Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Fibonacci Grid

by Andrew Adams - Compo Entry

Test your skills in this simple (and fun) math puzzle game.
Click the tiles and expand the grid to reach the goal value.

How it works...
1. You click the tile
2. The tile expands
3. Tiles are totaled using the value of their neighbors
4. You reach the goal and win
-- OR --
4. You run out of moves and cry.

FEEDBACK STRONGLY REQUESTED!!
Thanks for playing

********************************EDIT********************************

POST COMPO VERSION COMPLETE
Avaiable via the web link... ENJOY.

iOS Version coming soon!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#72Innovation4.01
#140Overall3.69
#273Fun3.40
#287Audio3.15
#305Graphics3.50
#322Mood3.21
#542Theme3.61
#692Humor2.31

Comments

timwe1912 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:48am

Really neat game, I like it.

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:54am

**BUG FIX REPORT:
1- Included X button on desktop builds for exit option from fullscreen play
2- Fixed CYMK Icon issues for Macintosh users
3- Fixed Library link issues and UI failures for Linux/Ubuntu installs.
***End Report

robodylan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:12am

Nice idea, love it. Great graphics and sounds

Kevin_twenty7 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:28am

It seemed kinda easy until it began to really force me to think. Really like it.

Phaax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:50am

Interesting! Nice sounds and graphics.
Too tired to win the game though. Haha :)

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:12am

nice concept! I love fibo ;-)

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

Good game. I had a programming teacher that was obsessed with the Fibonacci sequence, so for better or worse I think of him every time I see the word.

Took me a while to figure out how the numbers were actually coming out though, like which tiles were used in the calculation.

If you want to continue to polish this, maybe offering a tutorial round that shows you how numbers are calculated would make this great.
I was thinking maybe just by hovering over a tile, it would show you what tiles would be placed when you clicked.

This seems like it'd be great on mobile, not sure how the hover tutorial would work on mobile, but I'm sure you got it! :)

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45am

Very interesting concept!

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48am

Thanks everyone for the feedback and comments.

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05am

Unable to click on tiles and play game. No rating.

Jqmfg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:12am

Very cool game with a great concept. However, took a long time to understand the game mechanics. A tutorial/directions would have been much appreciated. Aside from that, I button to restart the entire game would also be nice.

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22am

The Fibonaci sequence is my favorite sequence!

wooltech says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:27am

Absorbing game. It took a little while to figure out how the numbers were generated, but once I realised it was fun. I'm shockingly bad at it though - plan to try again tomorrow when I'm more awake, which has to be a good sign!

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:31am

It took me a long time to realize that I was supposed to get EXACTLY the number specified instead of just going over. Specifying that might be a good idea, though I might just be an idiot ;-)

Sublustris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

Nice game, but its hard to understand what to do without reading explanation

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:44am

Pretty neat game; I liked it once I figured out how the mechanic worked (took me a couple minutes to understand)

Lynx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:56am

Fun concept, I can see this as a mobile game, easily.
I did have an issue where the GUI overlapped the times (I know, Unity GUI issue) but it would be nice to drag and move around to see the expanding lines go past edges or under things

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:58am

Thank you all for your feedback. I understand that the game mechanic might be hard to catch onto at first. Due to the typo/bug clause I have to leave the original submission in place, however I will add a post-compo version with a tutorial as soon as it is aloud. Thanks again to everyone for playing!

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:59am

@Lynx just click and hold empty space... The game has dragging built in, guess I'll add that to the tutorial too. Hehe

Shivur says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:23am

Good puzzle game!

Soron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17am

Pretty neat! Ridiculously hard, but pretty neat!

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:06am

I was a but slow at getting what the goal meant. Thought the sum of all tiles should be 20. Nice concept.

caporaltito says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24am

Really cool concept, needs some game balancing though. A balanced version would be a hit!

rjhunter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:33am

Beautiful polish. The learning curve is pretty harsh, though. I think I would have "got" it faster (and enjoyed it more) if my first goal had been a small number like 7, and only growing to 34 once I'd mastered the techniques necessary for matching it up. (My game has a similar problem with random goal selection.)

Great job!

bazld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12am

Cool concept - love maths :) Very satisfying feedback when clicking. could be a great mobile game too.

eforen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15am

It was good just not my cupa tea

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43am

I'm really not into math game but I loved this, great animation and easy to understand.
I had some bug I think, it seems sometimes the next level wasn't initialized correctly (the previous tiles were still present.
Anyway great job !

