Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

AZOR

by Hellequin - Jam Entry

AZOR A GAME BY HELKEGAMES
MADE FOR LD 31

Year 2050
Galaxy M510

Captain Joe Park, member of ISLA (International scientific labs association), has been travelling for several months in the deep space... Destination: AZOR LAB.

Nobody knows what happened to the last expedition who visited AZOR... your mission? You must recover the lost files about the "experiment", remember you promised to your beloved that you would come back home alive... but you must be fast once you landed because oxygen is limited... Remember: You are the only one who can do it, Earth is counting on you!!

After 4 LDs HelkeGames is back with a new project: "Azor"!
I would have liked to make a longer story with other features but... We got only 72 hours so... we did our best! The theme was "Entire game on one screen" and I tried to use one screen for the whole game but I couldn't show all the rooms in one screen for 2 reasons: it would be a bit slowly to load all the instances in the same room and... Since I tried to make a great story (even if short) I don't want to spoil it... Players shall finish the game and see the end by themselves!

Thanks everybody for making every LD so awesome! You guys rock!

COMMANDS:

- ARROWS TO MOVE
- Z TO JUMP

HELKEGAMES TEAM

- Giuseppe "Joe" Recupero 조셉 CEO - Concept/Story - Art - Programming

- Claudio Palana - Art - Splash Screens - Music - Trailer

Have fun with AZOR!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#194Mood(Jam)3.51
#249Graphics(Jam)3.77
#287Audio(Jam)3.24
#458Overall(Jam)3.25
#511Fun(Jam)3.03
#693Humor(Jam)2.21
#796Innovation(Jam)2.54
#1012Theme(Jam)1.99

Comments

Gandalf1209 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Very well done! Very fun to play. It was short, but I wouldn't be able to expect more from someone in Ludum Dare. I was thrilled at the amount of level design put into a game in such a short amount of time! Good job guys!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Thank you so much! I checked your game and It was very well made too! In the last LD I also used Java to program! I liked it ! I know... I wanted to make a bigger game but this was only for LD!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I like it - fun to play! Graphics are great as well!

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Nope, a .exe won't run on OSX/Linux...

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Doesnt really fit the theme, but its moody. Gj.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Interstellar(movie) team should hire you! Good job

Aevek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Aesthetically awesome, but really could have benefited from some kind of tutorial or other guidance. I found myself wondering what I was supposed to do for quite a while until I figured it out by chance. Perhaps some indication of direction to travel, or something that would show that the buttons on the wall can be pushed?

xTacobaco says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Awesome graphics

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Works fine under GNU Linux using Wine.
Great intro and fine gameplay.

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Amazing level design ! It's awesome, like it so much. But I think it doesn't really respect the theme.
Anyway, nice job :D

AinaSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:01pm

.exe worked nice in linux for me (with wine, maybe?)

Doesn't fit the theme but it has a nice mood. The music made me nervous and i'm too bad at platformers to pass from the first one, but i loved the lighting.

Blockers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:04pm

a surprising amount of narrative (for a ludum dare game) really helped set the mood! the use of music and lighting really helped too, along with the simple but clean artstyle.
my only complaint is that i don't really feel like it follows the theme. good work!

ijwu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Awesome atmosphere going on here. The music really contributed to the 'being rushed' feeling. The level design is good but it otherwise shares many similarities with other 2d platformers. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, though.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Woah, the music and graphics are really good and it has good gameplay. But I do wonder little about the theme

guldlock says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:07pm

I really like the main character because he/she reminds me of one of my first games! Well done!

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Awesome game! A little short but the oxygen tank and the level design makes it so you really feel the pressure :D
Loved it!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Love it! Cool graphics and gameplay. But... "entire game in one screen"... Anyway, congratulations for the good job!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Thank you guys for the great comments... I know I also wonder about the theme but I explained why I chose to don't keep the game in only one screen! I'm going to play your games so... Thank you again! ^^ - HelkeGames

Croze says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Just wanted to say that you commented on my game "WEll done! Great game!" but you never played the game. I have been waiting in the lobby and no new servers were made. I highly advise against rating games without playing them, you'll get disqualified quite quickly.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:22pm

The art is amazing!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:31pm

I played and rated your games as well.... In fact I left a positive comment....

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Nice intro, great music.
Really well made classic style platformer, its not easy to design good levels like this.

Nardom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:48pm

The music in combination with the ever dropping oxygen bar really gave me the feeling of a need to rush trough. Short, but nice!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:34am

The game had a nice design and good art work though I was let down a little after the intro cause the music and art was so good then the music just stopped. But overall good work.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:50am

Love the mood! Very well done. Some of the jumps are rather hard!

Nelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59am

Oh my god! I really love this art! fck yeah!

