Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Star Grabber

by mtinkerhess - Compo Entry

Grid-based puzzler. Collect all the stars to make you a winner!

Used Unity, Paint.NET and Kontakt.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#308Fun3.36
#342Audio3.06
#523Mood2.96
#539Humor2.50
#578Overall3.18
#779Innovation2.81
#944Graphics2.48
#1080Theme2.94
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56am

A fun game! Felt good to figure out the puzzles. Very nice going.

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

The player tends to do strange stuff when I press more than one arrow key at once, and the physics/mechanics of the moving "ball" in the room seemed really weird to me (I tried to use it like in 2D Zeldas, to make it a wall but it just got pushed again ?)

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:59am

I found this pretty fun. The puzzles were really well constructed, and the different mechanics made it more varied than I originally expected, plus the controls had no problems at all. The music was alright too, but the graphics were a little too basic for my liking. Overall, I did find it enjoyable and it fits the theme well.

If you continue working on it, I'd definitely say change the graphics, but other than that, great job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:01am

Neat puzzles! I like how the blue areas force you to think about what you are going to do. I wish the exits looked different from the entrances :)

Gins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:01am

Pretty cool. The first half of the puzzles were quite on the easy side but now I'm stumped at Star#15. Hmmmm.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09am

@sam101 Thanks for the feedback! There are some glitches in the movement under certain circumstances but hopefully not game breaking stuff, if I had more time I would love to have smoothed that out. I didn't check how the movable blocks work in Zelda, in this game they should slide on ice, and get pushed by you when you're sliding on ice. In Zelda maybe you would be able to slide up to one and it would stop you?

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:25am

Interesting - really enjoyed what I played. After I got to 7, none of the levels had stars anymore? Also had some minor movement bugs at this point.

After going through 3 empty levels it restarted the game? Perhaps I'm missing something and this was supposed to happen / some stars were hidden.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:38am

@stephenhaney Thanks for playing! I think you might have started going backward through the game instead of forward. The stars are gone because you already collected them. internetspaulicy had an excellent suggestion to make the entrances and exits different colors. Next time I guess!

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:39am

Ah, that would explain it! That's pretty funny - I'll give it another shot and keep track of which direction I'm going :D

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11am

Loved the audio in this. The puzzles were pretty cool. The controls were fairly sloppy, a few more hours focus on those would have helped a lot.

Jhandsy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19am

The puzzles were great! I was super engrossed until the enemies were introduced, then the challenge just flew away. Also I accidentally went into the final portal before I got the star and it took me back to the title screen without an obvious way to get back!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:42am

Nice little puzzle! I felt like the character could have moved a little bit faster but the puzzles were great.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Clever game, past the 4th level it gets challenging.

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52am

Lots of fun! I got 20 stars, but couldn't make it to the exit. :P
The movement is glitchy if you try to do diagonals, or along some walls.
It would be nice if "up" and "down" warps were different colors.
The mechanic needed to get star 19 was a little too cheaty for my tastes.
Overall, great game! Would love to see tighter mechanics though.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Hi there. Very elegant tutorial, level design, level switching, restart level... all integrated, very clever. Like the sounds/electric guitar also. Good job!

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:06am

Don't see how this fits the theme however it is such a great game. I usually don't finish LD games, this one I did.

resty says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:26pm

It's fun to solve those puzzles, not hard for me(I hate difficult problem).
Except for some movement glitches, everything is good.

Wakka says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:54pm

funny, but first levels are a bit too repetitive

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:54pm

It's pretty fun, wish there was a bit more action though!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Nice puzzler and good gameplay!

Well done!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:56am

Well thought out puzzles.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]