Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

bricky block

by tudd - Compo Entry

A Threes! inspired slidey puzzle game. No numbers this time, just don't match the X :) Tutorial inside. It's easy!

***All downloads include Source.*** Mac download as soon as I can get it to not crash on export.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#248Graphics3.60
#363Fun3.30
#423Overall3.32
#464Humor2.61
#480Audio2.85
#568Mood2.92
#690Theme3.50
#698Innovation2.94

Comments

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Linux 64 build works! Quite nice puzzle game you have done!

tudd says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Thank you for playing :) Super happy to know that it works

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Reminds me of 2048 :)

Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Looks and feels nice, well done :D

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Reminds me of 2048, I think it is better if this have a web version like it

Blockers says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:58pm

the dang it button cracked me up more than it should have. this plays really nicely though, and looks nice and crisp too. good job

tudd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:00am

@wandersenus - couldn't get the font working on web, it's not too happy about Processing's font files apparently. I think the font is pretty important.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

Hi!
Im not very good with this kind of games but its perfectly crafted, really polished look.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:47am

Very nice! I like this game - the graphics are crisp and fresh, and the personality of the game is kind of funny. I think it would be awesome on mobile!

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Cmon man dont clone a game and put it up here.

Newt_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Very slick and fun to play. Great work!

tudd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Thanks for the valuable feedback, rabbit. Especially how I added my own style and mechanics which you ignored without even downloading the game. You're the person we all want to be.

dook says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:32pm

This is super polished. Even though it looks a lot like a well known game it's really impressive for a compo entry! The sounds and little animations are really satisfying. Would work well as a mobile game obviously. The nice intro was a really great addition.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Nice simple concept and pretty dang fun. I could really see this game doing well on IOS.

Belvar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36pm

I never played to three, but I spent some time playing 2048 as everyone :) It is interesting because I needed to "unlearn" the reflexes brought by 2048 in order to avoid losing in a few seconds. Really brings a new perspective.
Consider it releasing it on web and mobile devices, I'd totally download that to play in public transport !

tudd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Thanks everyone ! <3

Glad you like the sounds, I had a lot of fun recording them. The buttons clickies are recorded from my spacebar hehe

gameattack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55am

Yes it works! and works of nicely. I like the overall simplicity. Unfortunately my brain can't compute any puzzle now.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:30am

A little bit too 2048-ish in my opinion, but very beautiful an polished game! Very nice work!

kraln says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Fun puzzler!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Graphical style is a little too much like threes, but apart from that this is an interesting twist on the formula. Sound is minimal but effective. Great job!

Devark says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:15am

Runs smoothly and looks polished but is almost too like 2048.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Great little puzzle game. Good job!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Devilishly fun :D

OttersDen says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:47pm

I am a HUGE fan of Threes. And this is an interesting twist on it. It almost feels like an alternate mini-game that would be in the real Threes. Bricky Block is difficult, but it's well made. Nicely done!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:59am

This is a great, challenging idea! Liked it!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:39am

Nice casual game, easy to pick up and play. Maybe some soft music would be nice.

ponk says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Cool tweenings !!
Nice processing game

pht59x says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:45am

Well done! But the graphics is too much like 2048.

disease says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Great game! Seemingly simple but very challenging to keep going for a long time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]