Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Happy Snowball

by gmaker - Compo Entry

New year is coming… But not all children will receive presents because absent-minded Santa keeps loosing gifts on his way to children.
So you are playing as a snowman who is trying to help Santa and pick up all the lost presents in order to return them to Santa and consequently increase children’s chances to receive their gifts. Have fun and beware of a harmful gnome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#113Graphics3.93
#268Humor2.98
#272Mood3.27
#352Audio3.04
#380Overall3.37
#468Fun3.17
#802Theme3.40
#875Innovation2.65

Comments

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:37am

Awesome graphics and great game overall!!

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32am

Hilarious game with wonderful graphics.

Arovoid says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:47am

Greatly animated and works very smoothly!

Kim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:47am

Nice little idea, good art and sound. A bit hard to avoid the gnome though. Tried jumping over it but the jump is too short.

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49am

Really fantastic visuals, loved the setting. The gameplay was good, but needed a bit of variety. Good job!

C63Industries says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:53am

I really enjoyed the snowman ☃ theme and evil elf. It is indeed a game in one screen.

Hermitli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24pm

I love your pixel art style. It's awesome! 5 stars Graphics!

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Great pixelart! Congratulations

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Nice game!

Threef says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Nice idea, sweet graphics and fun! Only thing I would change is that you should lose health when gnome get presents and not touches you.

SivGoose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Merry Christmas!
Addictive game, good replay value especially with the random generating trees and development of the players skills.It took me a few goes however to realize the elf was evil. Invulnerable time when you are hit is the perfect length and a good mechanic to add. It took me a few goes however to realize the elf was evil.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Hi there. Sorry not rated. Java wasn't happy Chrome/W8.1

Headmade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Lovely pixel art and sounds, it is a very cute game. I love helping santa, but this Ludum Dare the snowman is really everywhere. Can't blame you for that though.

ShadowStryker says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:50am

I liked the graphics style. I could never make graphics like that, my art-skills are too poor, haha.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:31pm

I like this a lot. Great little game, simple but good fun. Good potential for expansion here too.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Good Work ^^

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:56pm

The graphics are really good! I feel that the snowman should jump a bit higher, it's very difficult to avoid the gnome. It gets repetitive after a while, and it's frustrating that the Santa sometimes spend way too much time outside of the screen, so you just have to wait. Has some shortcomings, but it's quite fun. My best score is 32 =D

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:17am

Also had trouble jumping over the elf, but great graphics, and the soundtrack is catchy

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:52am

Awesome graphics and great gameplay! Woooh! I found it pretty hard thought.

Recon says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Good graphics, but did you make it before the jam???

gmaker says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:29pm

@Recon ofcourse not. http://www.twitch.tv/gmaker/profile/past_broadcasts

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Wow, love the graphics, 5 stars!!!

Wir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Great pixelart :D

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Fantastic. True believers know the #snowmanjam is real! ☃ ☃ ☃

Great sound, wonderful pixel art. And the gnome fills me with rage.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:19pm

cool

victorafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:55pm

I loved the graphics (I have seen before)

I wish the snowman was faster to jump more easily those evil creatures... But I can not blame him... He got no legs!

Reminds me the bowser level in super mario :D

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:07pm

[+] Cool sliding snowman animation, suitable music, nice pixelart

[-] The place where the gnome stops was a little pit odd. You never know exactly when you can jump with the snowman

Well made!

mikale says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Awesome :3 so cute.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:09am

Hilarious game and wonderful graphics. Thank you for your comment about my game ++

Teesquared says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:22am

Entire game on one snowman. Really fun, funny, and frosty. F that gnome.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:20pm

I has a lot of fun playing it. Thanks for bringing Christmas spirit!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Love the graphics. Great game! I Included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/08ofw2klihI

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:06pm

*I Included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/YpdCMKphEUw

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Nice pixel art in such a short span of time. Good job! :)

dook says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:13pm

That Santa sure is a clumsy fellow ;)

Awesome game! It was super hard to avoid the gnome, though.

Dissiden7 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Had a really hard time with the controls. The snowman would jump and throw the presents just fine, but moving around felt like it was by pure chance... Maybe Safari Java plugin was bugging out, so I'll refrain from voting on those categories.

Other than that, graphics are great and it looks really well executed.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]