Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

TMO

by aaronjbaptiste - Compo Entry

TMO: Tiny Multiplayer Online (Sim)

You're the game designer of a new and exciting MMO!

MMO players are a demanding species.

They will want awesome quests to set them on their way. Thrilling battles with ferocious baddies. And after they've slain the beasts they will have many a trinket and treasure, so make sure there's a shop nearby where they can sell their bounty.

Your boss said you have complete control over the MMO World. Huzzah! There was one *tiny* limitation however: because of "technical reasons" it needed to fit on a single screen.

============

Instructions:

- Players go from NPC -> Monsters -> Shops -> Back to NPC.
- Click to select the room type below then click on the grid to place the room.
- Rooms build from the clicked cell towards up and right.
- Rooms have different shapes, although they are not shown until you place them. Tip: Reference the game's screenshot for room sizes.
- There is no delete room feature, so plan ahead!
- Players receive happiness if their needs are met. Likewise they will rage quit when they are not.
- Players receive a penalty if they are fighting monsters below their level (indicated by the number on them).
- Players get upset when they are waiting or travelling long distances
- Red players = unhappy players.
- Happy players grant Ratings which brings more players which in turn grants a higher cash income.
- Cash is obtained via monthly subscriptions. More Online users = more cash per month.

- Win the game by getting a Rating of 100
- Lose the game by getting a Rating of less than 0

============

Troubleshooting:

If you're not seeing the UI update your Unity Web player plugin (created with Unity 4.6) or download the standalone versions.

The new Web player is currently unsupported in 64bit OSX on Chrome, see the discussion here: http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/no-more-web-player-support-in-chrome-and-firefox.202063/page-4. Try another browser or download the standalone versions.

============

Tools / Libraries used:

Unity 4.6
Photoshop
BFXR
Otomata (Generative Music Sequencer)
A* Pathfinding Project
FSM Finite State Machine from wiki.unity3d

============

Post Comp Update:

v0.1.1 All of which are usability fixes:

* Added visual preview of room size (the most asked for feature)
* Added white border to show currently selected room
* Improved sound volume

Many many more improvements planned.

============

http://twitter.com/aaronjbaptiste


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#86Innovation3.97
#124Overall3.71
#166Fun3.57
#171Theme3.99
#214Humor3.12
#329Mood3.20
#411Audio2.94
#822Graphics2.68

Comments

remicy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:25am

this game impressed me.
it's really, really awesome.
I can spend whole day to play this game.

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:43am

I definitely think there is a lot of potential for a MMO management sim. The systems here aren't really deep enough and the interface needs a lot of work, but the core is definitely there.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Great idea! As Ken said, it has potential for a sim.
Good work :D

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Haha! I really liked this one.

I think you did a good job of communicating your main idea well. This core idea of the "MMO simulator" comes across well and nothing in the game feels wasted or extraneous.

I actually thought I was doing quite well until I suddenly game overed, it took me re-reading the instructions to realize my rating must have hit zero! I found it difficult to notice much was 'going wrong' except ofcourse but these are just minor feedback concerns.

Honestly most things I'd be critical of come down to the UI. Without being able to delete or sell rooms, not knowing how large or what shape a room is going to be until you place it for the first time can cause issues. Something like a highlight of the grid to show where a building would appear is a good idea, especially for when the player hasn't gotten used to the whole "builds from the cell, up and to the right" idea yet. I misplaced a few buildings even when I knew!

I know this was a 'one screen game' but I'd be interested to see what this game would be like if it scaled infinitely. If you could scroll and literally keep placing buildings forever in increasing monster levels and building costs. Right now with the goal as it is, the game quickly hits a "well that's it" point. I almost feel this sort of game is better suited to 'getting as far as you possibly can' (and I think by including the option to continue after finishing, you probably feel this way too!)

I think this concept could go a long way pretty easily, congratulations on making it!

lemmily says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Nice! Kinda like MMORPG Tycoon :) I think it might not be clear what you sometimes need to do to make the ratings better, and when you build a new npc, (for example) those waiting at other npc should go to that new one

allanolivei says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Very good game, I enjoyed the idea and sound. I think you could carry out his idea.

sanojian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Loved this. MMO-tycoon, really great idea for a game.

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Very cool idea. Reminds me a bit of rymdkapsel. The lofi graphics work, and the music is really cool. I found it quite easy, not sure if I was missing something. Good fun though.

Hunter X says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:56pm

A very interesting concept and an enjoyable, if short, experience. It felt a little simple at times (I was able to quickly make it to 100/100 on my first go without much difficulty) but I suspect it would not be too difficult to expand this into an even more complex and entertaining simulation. Additionally, it did feel a little confusing as to where the areas would be placed (leading me to miss-place new areas on a couple of occasions), the indicator for which area type is selected isn't very clear and it could do with a way to sell/delete areas that need replacing, but on the whole this is a very entertaining game. My Unity Web Player did crash shortly after completing the game, but that may well be a clientside issue rather than a problem with the game itself.

Zimennik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Very good idea.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Hi there. Nice idea, played a bit, bookmarked to come back. Like the music, saw Leeroy early on... Good job!

