Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sno-Man

by JayCee23 - Compo Entry

My first game for Ludum Dare. My first game ever, in fact!

You are a snow man. Run around, stand on piles of snow to collect them, avoid flaming baddies, building turrets to shoot at enemies, wells to collect snow in blizzards and repair nearby buildings, and traps to hold enemies in place.

Java applets are a jerk, let me tell you.
To play the web version, go to your Configure Java,
go to the security tab, and add these two sites to the list:

http://jaycee235.itch.io
http://commondatastorage.googleapis.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#383Mood3.13
#411Audio2.94
#445Overall3.29
#472Graphics3.22
#485Fun3.16
#510Innovation3.19
#621Humor2.40
#626Theme3.55

Comments

cxsquared says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:40am

Pretty fun. The snow melting mechanic is really cool.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:45am

For some reason, I couldn't get either the web nor the windows version to run :(

Ozcr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:45am

Really fun game, I especially love that you coded it in Java. I hope you didn't have as much trouble as I did getting the applet to work.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46am

Like the graphics and character controls. They feel nice. I think it's missing a defined goal, but nice entry. I had fun. :)

Seraphina says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46am

This game is too damn cute. (And kind of hard) Pretty good for a first time!

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51am

Not going to vote, as I cant, because my computer went totally nuts on security issues when I tried it.

maxyan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53am

Hard to understand what different types of buildings do. The graphics and the music are cool.

locknic says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:14am

Interesting game. I love the mechanics you have set in place, and the actiony feel to it, but it definitely needs some development and polishing up. In the end I surrounded myself in traps and just stacked up a million turrets in the middle and was safe.

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Web version won't load :( And as a mac user I have no other options. :(

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Fun! Intesting mechanics. It could use some polishing.
Very good game for the first time.

cutandreil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Can't play it on the web. It says java security issue and refuse to launch it...
Works fine on windows.
Fun little game.
But I'm not sure of the use of the second building.(the one with a blue flag)

Quikding says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:36am

Seems like a tower defense game. Was pretty decent..

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52am

Can't seem to run it, sorry.

mauris says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:35am

It's very well made and impressive for first time!

dallonf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Desperately needed a help screen or maybe some in-game text describing what's going on. I played through two times and I still don't know what the building with the blue flag does, or whether the snow on the ground has any gameplay effect.

But I love the idea of a tower defense based on cooldown rather than income - it prevents you from getting stuck in too much of a rut. And of course, it's not really even a traditional tower defense, it's much more open than you normally get and that's an improvement on the genre.

I think I would have loved this game if I knew what was going on.

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:01pm

I'm sorry for everyone that wasn't able to play. I'll see what I can do about that before the next one.

And I am loving all of the feedback. It's giving me so many ideas for things I can add and improve. Keep it coming!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Hi there. Sorry not played or rated as it wanted to update my Java, like you say Java is a pain... I have things I don't want to break which need current Java.

sweenist says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:29pm

My only complaint is the WASD controls. but other than that, it is pretty fun. The music is cool. Very wintery

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:29am

@JayCee23: The reason that lot of people can't run it is probably that game is programmed in Java8. I'm basically too lazy to install that too (it's too new in Java world...) and I'm Java programmer myself. If there isn't much Java 8 related stuff in your code, you can try to compile it for 7 (should be really easy depending on your IDE) to support much more people ;)

jhice says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:21pm

The snowman is so cute :) Being on an Azerty keyboard it was hrad ton control. Good idea of fire and snow.

BubbleChien says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Great art, but music is a bit repetitive. If it's your first game, you can be proud of you :)

sorlok says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:04am

Fun first game! Enjoyed the wild mayhem; needs a bit more structure. Great job!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:13am

Considering this was your first game, AND your first LD? You did VERY well. :) I really enjoyed the art style, the little sprites were very cute, and the controls were solid. You can basically build as much content onto this as you want -- it's a great start!

Always make sure to remember the main focus of your game -- the fun factor. Cover your information well with menu screens and images so that the player can focus more on having fun and experimenting with the gameplay than fumbling with controls and trying to figure out what everything does sans verbal description. :)

This actually needs very little to get to a point where it could be released to the masses and appreciated. FANTASTIC first game. :)

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Really enjoyable game, cute graphics aswell. Goodjob!

Shivur says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Very good game!

Bloxri says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:43am

The snow graphics remind me of globs of semen and now I can't un-see it. Overall though, OK submission. Kind of boring to me but fits the theme. Humorous game on the other hand.

dunin says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 11:48am

little confused and too hard too early. But fun to play.

Poupi says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:06am

Good Job! ;)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:46am

Well done on completeing your first game, and first LD! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]