Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Theyfend

by ghostinthesoft - Compo Entry

How to make an Entire Game on One Screen, with a title screen and an ending screen ? This is the answer.

To play, just use your mouse... but if you want a little hint, you can take control of a letter by clicking on it and you can move it by clicking somewhere else.

This game is very short but fully playable, I hope you will enjoy.

Comments are welcome !


Made with Stencyl, Aseprite, my mouth and my guitar.


SPOILER EDIT:

I like the games where you have to discover what to do, so I didn't want to tell too much... but if you are lost...

Look at the 4 title panels, they disappear when the letters are appearing. You can see panels are splitted in a particular way, so 2 of them can bring to the solution... so how to bring them back ? perhaps by making desappear some letters...

For controls, the A is special, it only do a back flip in a particular direction, but there is a reason, there is a spectator...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#237Theme3.88
#248Humor3.00
#255Audio3.21
#305Graphics3.50
#317Innovation3.47
#654Mood2.83
#955Overall2.79
#1024Fun2.47

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Fun quirky entry, wasn't sure what I was doing at the start but did have fun just seeing what would happen. Liked the way each letter had its own little character and the audio worked well in setting the mood.

liamtwose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Quite a unique air about it, like it.

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Looks nice, but i don't really know what to do...

elkiwydev says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:01pm

I do not understand what I have to do

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41pm

ok I will give you some hint: the goal is to show the end screen... look at the title screen and I think you'll get it !

JFern says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:57am

Quirky little game that reminded me of some ones I played as a kid!

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:57am

Very unique!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Very fun little game, I especially like the sounds!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Hi there. Love the animations, especially the P. Like the sounds too, especially the Y. Fun idea. Couldn't do much after moving the mole and bringing in the two panels. Good job, but beyond solving quickly for me.

MaesK says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Interesting puzzle. It's hard to understand at the beginning, specially the controls, but just touching around gives clues about what to do. Nice sounds, they're funny :D

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:53pm

really great. I didnt know what to do and I like it, what I tried to do is to make the word "play" in order. I loved the Leleleleleelele and the ieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. real funny, good in terms of innovation

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Demorei pra entender... mas depois gostei muito. Parabéns!

hexagore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:55pm

So quirky! I managed to figure out how to get the mole to swap sides and how to get the bird to fly... but still no closer to figuring out if there's even any sort of objective for this. I think the fact that it starts with 'play' is maybe all I needed to know really. Muck around, have fun. Which I did!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I like the silly sound effects. A bit too hard to figure out what to do. I started to figure it out, but having the letters hide there got frustrating because I couldn't get them back without restarting.

trykondev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I love the visual style, it was indeed a bit confusing to try and figure the game out but that's the appeal. Nice work

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:34am

Interesting entry!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:05pm

nice twist on gameplay.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:58am

I won but I don't exactly understand how I won. This was fun to play around with and figure out how the letters moved, though, and the audio was awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]