Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Coin Toss Simulator 2015

by Mekuri - Jam Entry

Coin Toss Simulator 2015 is what it says. Toss a coin around and destroy as much as possible, within the time limit! All the necessary instructions needed to play are ingame! - Good luck and have fun! - I look forward to your honest opinion, and now I'll go enjoy playing all of you people's games!

KNOWN BUGS:
- Colliders on complex shapes are not entirely accurate.
- On rare occasions the coin can get stuck in a jittering movement.
- On rare occasions the coin can fall off the map!
---------------------------------------------------------
TL:DR
I had a hard time finding an idea for the theme, especially since I had my mind on something 3D. I decided to honor the theme by making the game menu kind of interpret the Theme.
I decided to opt out of the audio category (A very nice option that we can do that now), since most of the audio was found online. I did edit a lot of it, but not enough to call it homemade.
I am really happy with my game, and I hope you enjoy(ed) it as well!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#54Humor(Jam)3.85
#153Innovation(Jam)3.67
#261Fun(Jam)3.37
#300Graphics(Jam)3.68
#332Overall(Jam)3.40
#398Mood(Jam)3.18
#937Theme(Jam)2.74

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:59am

Great graphics, nice job as for JAM, I would like to give you overall 5/5, however it has nothing to do with the topic.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05am

I know- I really did struggle with the Theme for 3D - I made my "menu screen" as an interpretation of the theme, sort of not to entirely ignore it :-)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:51am

This was amusing and I liked the music. I only found one way to launch the coin at high speed though -- flipping it into the POW poster. Was there some other way to get high speed that I missed?

Also, hooray for snowman!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48am

This was built on a pretty hilarious concept, nice job. If I ever need to toss a coin I'll be sure to come here.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59am

@GAFBlizzard: You're spot on! It was the only "high speed" object. The kitchen sponges have a similar effect, but nowhere near the same speed. - I'm glad you liked the music, I made it with Punk-O-Matic.

@SpartanIceCream: I'm glad you like it! Feel free to do all the tossing you like :-)

Murchurl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13pm

HAHA! this is cool! I really enjoyed it, great job with the camera following loved it

thristhart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Wonderful graphics! The theme interpretation just reflects how bad the theme was, IMO. Funny concept, and I was pretty amused by the instruction sheet on the door.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Surprisingly addictive. Great job!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:23pm

heh... good idea. Coin doesnt have any friction though which looks kinda silly when it slides on the floor

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Funny :) Also I got an "edge" on a toss, but didn't get bazillion points for that - disappointed ;) http://imgur.com/dCw600K

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Coin Toss Simulator 2016 cant get here fast enough! nuff said :D seriously, this looks great and was a lot of fun to play. And that music lol, I remember that tool :P As a Unity-user myself I was really impressed. Great game.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I had more fun with this than I should have had...graphics and music are great and I like how the camera tracks the coin. Also, it was really satisfying to see that the POW poster wasn't just for decoration :D Impressive work, thank you!

gquibao says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Awesome game!! One of the most fun I've played so far. Congratulations

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Addictive!

Boracho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Fun stuff. Is that Punk-O-Matic music I hear? this is something I could see wasting an inordinate amount of hours playing. graphics are nice (considering the short time to work on them) and the game mechanics are pretty solid. Bonus points for snowman, haha.

Meral says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:10pm

The first thing you have to do when playing this is pressing 'm'.

I love the physics on the lamp and the destructibility. The dishes are score-wise a bit overkill though. Nice touch with the pow painting. Too bad you can't know the snowman down. The intro sequence is interesting but seems a bit misplaced. Having the controls as a note on the door is a nice touch.

It's hard to make a precise throw. The flight path seems to be quite plausible tough.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:10pm

It took me a while to figure out the coin toss physics, but once I did I enjoyed it. Was the silver coin heavier than the gold one? I thought it was, but I might just suck at this.

crazyrems says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:20pm

I want to toss so much coins, and break the world with them !
A nice rendition of what a coin toss simulator could be.
You should definitely enable by default the music, it is so epic !

