Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Missing Picture

by Roan Contreras - Jam Entry

You are a photographer, and at the same time you're looking for your child's toy. Using some old inverted photos with a vintage camera screen, find the toy with rhythm and patience.

For the pictures, they're recycled and edited photos taken from my camera.

Unity Web Player is required to play this game.
You can also try it in your Android devices by downloading and installing the apk to your device.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#96Mood(Jam)3.75
#128Innovation(Jam)3.71
#249Graphics(Jam)3.77
#582Overall(Jam)3.12
#617Theme(Jam)3.42
#788Humor(Jam)1.92
#893Fun(Jam)2.45

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15am

Really cool game!

Try mine, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:28am

Nice and simple game.
It really tests your patience. It is so frustrating when you are about to finish and mess up!

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:55am

Really nice game, it has a certain atmosphere. But it's also quite frustrating.
Anyway, nice work :D

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:48am

I like the feel of this game, and the pictures are really cool. But there's a lot of frustration when the entire picture resets for one mistake.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:51am

Nice-looking (and sounding), but very frustrating. For a rhythm game, the actual rhythm is very de-emphasized. This needs either pulsing music and flashing (ruining the mood) or doing away with rhythm mechanics.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:54am

I love this! I wish it were more forgiving. Having more than one strike before I'm out would make it so much more playable. But the look, the mood, and the use of the theme are great!

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:20am

Really elegant and beautiful. I wish it was longer. I think you could tell very nice stories with this.

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:58am

Great concept, but I found it too frustrating. Maybe I just have no patience.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:39am

I didn't get it at all, sometimes I got it right, sometimes I didn't, but I don't know why. Nice graphics and audio!

pancakecity says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:49am

I love the atmosphere of this! It was very aesthetically pleasing. I wish there were less objects to click on.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:58am

This is such an aesthetically gorgeous game! I didn't find it too hard, though I did have to start over to read the rules. The sound design is so nice and the SFX fit perfectly. I even found myself wishing for more levels... great job.

Thanks for the game!

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Beautiful, interesting animations and pictures and a trying exercise in patience. I found it more enjoyable when I forced myself to not look at the timer.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:31am

Great mood, and nice pictures!
I join others, I wish I had more than one chance to make it before I loose.
Great, and original concept, though. Well done!

seraphki says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:31am

Nice mood, lovely UI, and soothing music. Well done =]

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:37am

Very nice art, sounds and overall feeling for the game. Release it on Google Play, that's a good game!

StackAttack says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Cool game - I like the mode and the graphics but like most others found it to be quite frustrating to play

Kain.Oborin says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:35am

I'm not really a fan of games like these. I'm not going to lie. I probably would have been a bigger fan if the instructions were less contradictory. It says "Be patient" and all that, but instead of the counter restarting you have to start over. I understand being rhythmic and having to click at the end of each cycle, but don't say "Be patient if you can't" And then start them over (although that is a different kind of patience). I will say it was a very nice looking game, and the sounds were great. I may not play your post compo version (if you make one) but I hope to see you make more games.
-Kain Oborin.

sweenist says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Interesting game. High on innovation. I feel confused about the ultimate objective. Is it merely a matter of uncovering the pictures?

Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:09pm

"Is it merely a matter of uncovering the pictures?"
Yes, because the game is about recovering the inverted pictures. The photographer uses it to interpret on what it is :D

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:25pm

It's kind of confusing. The instructions, I don't know, but something about them just makes them unclear. Eventually I figured out how to do it, I think...but it seems to be VERY unforgiving. I spent 5 minutes on it, not getting more than 3 or 4 'clears' before I did something wrong and it reset. I think it's cool that you seem to be going for a specific mood, but I was never really able to get into the game enough to feel it...

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Really nice game! a bit hard thought

Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Cool game, great mood and calming gameplay.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 6:40am

The game wasn't my style but I can tell it is unique, completely fresh and well made. The sound effects and music were perfect. The reset sound is still stuck in my head.

stasss says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:31am

Wow! Great art and sound work.Atthe beggining was a little bit confusing, but overall loosk great

igoramendola says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

It is a nice game and I'm still trying to pass the picture 2 hahaha. Definitely patience is required. The idea is quite innovative and fits well with the theme. Also, has nice graphics and sounds. Nice work ^_^

goro says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:30am

Great game! I love it, but it's really stirring!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:59am

Nice game, just thought the rythm would be the same as the music, also quite annoying that the whole pic resets for just one mistake.

pht59x says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

I had to load the game twice to make sense of it: instructions should be up front in the splash screen and credits send to the end of the game. Also the first picture (level, I guess) could be a lot easier. Sound and music are fine.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]