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57am

@Alexandre Sybiak thanks for pointing out that bug. Can you repeat that issue, or does ithappen more than once? I can't seem to duplicate it, but I'm looking into it.
Thanks for playing!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:45pm

good sounds and visuals, solid core concept. Good work!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Awesome game!! One of my favourite entries so far. Really deep and intuitive gameplay. One minor detail though, it's fibonacci not fibonaci :D

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:27pm

A nice puzzle game indeed. The simple mechanic and the polished interface make it easy to understand how the game works.

This could easily fit mobile platforms (especially tablets) but I have the feeling that you thought about that, given how smoothly you can pan the game board while keeping the left mouse button pressed :D

I'm not very good in math, so I'm wondering how do you calculate the number of available moves every time. I think I'll read your code :D

Very nice job!

Aden Manson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:40pm

cool, gets you thinking !

Hammers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Nice unique mechanic. I was rubbish at it but enjoyed it nonetheless :)

Leo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45pm

I <3 puzzles.

This is neat. if you want some feedback, let's see... I think the way to move the camera isn't obvious at first, you could do something about that. Also maybe it would look better if the colors "scaled" with the values on the square. You could change the color randomly a bit to keep it interesting, but a major part of the color could be decided on the square value.

Also, I think previewing what the value is going to be would be cool. Everyone can do the math of how much is 3 + 4 + 3 but that's kind of not the point of the game. The point should be about planning how to reach the goal value and not doing basic arithmetic, I think.

Nice game, I really like puzzles like this :)

grid96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Really cool mathemathical game.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Nice puzzle game. Simple, but interesting. That's the kind of game that I like to play on my phone when I want to relax. If you decide to publish it on mobile (Android), I would like to have it ^^

shubshub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Its a bit glitchy but it wasn't bad

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Cool idea!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:05pm

The clicking bug seems to be a Unity/Chrome thing.

I'm not sure what the win condition is? I was clearly selecting tiles with larger numbers than the goal, and nothing was happening.

Still - looks like it could be a great entry into the Threes / 2048 space.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Awesome concept nicely executed!

Pete_H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Very slick!

Havi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11am

Great idea! Didn't get how it works at first but i really enjoyed playing it! :)

Gwilym says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:37am

Nice addictive game, but the music was quite repetitive. Also, the ability to restart mid game when you know you won't be able to win would've been nice.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

Awesome presentation, music and sfx, im not very good at this kind of games.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Really fun and I love the squelchy sounds and smooth music :)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Hi there. Like the UI, the music, the sounds. Did not get to grips with the puzzle, will return and try again - bookmarked. Good job!

NeithR says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:27am

Great concept ;).

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Very interesting game. It's good to see innovative maths games,even in Ludum Dare. ;)

Agram says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Their is no way to vote their. Normal choice or misstake ?
I love your game, i want iy to win !

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Very nice and interesting approach to the theme. Those who are into math will love it!

uvwar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I'm really bad with numbers and puzzle games in general but I (slowly) got the hang of it.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Interesting puzzler. I Included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Sw1gBeS2zkc

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:20am

I like some Fibonacci moves!Great!

istlemin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Unlike many others, I understood the game straight away. I really liked everything about the game. Probably the best I have played so far.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Cool game! I would really love a button to reset the level to the beginning, and it would be nice to start off with lower goal numbers so we can explore how the game works.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:30am

This is much, much better than 2048. God bless you.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:09am

Very polished, needs a few bug fixes, but I feel like it's almost ready for production on mobile.

Kain.Oborin says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:17am

I love games like this that make you think. I really hope to see a post compo version of this. Thank you for letting me play.
-Kain Oborin

davidB says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:20pm

The second game I bookmark. Great work (visual, audio) that serve the game right.

jukimv1986 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Awesome puzzle game. Would be great to play on mobile. Good job!

joe40001 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:37am

Great game, seems like wouldn't be too hard to port over to tablets. Maybe polish it up a tiny bit more, but I really enjoy the mechanic. A fun puzzle time-waster game.

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Quite a cute game to get some practice at Fibonacci numbers. The music is quite repetitive after a while.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]