Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

You're Blocking The Screen!

by LoneStranger - Compo Entry

The game is sort of two games in one. There is the game-with-the-game, where you are playing PONG against a computer that will probably never lose. However, while you are trying to play you will be distracted by two little cuties and paper airplanes.

Your goal is to do as good as you can in PONG before your nerves reach their end and the game is over.

---------

This game was made using MarteEngine over Slick2D over LWJGL.

Source is included in the ONESCREEN.jar file.

---------

To execute, run the jar with the following command. Change the [os] to match yours of the following,

java -Djava.library.path=native\[os] -jar ONESCREEN.jar

windows
linux
macosx
solaris
freebsd

For example, to execute on Windows, run the jar with the following command:

java -Djava.library.path=native\windows -jar ONESCREEN.jar


Also make sure that your Java executable is on the path. If you have any problems, let me know before you rate the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#45Humor3.75
#237Theme3.88
#299Innovation3.50
#451Fun3.19
#560Overall3.19
#561Audio2.69
#854Graphics2.63
#2185Coolness20%

Comments

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57am

This game was oddly charming.
I loved it!

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:30am

Funny theme connection :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:23am

Very funny idea!

efux says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Wow, this is way too hard. I am sorry for you =D Great idea for this theme!

Tifu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:46am

Nice idea! Would be better I feel if the game in the game was one with a win condition.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:26pm

nice ...lol

rjhunter says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Cute. And a brilliant interpretation of the theme :-)


(I'm sure there's a way to include lwjgl native libraries in such a way that no extra commandline parameters are needed -- fauge's "Sumo Si" <http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=40489> uses lwjgl and works out of the box. Maybe fiddling with resource paths?)

f7f5 says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Nice idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]