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:10am

Wonderful graphics and smooth gameplay, you should make a post-jam entry with more content and special effects.

gmaker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:38am

very cool game! mood as well. I loved graphics. good job!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:25am

A treasure hunt AND a time limit? Ouch. I found only one of the three files before making it to the exit, so...whoops!

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:48am

Excellent game, some of the jumping platform stuff shit me to tears but it was worth it. Great Job.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:50am

nice platforming game, i was excited due to the relation of interstella. Neato game!

woz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:08am

Great job, there's some really good level design in here. Great atmosphere to it all, too

locknic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:28am

There is a LOT of level art in this game, but the bad movement really put me off. He needs some acceleration in there. Plus maybe jump animations might make it feel better. The music felt a bit too frantic. I feel like the game would be better with a more ambient feel without the oxygen timer and some calmer music. More exploration based. Other than that, good job! I got 2/3 of the files.

skonkan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:45am

Great game, Looks good, nice intro.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Nice little game! Good atmhmosphere too, the music fits in perfectly!

renatopp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00pm

What I really missed is some visual feedback of which "hole" in the platform will kill me. Nice Job, it is a good game.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Very nice. Too bad [Z] for Jump, as my keyboard locks at z+left, so jumping left is very difficult. But very nice gameplay.

BobMorate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Nice entry overall! I wasn't able to beat it, though. I got stuck on the part where you collect some oxygen and then there's a huge gap below :(

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:34pm

@bobmorate You mean "the red level" ?! You have to push the botton that you find beside the oxygen ^^ btw thank you very much!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47pm

How to open a .rar on Mac?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15pm

pretty nice game. and quite polished :D

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:19pm

OS/X and Linux can't natively run .exe files, only with Wine or some other derivative.

Other than that, great game! I had a few problems with ladders but other than that it's pretty fantastic ;D

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Great polish overall, and love the intro and story. Gameplay is pretty solid although I have some reservations about the music. It broke the mood for me and sounded like there were 2 tracks playing over each other?

It was either a bug or our tastes in music differ. Either way, it's a relatively minor complaint and i still like the game :) Good job.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I know they can't natively run a .exe file you have to download other derivates to open it. For open a .rar file you should download a .rar extractor ^^ but you can play it !! Thank you for the great comment I also loved your game :') !

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25pm

My team mate made the levels soundtrack at last so we couldn't do better or change it ... I know.... it seems there are to tracks but actually it's just the rhythm ... Anyway glad that you liked it :')

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Amazing visual. It is clear you put a lot of effort to it.

Kim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Short and sweet. Really good atmosphere. I felt lonely and that music worked really well. Tight controls and super nice art!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Cool! Nice graphics.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Awesome game :) love it

cyrus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:03am

Quite the "large" game for such a short time! Music gets a bit annoying at times, but generally a very well polished game. Which is amazing given the time limit. Does not really fit the theme though.

bitapps says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:16am

nice job! the youtube trailer is fantastic, great team work.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:09am

Really liked the in game artwork, the cutscenes seemed strange to me though. I got to a point where I had no idea where to go or what to do, I stopped there.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:11am

I like the story and graphics. But the game seems too difficult for me... I can not jump over the multiple platform in one of the rooms...

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:43pm

If you are stucked in the "red room", you have to push the botton beside the oxygen in the same room to unlock the platforms ^^

Rulrite says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Very nice game! I liked the pressure of the time limit, although I feel that the game could have benefited from less linear and more open level design because of it (in-keeping with the idea of exploration).

Fantastic job with the mood and the narrative; I haven't seen many ludum dare games that attempt to establish such a strong atmosphere.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Good job guys :) i like graphics x) keep goin !

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice game :) I enjoyed it but I only found 2 files :D

Night says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Thank you. You've made a feeling of a big game inside a small one. Nice story. But gameplay is very linear and simple. Maybe you would like to add some puzzle elements and to develop this game futher?

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Fun game! I really loved the lighting and levels too - I agree, really impressive to be done in such a short amount of time. Nice work!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:14am

It looks and feels very good. Too bad, it's not actually on one screen. The text in the beginning was a bit to fast. Make it slower or let the player decide to go further by button press. But all in all good job :)

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:44am

Really good job! I liked it a lot. The art was quite good. Congratulations!

sebasRez says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Interesting game, not sure how it is one screen but the mood is really well done. The music can be sometimes a bit off key it seems and the controls could be tighter but it's a nice exploration based game

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Nicely polished stuff here. Nice pixel art and lighting effects. The music is a bit random sometimes but the discordant bits sort of add to the intense atmosphere. Solid controls too. Nice work!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:16am

Nice overall experience. Neat. Thank you for your comment about my game ++

gre says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:21pm

incredible soundtrack.
Very moody game.
Also a great work on graphics and level design.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Actually...to say..
That is FUN..

