Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

StarFighter

by MegaMasterX - Compo Entry

You're a new recruit that's been deployed to Star Field D56 to take down a pending threat - an alien Spawner capable of producing theoretically infinite armies of enemy ships.

Recommended Resolution: 1280x1024 or any widescreen resolution

====CONTROLS====
Mouse Cursor - Move Ship
L Mouse Button - Fire Cannon
F2 - Escape/Quit Game

====Tools Used====
Unity Pro (Jam License, Thanks LD and Unity!)
GIMP
Audacity
Greenfish Icon Editor Portable
Otomata (http://www.earslap.com/page/otomata.html)
http://unicodesnowmanforyou.com/
Visual Studio 2013

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#201Audio3.32
#520Humor2.53
#798Mood2.65
#886Fun2.72
#1005Theme3.13
#1025Overall2.68
#1036Graphics2.31
#1152Innovation2.00

Comments

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:27am

The audio gave me a space-y or futuristic feel. Anyway, nice short and simple game. :)

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30am

The web version is currently down.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:36am

Overall, it's ok. It doesn't exactly do anything new, but it's fun to watch the enemy fighters fly around the screen at high speeds.

Croze says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:42am

Didn't work for me, just got a ship with a barrier that I hit to -50 health and nothing changed

Logun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52am

Cool voice ! :D Liked it
I enjoyed to see the ennemies comming from nowhere in strange directions ^^
Too easy sadly, I need more bullets on me, and different ennemies !!
A simple more challenging thing could have be a moving mothership, which fire on you !

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Really enjoyable, I liked that you used voice commands. For a simple game it was very immersive.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Nice shooter, though I found distinguishing the bullets from passing stars to be a little difficult. Great work!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Nice voice acting! It reminds me that im a little kid playing with my toys (now making games...)
I love space shooter games and this one is good but i wanted to go to base after defeating the ship.

chadheim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Needs more explosions! Otherwise nice idea and enjoyed the voice acting :-)

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25pm

@Cladheim: Explosions were planned and are actually implemented for the Spawner, but the script that makes it tick...I couldn't get it working in time. Thanks!

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:50pm

It would be nicer if we didn't have to mash mouse button to shoot imho.
Good work anyway :)

frondeus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:44pm

It's kinda simple to win and I didn't know when enemies shoot me. But I like this voice ;)

paps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Love the voice acting, and with the background noise it felt like I was there. Good job. One question though, is that bananas as projectile/laser?

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:56pm

@Paps: It's just a blob, really. Promise! :}

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Hey, solid entry! A little too easy perhaps (or too short?). Keep up the good work!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Loved the voice acting, Very simple game, i enjoyed it and felt good winning :D haha nice work

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Decent game.

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Decent game, with great voice acting :D

That, with the cartoony feel of the... *ahem* "Rock-it..." reminded me of my son playing with his toys lol.

Very easy, but I guess that's no big deal. Making the Spawner move through space would have been a simple way to make it a little more challenging, perhaps?

Rated well :)

ianh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40am

All those hours playing Cookie Clicker finally payed off!

ianh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40am

All those hours playing Cookie Clicker finally paid off!

Silii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Onky 40$ in pizza budget ? need more !
haha, joke, nice work, maybe need more work on the Star Field D56 graphics to enjoy the player :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Love the narration! I Included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/81u-vDEfxwU

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Hi there. Nice short game. Destroyed spawner and finished. Nice effects, like the movement patterns of the alien fighters/small-craft. Good job!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Great game. Nice encouragement in audio :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:32pm

not bad, short and simple, the audio was a nice touch. Wish there had been a great explosion of the spawner in the end, now it was little anti-climatic.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:52pm

nice narration, the game itself is pretty simple but has solid controls, well done

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]