Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Minimum Wage: It Could Be Worse

by masterhyjinx - Compo Entry

Source: http://www.gamedesignfu.com/LudumDare/LD31_MWICBW/LD31_MWICBW_Source.unitypackage

You just took a job on an interstellar cruise line. It pays... enough... but you might see some adventure. Deliver crates as fast as you can using your crane. Put the crates in the chute and make sure that your approval rating stays up. The CompuBoss 2000 is very critical and if your approval rating falls, he'll fire you. Be sure to pay attention to your messages, if something happens you might need to focus on other cargo.

Why did I make a game about doing a job about delivering crates? I'm not sure. It just sort of happened. I didn't get to spend as much time with this one as previous LDs (Life happens) but man I love what I can make in a short time.

NOTE: I've discovered that Chrome no longer supports the 32-bit Unity plugin. So Chrome users, fire up the game in any other browser or download an executable.

Edit: Added Time Lapse. I was curious how long I actually spent on the LD because my weekend was so fragmented (Promised to go do archery with a friend, had a surprise out of town friend visit, etc) I calculated roughly how much time I spent on my LD and it came out to about 13 hours 15 minutes. At the end of my lapse you see me not letting go adding a couple sounds and the turbulence effect.

Edit 2: Added Linux due to popular demand and the fact that I completely zoned out on doing it. Moved Time lapse to Description Post.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#83Graphics4.00
#175Theme3.97
#294Humor2.92
#331Overall3.42
#333Innovation3.44
#395Fun3.25
#472Mood3.00
#506Audio2.81

Comments

FerraWare says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

Love the 3D!

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:08am

Clean graphics and fun to play. If I may suggest some polish. The crane could move a bit faster, the drop site indication could be bigger and a little warning that the drop box is going to change would be nice. Also, make sure the colors for the initial boxes are in the first box drop. Still, good job.

Joris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:08pm

I had a hard time figuring out what all the symbols meant. Really enjoyed it tho. I really like the graphical style.

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:00pm

This is a pretty fun physics game. It runs really well and the "adventure" going on outside your little room makes it a lot more interesting. I like that the events dictate the kinds of items that people request. I did run into a bug though I think, where after I died, I started a new game and I could no longer pick anything up. Spacebar didn't seem to work. Refreshing the page fixed it though.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Graphics look great, crane mechanic works really well. Should have music in it.

yongcamu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Fun fun! Can imagine it being a relaxing "jigsaw puzzle" sort of game too! Where you just flood the room with cubes and slowly clear them all out. INTERSTELLAR JANITOR REPORTING IN!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55am

Really fun and funny use of the theme ;) 3D for the win!

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:02am

Had some fun but got bored after awhile. The graphics are simple but nice. Add more hazzards!

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:01am

The graphics were really clean and polished, it gave the whole game a nice feel. The hits to the ship that jumbled the blocks all around was a nice touch, too. Also, as someone who has trouble with colors, thank you for not only making the crates color coded. It was easy to tell what I needed, and for as simple as it was it was actually really engaging. I think the little polish effects helped it more than anything; just goes to show how important the little details are. Great entry.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Hi there. I didn't last long at that job... Thicker aiming laser would have saved my squinting eyes... The message bar is just not easy to read... could they hover at the crane position ? Nice thud/splat sounds. Good job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Neat with a strage mecanics which seems to me too slow. Can be improved, but I like it. Bravo ++

mechabit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Really nice look and feel. Would work great with a Leap Motion ;) PS played it on chrome and it works, just press the little icon on the top to allow plugins.

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Nice I've liked it :D

sorlok says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:16am

A solid entry! Strange to say, but I enjoyed it! You really captured the mood of a menial job well, and made it interesting. Would like to see this idea expanded on!

sikosis says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:48am

Absolutely loved it. Great simple concept and well executed. Full gamepad support would have been nice but not a deal breaker.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:14am

Fun to play and I like the graphism and mood. On my second game space br was not working for some reasons, I had to resfresh screen.

davidB says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:14pm

a marker on bottom on the ray (collision point) should help to target the grab.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 7:18am

Love the lighting effect!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]