Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dissidence

by caporaltito - Compo Entry

"Greetings. Make yourself comfortable.
You are the new security agent for the Regime.
Your duty is to sit all day long in front of your screen and to watch the streets.
We are never protected from dissidents trying to wipe out the Regime and our Guide.

Our Guide is the way.
Our Guide is our way.
Our Guide must always live.

You must spot the dissidents and point them out to our agents on the streets. They will take care of them.
You just have to click on an available agent and click on a dissident to arrest him. It's easy!So easy it's like an entire game on one screen."

This game is not finished. I couldn't spend the whole week end on it, though I really needed time. I planned a post compo version of it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#350Mood3.17
#468Innovation3.24
#568Graphics3.08
#626Humor2.39
#862Theme3.35
#877Audio1.94
#1041Overall2.65
#1129Fun2.22

Comments

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:27am

Can't score this, there aren't any ratings on the page to choose from!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:17am

I wish the game over screen was later, because switching cameras would not only raise fun factor a lot, but also give challenge! :) There's few glitches, like guys walking through building, important guy standing nearly outside of view (saw only his arm) or only one agent when game says about two. I like your idea and mood you put into this game with this graphics is FANTASTIC.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:25am

what a good game!!!

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:28am

I like the idea. Very adult theme for such a cute looking game! Haha.

jepster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:28am

I was intending to write my own comment, but everything Tonasz says is what I would write. Great aesthetics, nice idea, few glitches.
Develop this some more, and show it to the world!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32am

Brilliant idea. So sad that game is too short.

PeerPlay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:42am

The idea is good, but the audio is really bad, I just couldn't stand the sound of clicking. Audio is so important in games.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:57am

Liked it! Wish it was longer.

I could see it being really great if it sped up the pace as the game went on.

Hope you finish it!

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59am

It was pretty confusing, thought I liked the graphics and the mood.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:29am

The mood is great and the graphics work perfectly.

Well done!

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:41am

Great idea. Would like the characters to move a bit quicker tho.

Joris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Really nice. Reminded me of Papers, Please! I hope you finish the game one day.

Wilson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Cool concept and really neat art, shame you didn't have a bit more time to add more gameplay stuff :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23pm

really nailed the theme.

(but the gameplay not so much, from what I can tell)

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:46am

You did a really good job setting the scene for this game. The dystopian text, the big-brother narrative, and the bleak, run-down town all really helped sell the setting. I liked the concept, and I could easily see this being expanded with ways to gather information on people to make the determination of who is a dissident and who isn't.

caporaltito says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:27am

Thank you all guys for the feedback.

I am currently planning to create a completely finished demo for this game. In fact, it will just be what I planned to do for this Ludum Dare. :)

Valandre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:28am

great mood, graphic are minimalist but fit perfectly! we need a post compo version!!

lisac says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36am

I really like the graphics and style.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Really nice premise and idea. Gameplay needs some work. Reminds of "Papers Please" a bit. Wish i could play the full finished version.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:14am

Pretty cool concept. I liked the reference to the theme in the beginning! graphics are nice swell. Solid effort, nice entry!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:25pm

good game...
end is too early

Night says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Please, fix a linux download. It points only to executable, no data dir.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Liked the texture aspect to the graphics and also interesting to have to grab dissedents. Maybe timer could increase the tension in that if you don't grab them quickly then they do something bad.

caporaltito says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Linux and Windows build fixed. You guys can download again :)

Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Cool game, especially liked the visuals. :) Those scenes and camera angles.. I don't know, it just looks really cool and appealing with the textures and the color scheme and that little ~noise effect.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]