Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Suzy v Dark Lord

by Jonapulse - Compo Entry

Suzy v Dark Lord

Apprentice Suzy goes on an irresponsible adventure, using runes that make portals!

The game is beatable, though there was no time for polish so it might not make very much sense. A few important points:
- there are 5 runes you can find in the game. You pick them up with SPACE and throw them, and they will make a portal to a new area. You find new runes in those areas. - New runes won't make portals until you pick them up and throw them. If two portals overlap, the overlapping area will create a double-portal. You overlap portals to find new runes, moving farther and farther until you find a scary guy and beat him using your brain*.
- when you encounter monsters, they can be defeated if they end up walking out of there area into the right area. Hint: the skeleton you first see will die if it leaves the forest and enters the sunny library. The monster you find after that will not die in the forest or the library.

Thanks to Ludum Dare and the tools I used (Unity, inkscape, sfxr for sound, http://www.fakemusicgenerator.com/ for music.)

*You can beat him by getting all 5 runes to overlap and having him walk in that area. You'll know you've won when you get another letter from your boss.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Innovation4.07
#208Audio3.31
#236Humor3.05
#297Theme3.81
#345Graphics3.41
#409Overall3.33
#611Mood2.88
#784Fun2.85
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

Jonapulse says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:24am

WALKTHROUGH - just in case it's not making sense

lvl 1 - the library: pick up the rune and throw it in the bottom middle of the stage. You'll reveal the forest level, a skeleton, and another rune.

lvl 2 - stay roughly where you are (moving a bit if the skeleton gets stuck on a tree.) Let the skeleton walk towards you until it enters the library stage area--it will die. Go and grab the new rune (if you can't tell which one is new, grab them both. Once they've been revealed they'll stay at the top level even if you pick up and close your first portal)

Level 3 - if you throw those two runes so that they're near each other, they'll overlap and you'll see the ice level. There is a monster in the middle of the stage that you'll want to avoid triggering (if you do trigger it, it's slow, so you're not totally screwed.)
The next rune is in the top right of the stage behind the ice pillars. If you're being chased by the ice monster, grab that rune and throw it near the others - the 4th level is hot and kills the ice monster.

Lvl 4 - grab the runes and throw them all in the middle left of the stage (where you'll find the new rune). There are three monsters surround it, but they're stationary. They will die in any level besides this one, so if you just pick up a rune near them you can kill them.

lvl 5 - if you throw all the runes in the middle the final boss will come out and chase you. There is a 5th rune near the top middle, but off to the left. If you throw them all together it will open a portal to the moon . If the boss walks on it he'll get sucked in and you'll win. If you walk on it you'll be fine... because I didn't implement death there.

Jonapulse says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:32am

Oh... and sometimes when you kill the ice golem it just stays there dancing. But it's dead, I promise. If you want an inside-story-world explanation, YOU BEFRIENDED IT!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:04am

Lovely story. And interesting idea to use Euler diagram to open new locations.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Great concept! I would have loved to see a bit more polished controls and game mechanics, hopefully there'll be a continuation?

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Definately a strong entry :D Was good fun!

I kept getting a bit stuck on the scenery, and there doesn't appear to be a "reset" option after death? Those two things were a little frustrating, but I think I've rated this higher than virtually every game I've played so far, so well done for that :D

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I liked the idea with the overlapping portals to different dimensions. Pretty clever! I could never figure out how to kill the Ice Golem, if you even can that is...

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:52am

very cool concept! :)

Javabot says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:16am

I liked how the monsters looked, but the game play was a bit too annoying to be fun.

Integershift says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:20am

Bugs are quite easily found but I forgive due to the fact this was made in 48 hours otherwise pretty solid entry lot's content as well

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23am

Very innovative! It gets laggy every time I throw the coin(rune?), but doesn't really hurt the gameplay.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:24am

Interesting approach to the theme, I liked the overlapping mechanic, but the game isn't that fun :/

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:25am

Probably one of the best music of this LD. Fits perfectly to the game. Love the intro/tutorial. The Ice golem bug was a bit annoying. Liked the concept a lot :)

rjhunter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:33am

Clever idea, cute graphics. Interesting use of the theme!

It wasn't until I read the walkthrough that I understood where the second rune had come from (I didn't spot it initially because there was a spooky skeleton coming at me!). I'd have liked the runes marked separately (or maybe have new ones "shine" until you pick them up).

I'd like to see this idea fleshed out in a post-competition game.

Wampus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37am

Good innovation, fun to try to solve, good music and looks pretty for a LD compo game. Had to use the walkthrough in the end. :)

KaCoomb says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:58am

I enjoyed the music. IFirst time, I got ganged up on by two baddies and died right away. Second time, I'm immortal. killed a skeleton and think I broke the game. Woot!

Reyn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:56am

Hi. Nice idea to bring the worlds into the screen, 5/5 for the theme. I, like others, think you can do something great with the venn/euler diagram mechanic. Biggest issue I would say for me was collision, not always knowing if I could move around an object, which could probably be fixed with shadows or making the game 3D. Could possibly also work as a more strategic puzzley game. Was fun thanks!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Hi there. Nice idea with the overlapping different ways of seeing world, like that. Also like the up-tempo happy music. Found three worlds before dying. Good job!

Moee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:20am

Your game is really interesting, good job dude!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Interesting concept!

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:39am

Nice!cool mechanics!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:21pm

A pretty neat idea, well done!

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:18pm

A really cool mechanic. It took a while to "get it", but once I did, it was quite fun throwing the runes around and getting them to overlap. There were a few weird graphical glitches where the top flashed and stuff, but generally very good. The music was a little repetitive, but otherwise good.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:05am

Neat bit of thinking required there. Haven't seen anything like this before. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]