RedPanda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Very interesting idea, awesome game, loved the names of players :D

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Nice game, sadly I didn t understand who the player feedback works

kaa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Very interesting idea

Shampop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Pewdiepie find my TMO amazing !
I find your game is amazing too !
Please continue to develop it, you have a great game in your hands

I couldn't get any player to level 4, it was maybe a little bit too easy ...

AinaSG says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Ok... this... this really surprised me.. for good. It didn't looked so entretaining before start playing.

Maybe too easy, but it has a lot of potential. congratulations!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Really good idea that this MMO simulator. I like the simplicity of this interface. Music is great. Bravo ++

Ryusui says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15pm

I don't like how there's no indication of room size OR where rooms will appear when you click. And once they're in place, there's no way to move them. I know it's mostly my OCD talking, but it's annoying having to put together my MMORPG world with great big holes in it.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:00am

I love everything about this game. Everything.

Kitch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:39am

Small gripes I could make, but I won't given... 1... I really liked the game... a lot... and 2... I think you nailed it given the time constraint...
Thanks! Really enjoyed this one.... I've given you more ellipsis than any... game... i've... commented on... thus far...

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:15pm

My god this is cool. Nuff said.

Thingus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:12pm

This is really cool, and a great example of an elegant game design. Good job!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:18pm

The music was nice, but the sound effects were too loud! A mute button would be nice to mitigate that.

It seems that the previous type of building you selected will get repeatedly built, which can burn money and map space. You might want to have a selection square appear in the lower left, then go away after one click so you have to select the type again.

The game seems to take a very long time and it's sometimes not obvious why players get unhappy, making the rating abruptly go way down.

Overall this is a really solid entry though! Works well, clever idea, well-implemented, rather complex system, funny names.

Wirtualnosc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Actually it's a pretty good game! I miss the fast forward feature, but other than that, it feels pretty solid.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Loved this game and I'd get it if you keep developing this idea further :)
I'd love to be able to drag the tiles or at least know their size in beforehand, it felt quite awkward. Even though I loved the feel of progression you made, the game ended and none of my players were level 4 :( that was bad.

Anyways, 4 stars for you :)

indie4fun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:56pm

That was quite fun! Original idea, it was nice to manage the whole thing, really missed more different type of blocks, it felt limited in that way, but I guess the Compo time wasn't enough to do more.
Pretty decent for just one person and so little time! Congrats!

Nekith says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Great concept! There's something of Majesty (Paradox) in it.

It's just difficult, sometimes, to read the "waiting count" where players are on it.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Awesome idea! I liked it much =)

Suppagumma says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Nooooooooo <- a happy excited noooooooo
This is the best LD31 game I played so far, with the best (and most hilarious in a way) idea. Gave you a lot of very well deserved 5s and will come back to play more. Please please please develop it further after the jam: it's a game I would totally buy.
- Daniele

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:41pm

love it, very creative idea, well done :)

Groydis says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Great Job, background music wore me down after a while. But really enjoyed play the game. Some more sound effects would of been nice as well. Everything seemed to work as intended and I didn't get frustrated at any particular moments. This is a great game. Good Work.

jachepe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:04am

Your game is awesome and has a great potential!

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:09am

Adore this :) Really really fun idea and I love that I could see an entire MMO on one screen.

Would've been nice to have some indication of the block shapes before placement, but apart from that, I love it and I hope it gets further updates

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:17am

This is really impressive! I´d love to see a more fleshed out version of this!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:46am

Very nice core idea. This game has potential.
The UI needs work and and the game needs more features to keep "managers" interested.
But it is a great work for a Compo, my favourite so far.

kalugny says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Original and interesting!

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Innovative and fun idea! The game is a bit easy and could do with som more complex gameplay (different kinds of stores, different classes with different needs etc.) but overall a solid entry!

McNick says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:05am

This game rocks! I love sim games, and this was very smooth and polished. Great job!

someoneman says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:44am

This game definitely has potential to be great if you made a fuller version of it without the jam restrictions.
The only problem was that you can't see how each upgrade will fit inside the board until after you've placed it.

Teesquared says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:44am

I had a blast playing this game. Very original idea. I played the compo and post versions. The changes you are making are great. Keep adding new stuff :)

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:59am

Congratulation sir, this is the first 5/5 I give in fun :D

This game is full of references, some I was really surprised to find here (bdubs!)

Good job!

I have 2 suggestions though (haven't played the post-compo yet, but I certainly bookmarked it)
- knowing the shape of the room I am about to place would be nice
- There is nothing ingame that explains why someone is unhappy.

rantt says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Cool concept, great idea for a sim. I enjoyed it, nicely done :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Cool! I love the FSM. It would be neat to see some additional consequences. I saw a level 2 characters walk across a dragon's lair, and I thought it would be neat if they got into trouble for it. Also, it would be nice if when you were placing areas, you got a preview of what you were placing.

okkolobr says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:58am

Very relaxing, nice "management" game :)

Ranmara says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Great concept, fun to play.

hexapode says ...
Apr 18, 2015 @ 3:31pm

This game is brillant!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]