Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Oaneskryne

by yoanndeplo - Jam Entry

Hello ! This is my third LD and I hope that you will enjoy my game : "Oaneskryne". I used "RPG maker VX ace", "la boîte à couleurs" (yes, it's a french software) and "Mumble" (to record my voice, I used it once in the game) to make this game. This game is made for windows, but works with others OS if you use wine. If you see a bug or a mistake, report it and I will fix it.

NB : I'm translating my game into english, it will be avalaible this week (I hope) !
*Update* It's done (thanks reverso ^^) !


Now, let me explain you how my game works with the theme :

You have joined an expedition that leads to the Oaneskryne (pronounced "One screen") island, but you're not alone on this island ... So, we can say that the entire game is on Oaneskryne ! Yeah, I play with phonology and I'm a charlatan, but it's allowed (in my opinion) ^^.


Enjoy !

Yoanndeplo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#679Mood(Jam)2.80
#745Humor(Jam)2.09
#904Fun(Jam)2.43
#953Overall(Jam)2.54
#973Innovation(Jam)1.96
#1004Theme(Jam)2.07
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Cute entry, but it crashed when I reached the dragon.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Can you give more details ? Does it crashes every time you tried or just once ? Is there an error message when it crashes ? I don't have this bug when I test my game, so help me to fix it !

Reyn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Hi. I love rpg games. I believe the start is a little bit too mazey. I like seeing story, which you had but I think not enforce enough, maybe the guy at the boat could have mentioned something about your journey. I'm not sure what rpg maker gives you so I don't know how much of the map you made, but the scenario with the hay and fire was interesting. Unfortunately I couldn't pass the screen with 3 colored buttons, I believe I tried all the different orders but the red button kept popping out. If I had to make an rpg game for ludum dare I think I'd make it finishable in 5 to 10 minutes, there is so many games to play that people might lose interest if they get lost in a maze expecting story. Thanks!

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Thanks for the feedback ! If you want the solution for the buttons, here it is (SPOIL !!!) :
1)Press the red button
2)Press the yellow button
3)Press the blue button
4)Move forward the door to open it
If you pressed the yellow button, the red won't works, so unpressed the yellow button.

And yeah, I realized that my game was too long, I will try to make a shorter one next time !

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Nice game! It's a little too long the first part in the wood but nice setup. Well done!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:00pm

nice entry...and good rpg one..

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:04am

Cool, really cool! :D

drilltail says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:41am

Cool game!

The problem isn't really the length itself (in my opinion anyway), it was more of how tedious finding the two items in the first map is, as well as experimenting with the button puzzle.

That poor flame monster... I feel bad for him. Kind of.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:29am

Nice game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]