Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Shinobi Showdown

by CustomPhase - Compo Entry

Physics based, ragdoll fighting game.
All the instruction are in game (presss H on the title screen).
Ragdoll's behaviours are not perfect, but its the best i could achieve in such a small amount of time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#17Audio4.08
#30Fun3.94
#31Humor3.84
#64Overall3.84
#88Innovation3.96
#102Mood3.59
#121Graphics3.91
#965Theme3.22

Comments

misto423 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28am

This is pretty cool. Its a little hard to control though.

Pastry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:12am

At first a bit frustrating to figure out the controls, but eventually I figured it out and it could be a lot of fun multiplayer! Reminds me of a simplified Toribash.

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19am

Amazing, would be better to control on touch devices though

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:28am

Hahahahaha. Controls are hard but its fun to play it ^^

Jed T. says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:31am

I love the concept, the artwork is great and appealing. the music and sound is pleasant. but the core game it's It's to hard to master with a mouse. the AI is frustratingly too good. maybe putting a practice dummy at the first fight?

myachin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:22pm

great!

gallerdude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Awesome concept, a tad difficult to control.
Great graphics & sound!

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:40pm

It's ver very amazing game!!

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I'm cracking up here, that was hilarious, ha hahaha

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36pm

For 48h this is REALLY impressive. Reminds me of Rag Doll Kung Fu, just a bit more accessible. Music gets the blood pumping too!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Interesting game. Controls were novel, and I never quite figured out how to move. Nice idea and music.

lekochen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:45pm

LOL, I'm not sure how to fight properly but it's just fun mess around the ragdolls.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Ahaha I got myself into some rather compromising positions... Anyway this is extremely fun, nice work :D Audio is also really really great.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Hi there. Like the animations and graphics, nice sounds too. The ragdolls were hard to move around feeling in control.

ThatsMyJam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Hah cool concept. I think different buttons for each limb may work best

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:16pm

This was really fun! It took a while to learn how to play, but it was a fun trial and error process :)

well done!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Really fun, always like physics based games. I mostly tried to make my guy kick the enemy while moving, instead of actually attacking. Well done. :)

cyrus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:38am

This is ... f*ing ... HILARIOUS!!!! I want a multiplayer version :D I think the entertainment value in this game is just the impossible body positions experienced in the game :D

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:21am

Hilarious, fun, and addictive. What more could you want? Well, I guess I would like to win more. BUT NEVERTHELESS! Fantastic job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:25am

I totally love this. Absolutely.

It is supreme fun to just toss the ragdolls around via random line-drawing. The fact that you got the ragdoll physics this well implemented during a weekend is impressive. :D

The art was great, the sound was great, the humor was off the charts, and I just enjoyed it immensely overall! :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Great work for compo! The slow motion was well implemented, even though it was QWOP-style complicated to get a ninja to actually be successful with moves.

caporaltito says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Really nice game!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:42pm

wow game. Nice, I like it.

Pete_H says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Very innovative, but controls were tricky :(

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Very impressive and very hard! The computer kills me every time before I can get a move in, but I can't vote you down for my own lack of skill ;). As Jed T said, a practice mode would be good.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Pssst - You have been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-skEj9o26aE

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Great fun, slightly awkward to control but a good laugh. It feels as tough it would be more fun 2 player but then no slow-motion.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:01pm

QWOP Ninja is best game of Ludum Dare.
Seriously, A+ humor. Loads of fun.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Woah this was pretty hard to control - but that was also part of the charm! It felt like QWOP ninja haha.

The slow-motion made for some hilarious action moves. Great job with this!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:01am

the mechanics are a little hard to figure out but big marks for innovation - try my game you might like it

Simon says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:02am

Ahah this is so funny. Great job it's really cool to play.

Eduardo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:48pm

That's so funny!!

Maurogik says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:47am

That's quite and impressive game, character movements rae incredible !

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:55am

This was pretty fun but there's not much meat to it yet with just single player. It needed some crazier physics perhaps. There were moments where the ragdolls were crazy for sure but there velocity never really got very high they just kinda draped over each other. Multiplayer is going to be a major part of this game should you continue it.

-AlucardX60

Manderxan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:03am

Excellent game! But quite easy.
Make improvements to the opponent, maybe add a limit to the slow motion, throw in a campaign mode and your'e good to go!
Would love to see a variety of opponents, and character customization.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:54pm

A very nive mix of one finger death punch of toribash. I see we have the same tastes in games :D

The control could use some work, I didn't feel I was really in control of what was happening, but it was still fun to play so... good job!

I must admit I would be VERY surprised if you produced those sounds yourself during the 48h compo. It is much more likely that you took them from a site like freesounds.net (which is not allowed). So, just because I can't be 100% sure, I won't rate the audio category.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:22pm

And I take it back. Audio is now rated like any other category :)

apiotrw says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:14pm

I think you could work on the graphics

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Hahaha crazy and fun! I enjoyed fooling around with this one, some really insane moments. Nice work.

Nice graphics and sound, too.

rantt says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:30pm

The controls were difficult, but this game was just so much fun...lol. Great job :)

bobombe says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Controls seems a little random but that is very interesting. Graphics and music are awesome !

Scam says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I tried to press H at the title screen and nothing happened. Then I tried to play the game but I didn't understand the controls. Is there any way to go back to help screen once you are in the game?

JJEvil says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Red ninja dry humped me in the corner and there was nothing I could do but watch. Fun and funny.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:49pm

The controls are almost totally random, but the mood is here. And I won. :D

davient says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:11am

Loads of fun this. Once I'd messed around and found the right click, and most importantly space bar slow down! Would be good to show these briefly at the start (I know there is a Help function on the menu, but like many out there we all just dive in). Had a lot of fun making my shinobi immitate various streetfighter and mk moves :D.

Really look forward to what you do next with this. Naturally there are so many options. Aside from 1on1 combat I think a side scrolling beat em up like Shank would be fun! Great Job

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Game crashed... :C

Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:47am

Man, I love the music on this one, so cool! Such a silly, fun, game. Great job!

sirdorius says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Loved the absurdity of the fights! The music is great too! One of the funniest entries definetly!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:37am

Wahaha.

Dans17 says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 2:33am

Really fun game to play! I definitely want to see a larger post-compo version of this.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]