rabbit says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:43am

Awesome game and one of the better ideas from this jam. It needs a little fine tuning, and it would be nice to know where the blue square would spawn in before hand so you can sorta plan your path to it. Its mostly trial and error right now.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:11am

Thats really great. Would be awesome if there was a full length game like that. Make more levels, upgrade graphics and sell it!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:55am

Ha! Level 11 can be skipped!
Very fun, and a good take on the theme. I like how it escalated at the end.

kaa says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:20am

Canot run, but saw video game play. This game looks fantastic! Game design, level design, whole idea is very interesting

ghostonline says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:39am

Really love your take on the theme

Gins says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:02am

That was a ride! Really cool use of the theme, and I finally beat it! Only thing that bugs me is the weird physics where the character acceleration and deceleration don't match up at all, which makes it very hard to time your jumps. That may come down to preference though, and the rest of the game was still brilliant.

Larzan says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:56am

This is the best theme implementation i have seen so far, very good, love it! Great visual style too, level switching, puzzles, all in all a really great game, you should add a few more levels and publish it big time.
Oh, and +1 for the snowman of course ;)

exoddinary says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:19am

To be honest, I might do not know how to play the game if you didn't post the animated gif version. And yay I finished the game with just 73 tries

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Really cool game! Liked the whole idea! Really hard to finish it but i managed to do it after 60 deaths! :D

Great entry! :)

Kovalsky says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Your game awesome

Tifu says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:05pm

61 deaths! Made it! That was awesome, great use of theme, really challenging! Great job!

nosfer says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Fun. Dificult, Irritating, but fun :) Finished with 80 deaths :)

Sestren says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:35am

This is my favorite take on the theme thus far. The timeout-related deaths confused me at first, but everything else was easy enough to understand. Pretty difficult, but very fun.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Very cool idea, nice take on the theme. Love the presentation - the lighting effects and stuff are really cool. Fun gameplay too, even if sometimes its a bit tricky to parse whats going on with all the platform changes, and the insta-deaths when you take too long are a bit confusing. Nice job though!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Fantastic, simply fantastic game.

P.S. Your game will be in my next video (episode #4).

Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:51pm

I recorded while I played the game: http://youtu.be/_wJdWK9gO-U

Really, really cool game. For some reason the controls took some time for me to get used to, but the idea of the scan lines is soo good! I think it could be worth investigating letting them be slower, so that there's a bigger chance you might figure out what to do on the first try, because like this it almost became like you needed to die once just to have an idea of what would happen on the next level. On the other hand, this speed gives it much greater replayability and I'd love to see a speed run of this! Very, very well done.

taviandir says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:43pm

nice concept but i couldnt get past level 4 no matter how fast I was :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]