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:08am

Hi there, I quite liked your game. It... didn't adhere to the theme at all, but that's kinda minor. I really liked the atmosphere you set up, but even after getting all 3 files I still have no idea what happened? It's a bummer that nothing is explained, but you were extremely time limited. :P

The art really blew me away - I loved the attention to detail on the backgrounds, levels and space. The lights were a good help in finding where to go next in some of the more ambiguous parts of the game - I'm glad you thought about that. The splash screens were painted well, your artist is very talented!

I wasn't too sure about the music, but it kind of grew on me. It was a little atonal and it didn't keep to the beat, but I eventually started thinking that it helped the unsettling atmosphere in its own way.

Overall a great effort, I enjoyed the pressure that the time limit imposed - even if some of the objectives weren't exactly obvious. Keep up the good work for the future!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:29am

Loved the atmosphere, the music was very well chosen. It does a good job to reinforce the tension of oxygen levels. Have you played Asphyx by droqen?

Minor complaint: the intro was not skip-able, and there was no way to restart the game. I got to a point where I felt completely stuck, and I started over to see if I had missed something. The intro, which I enjoyed the first time through, is quite long.

I experienced a weird glitch where the character would start walking right kind of at random, and this made the game unplayable. By that point I had already experienced enough of it to be satisfied, though ^o^//

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Not really in one screen though, but it's ok. I like the graphics and the atmosphere. Congrats! :)

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:49pm

I expected a mystery but then the jumping sound kind of... didn't fit the style I was expecting based on start screen. This isn't my type of game. Why I could find oxygen items from there? Why are these platforms here..?

This doesn't mean that you wouldn't have done a good job. I think there's tons of work: story, levels, animations, and everything that's all put together on such a short time.

alvarop says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:07am

There's some cool stuff going in this game. I'm going to have to give it a go later, but from what I saw until now, seems cool to me!

sorlok says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:28am

Has everything a good game should: tight controls, a nice establishing introduction, time pressure (but not unfairly so) with the oxygen vials, and cool visuals. Oh, and I love how lighting was used to hint at the locations of the platforms in the jumping sections. Bravo!

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:39am

Solid game! Good difficulty, great (and intense) music, and nice art in there. Some of the puzzles are not very intuitive (like the switch to unlock the drop tunnel about halfway through the game), but all in all it was a fun experience!

acro says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Good atmosphere and sense of tension. The overall presentation is really well polished. The into screens are perhaps a little too fast.

Not sure it fits the theme but nevertheless I enjoyed playing this one. Good job!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Really nice polished game.

ruerob says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:22am

Nice little game with very good graphics. I just don't think it fits the theme...

Paisley Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Nice and short

lapskaus says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Had a good time playing this. Will definitly come back to it later to try to finish it.

Aglavra says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I liked the story, although it was short. Jumping was a bit frustrating - too often I hit a block with my head and fall. Impressive graphics. I was really glad, that when oxygen runs out, I don't need to start all over - thanks for doing that

uvwar says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:34am

Mission Failed! Man the really high jumping and constantly bonking my head got annoying, as well as some of the dark areas (ladder in darkness), but otherwise pretty cool!

Gins says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:15am

The graphics and sound are really well done, especially those splash screens, but on the gameplay side I find it lacking, as it feels to me like a very simple expansion of the Game Maker platformer tutorial. Also it pretty much ignores the theme outright.

Kudos for making a really moody game though, the story you're trying to tell comes across quite well with all those images in the beginning and the music, and from playing the game I get a feeling that was your priority anyway, so for 72 hours it's a solid effort.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I liked the tight controls. Not sure where the narrative was going though.

psychonull says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I loved graphics and audio .. really good. Jumping between platforms was a little weird and I didn't get how this fits into the theme. GG!

pjchardt says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Really nice mood. Controls felt pretty good, although some of the platform placements felt a bit frustrating. I appreciate the mood and tone the audio and oxygen meter sets!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Really scary atmosphere, while playing I was waiting the whole time for a jump scare, but I waited to no avail. Good for me I guess.
The platforming was solid, but nothing special. And I would have liked to see more of the story, after you have done such a good job at setting the mood. I still have no idea what the "experiment" was.

kipelovets says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Too bad you don't have Mac build

Scam says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Graphics are nice, but I don't see how this fits to the theme.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

The intro was really well done. The game didn't seem to fit the theme at all? But it was very nicely set up. I had a hard time distinguishing what some things were. I think it's amazing to have finished this in 72 hours!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:10pm

nice game

belstras says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:44pm

A cinematic 2d game with a bit of alien vibes. I like the graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]