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:51am

Some of the best sound effects I have heard so far. Also loved the surprise, I thought I was aiming to get a coin in a glass, when I finally got on target, the coin annihilated them all... Awesome

uvwar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:27pm

I wish the coin would flip maybe 100x faster so the physics could get really wild, and there was more stuff to break, but a fun idea and a cool start if you decided to take it further!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:53pm

interesting, very original concept, the graphics are great.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:39pm

This game can be in one row with Goat Simulator and Surgeon Simulator!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Great graphics, little theme(thought a reference, and the theme was hard), hours of fun(this is hilarious).
Awesome submission!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Man.. XD i dont like too much unity.. but you show us you are really creative man! +100 points good work,like this game! Also check my project if you have some time,mate! :)

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:25pm

NOOOOOOOO I landed a shot STRAIGHT AT the snowman and it went through him. Maaaaaann... Considering you can break all the things in the room, I hoped the snowman would fall apart too! D:

Otherwise a great game, so happy you added the secret destructible things :D Managed to break a glass too.

mortus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I like the mood of this game a lot, it makes me want to destroy stuff! Why did you disable the music by default though? It sounds very nice. It's just too bad there's not much to destroy in that room and I also wish the coin was unreasonably heavy and bouncy, so you can perform combos.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Hey people! Thanks a lot for all your feedback, I am really happy that you like it! I did put a lot of thought into this and I am definitely planning on taking this game further. I have tons of ideas :-)
I'm glad you liked the music, I wasn't sure it was too rough much for some people, thus I chose to leave it off as default.
I will definitely also check out your game Domicuc- That goes for all of you- I usually go through the comments and play people's games at some point :-)
Again thanks for all the feedback- It is really appreciated.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I could amuse myself for hours playing this if there was more destruction!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Hey I know that hex tile texture. :D Cute idea and pretty entertaining for its simplicity.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Deeeestruction :)
Cool mecanics and physics. I ilke opportunity which is offer by this game. Of course, it can be improved, but it is good enough. Well done ++

LeReveur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Very nice job, good physics and graphics, have played until get 2500+, it's not so much but I played longer than some other entries, so well done. Hope you'll get a good average rate, you have a good rate from me, at least. :D

GarethIW says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:04pm

This was really good! Just needs more things to destroy!

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:00am

The best I did is a wine bottle plus two glass cups. It's kind of hard but a very fun game with nice physics! I also like the title screen LOL

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:36pm

It was fun to play, nice theme entry =)

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Hahaha very fun game! :D it hasn't a lot to do with the theme, but it's just hilarious to destroy things with a coin! Good job!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Great mindless time wasting fun.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:10am

Very loose interpretation of the theme (and I mean very loose) but the concept is good. Also destroying things with just a coin is actually pretty funny.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:16pm

"I can't make heads or tails out of this."
- IGN.com

In all seriousness, the POW block is worth millions of coins.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:04am

awesome job that is one powerful coin able to break glasses by a flick :D.
Would be awesome see you implement movement in the game rather than the changing perspective also a better indication of the how the arrow works(i didn't quite understand the aiming ui) overall great entry :D

psychonull says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:38pm

nice game, great idea, but I don't see the relation with the theme (I see the start game thing as a "trick" to the theme haha)

Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:17am

Love the snowman outside, really cool coin toss game! I Included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

Lynx says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:02am

Very humorous game! I wish I could walk around for better angles and that there were more things on the table, since the dishes were the only real multiplier worthy location.

Overall, you got me to play a game about flipping coins on a floppy drive and freaking out over that ticking timer! That in itself is a sign of a great game! Well done.

Zi says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:21am

I didn't really understand what was happening, but it made me chuckle a little. :D It would've been really cool if you simply kept the computer scene at the beginning, and played the game by actually clicking on the mouse on the table. But I understand this is probably due to the render-texture restriction of the free version of Unity.

rojo says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:58am

Surprisingly fun! I think the connection to the theme would have been stronger if you had to play while looking at the one screen, but that's a minor thing. Also, I think it would have been cool to not just destroy things, but to try and land the coin inside of objects as well for points. Solid entry overall, though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]