Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Goblin Crown Fever

by Nekith - Jam Entry

Struggle during the "Goblin Crown Fever", get the Crown and become King Goblin!

Pick up ammos, shoot switches, destroy enemies, grab all keys: get the Crown before the red ghosts!

But will you be wise enough to outdo your own greed?

Note: if you use the desktop versions, you have to launch the game in widescreen mode to see the entire field.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#203Audio(Jam)3.41
#237Innovation(Jam)3.50
#255Graphics(Jam)3.76
#311Humor(Jam)2.96
#423Fun(Jam)3.16
#439Overall(Jam)3.27
#479Mood(Jam)3.06
#631Theme(Jam)3.41

Comments

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

thats an awesome game! i love the music theme

cyrixd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:22am

Had a nice silly vibe, thought the music and art direction were paired really well.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:00am

Neato!, Sweet music and art style, although at first I was a little confused on what to do, but then I realized that the main title was a tutorial ahaha : D. I enjoyed the game, great Job on the game

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Cute game, beautiful graphics. However, I couldn't get a full screen (meaning: the entire field) view on my Mac, and the web version didn't work because it wanted a different web player. What I did see, I liked. :)

Sos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Oh man! It's like artillery dodgeball!

Kep says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Nice art and concept.

Possible bug: It looked like I had plenty of bombs (top left), but I couldn't fire or pick up bombs.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Graphics are pretty nice and the game is fairly engaging. Having only one life helps with this. Great job!

Maxw3ll says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I liked it. Were the goblins on the right side copies of what I did on the last level? Still fairly fun though.

Taldius says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Wow! It's a really good game, the concept is fun and interesting, one of my favorite so far. :D

Nekith says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:38am

Thank you all :)

@Ted Brown, Kep: we'll look at your problems, see if we can do something for it quick. Thanks for reporting it!

@Maxw3ll: Yes, they are :)

Zilast says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:40am

@ Kep : Was it white bombs ? If yes, it's not a bug, but the HUD. :)

Kuupu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:43pm

with more juiceness this game would be awesome

with multiplayer too :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:17pm

This was cool, nice art too. Well done!

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Fine game you got there !

jpcote says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Wow awesome entry ! I would play for hours ! Nice twist on controls, having to handle both arrows and mouse. AI was kind of sloppy, but fun to defeat ! Great game !

gre says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Robust and original game mecanism.
Great graphics.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Intersting concept, It's like multiplayer but alone ! ^^
Sadly I'm to good to beat myself.... :s

Ps : At start on windows I had some problems with Unity precets, we have to chose wide screen resolution to be fully functional. Either it's missing the edges and we can't play.... You should maybe tell this in your description.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Nice music and visuals, but the key openers oftenly spawn in the border and they are nearly impossible to hit, making the game frustrating

acro says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Fun game once I figured out what to do : ) For some reason the sides of the screen are cut off even on full screen mode. Would be nice to some pickups / items. Multiplayer would be quite fun and frantic. Good job.

joekinley says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I used the linux version and apparently had a bug, that the screen was cut out on the left and right. In the beginning I couldn't see the goblin and didn't know what was happening at all.

Then I figured out there is a goblin offscreen, and i figured I had to collect the keys. But apparently one key was offscreen aswell? So I couldn't really figure out what was really happening.

But, overall it was a quite nice game. Good graphics, nice audio, good job.

Nekith says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:37pm

@Instant Noodles: it's indeed needed, we add a note in the description, thank you for this suggestion!

@all: thank you all too for the feedback!

vinull says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:02am

Nice job! I had to download the windows version, for some reason the web player would never finish loading. I also had trouble figuring out what to do until I saw the note about widescreen (in Unity there is a setting in preferences to limit size choices to resolutions or aspect ratios you may want to set).

Graphics and music/sound were very impressive. Gameplay got repetitive after a few levels but I imagine you could spice things up enough if you worked on this more. Great game!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

nice work

Piscythe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Cool idea and really nice graphics. I found the attack system a bit disorienting - I wanted full projectiles and not the suddenly-appearing bombs.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]