Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Laundry Day

by Omiya Games - Jam Entry

It's time to do your laundry! Remember to clean out the dryer's lint screen, and don't forget to IM to your friends about your wonderful adventure in the laundromat!

Too busy to wait for your current cycle to finish? Don't worry - you can close the game and come back later to collect your laundry.

The laundromat owners are not responsible for lost or stolen items, so please don't leave your clothes unattended for too long!

Laundry Day was created via a collaborative effort between the members of Tech Valley Game Space, an inclusive game development group and co-working space located in Troy, NY.
The Space Cadets who contributed to the game include:
* Jamey Stevenson (Spoony Bird)
* Taro Omiya (Omiya Games)
* Anthony Rossello (Brightstar)
* Ampera
* Chase Bethea
* Terence Tolman
* Phillip Demick
* Keith Morgado (Binary Takeover)

For more information about Tech Valley Game Space, please visit our Meetup page at:
http://www.meetup.com/TechValleyGameSpace/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#82Humor(Jam)3.73
#182Innovation(Jam)3.62
#366Theme(Jam)3.69
#439Overall(Jam)3.27
#446Audio(Jam)2.86
#447Mood(Jam)3.11
#496Fun(Jam)3.05
#719Graphics(Jam)2.78

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15am

Really cool game!

Try mine, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

5k0d says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Lol what a twist, wash ur tshirts = profit!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:50am

I got a Hybrid Cat in my lint trap :) Very cool little game

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:41am

Clever idea, but the game sort of locked up for me. I clicked on the phone and then opened a washer and both UIs were open. Then I could never leave the phone screen.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:40am

Good game! My favourite feature was the lint trap thought that was pretty cool! Overall solid effort, good entry!

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:03am

Funny commentary on social gaming.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:17am

Pogs and a Nuke in the same lint trap. Wanna play pogs? I dare you to beat me.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:00am

@spacedoubt All I get from this is a sad feeling.

Larzan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:13am

Nice sound, good idea and implementation, but the chatting thing did not work, i sent two messages and nothing ever came back, so i guess i kind of didn't see the whole point you wanted to make?

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Haha very fun (and very boring of course :P) little game! Why not doing the laundry while playing other Ludum Dare games? :D

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:51pm

A sad feeling?! I thought it was awesome!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:41pm

No problems, @spacedoubt, I knew you meant that in a positive. I was joking that one of the trinkets you can collect in the lint screen is "a sad feeling."

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Funny idea. I like how different it is from other games.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:00am

Well this was weirdly fun but the implementation is well done (especially the random stuff you can find in the lint traps) and you do have the theme nailed down really well.

egos says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:13pm

i laugth a lot thanks.
seriously good idea the multigaming with this background
Great job

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:20am

Really cool game! xD

Wampus says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:25am

Its like I was actually in a laundromat, getting annoyed at how long it was taking to wash clothes. Good, funny concept. Next game: Garbage day.

Dans17 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:34am

Well done, and enjoyable to play.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Intense clothes-washing action. I found a bag of chips in the lint trap & ate them while trying to change my ringtone.

sorlok says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:07am

Surprisingly fun! I love the feel of the game, and the stuff you find in the lint trap. Probably has the maximum "fun you're having" to "coolness of the thing you're doing" ratio.

Scam says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Very fun and very boring at the same time. Bravo!

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Got to 101 Coins fun game but it could of had some kind of mechanic where you payed monthly rent or something to spice the game up a bit. Got pretty boring is all. Played on stream and was fun! http://www.twitch.tv/integershift

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:46am

I'd do laundry every day if I found tons of change in the lint trap. What a strange game, I enjoyed it.

bogdan.tana says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Never thought a laundry day could be so fun lol. Congrats! :D

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Hehehe!! I can play this game the hole day! :-)
Cool sound effects!

Well made!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:43am

This game is a very fun, and I didnt expect this from laundary!=)
Simple, humorous, rewarding and addictive=)

Simon says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:25pm

This is actually pretty cool. I like the premise but I ended making huge laundries to gather lots of objects so that I could send text messages. Huge laundries taking more time I spent most of my time waiting :) Weird and in the end very close to the actual laundry day feeling. Well done.

Tuism says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Whether you intended or not, you've basically just made what almost every freemium bloody mobile game is these days :)

And on a fraction of the budget too! Well done! :)

wavertron says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:46pm

I found this game a little odd. I found myself waiting a little too much. eg the first cycle took like 2 minutes+ and I had nothing to really do. The text messages were a little slow and locked up one time. Still, there is a certain charm to this game.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:27pm

@Tuism Psst!
It's intended.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Remember laundry day? It's back, in game form!

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:20am

I found an Ice Cube in the lint trap!

Lynx says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:17am

Very humorous game concept, I kept finding myself washing clothes over and over without really know why I keep putting them back in! That's a sign of a great game!

I wish I had a pile of trinkets or something so I can look through see what I've gotten and how many I need

Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:56am

Nah, can't rate! Gotta do my laundry. :P

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Really good, absurdist fun! Amazing what you find in those lint trays..

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:31pm

@janovbyrnisson *sends a text message* Rate the game, man.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Hahaha, what a humor.
Pretty polished game, nice sounds, but I wish the gameplay was a little faster.
Neat idea. Great work!

hoqjed says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 5:46am

I found it interesting how sometimes a compelling narrative would be revealed through the phone/items every once in a while. I liked that approach and even though the game can be random it felt personal at times.

I was wondering where exactly those clothes were coming from however. I could swear I was just washing the same ones over and over haha.

Nice job on the audio too, everything was perfectly mundane. Matched the setting pretty well.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Interesting play while I play other games.

efux says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Nice laundry simulator! =D

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

This was goofy, and reminded me a bit of Work Time Fun, but there's a surprisingly nice friend on the other end of that phone that boosts the Mood score for this game too.

It feels silly to say this about a laundry simulator, but I'm really, really impressed. Amazing job!

Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Pretty cool concept! I like how you can spend money on the machines, but also profit from doing so. :)

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:20pm

This is weirdly relaxing. I love that I can do other things while playing it.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:49pm

cleaning the trap effect is awesome)))

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

The game feels very slow, the idea itself is clever but the lack of music and interactive makes the game loose its appeal after a while.

The idea that it works in real time is really clever though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]