Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

UON

by cabezotta - Jam Entry

You have to avoid black boxes, and collect rhombs to go to the next level.
Everytime that you collect all the rhombs is going to increase your level and the game is going to become more difficult.

Game by Nicolás Recabarren

Music by Julián Micic de Rosas

EDIT: I made some changes that a lot of people did suggest: now the level is an exact square. It should be no problem to see where all the "up and down" cubes are coming from! :D

EDIT 2: We make a very similar game to http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=26377 [AVOID RAGE]
It was not my intention, in fact, i never played that game before, but i assume that somehow i get some influence by something related and i finished making an exact same game, and i'm pretty embarrassed by now. It was not my intention obviously.
Both games are not the same, they have a lot of stuff different, but the main concept is the same.
Go play that game, so i can fell less bad about it, haha.

Made in ARGENTINA - NonSense Arts 2014

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#14Fun(Jam)4.07
#44Overall(Jam)3.98
#59Audio(Jam)3.89
#88Innovation(Jam)3.84
#185Theme(Jam)3.91
#221Mood(Jam)3.45

Comments

cinderous says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Simple yet addicting! Sat there playing it for a good 20-30 minutes. Can't get past 6 though haha. I really like the concept the and music fits perfectly.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:49pm

excellent! perfect balance and gameplay. good ambiance too. would buy on app store. bookmarking

Mefteg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Really nice game !

nzgiije says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Simple but addictive game. Love it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Great stuff. Esthetics, music and sound effects fit together really well.

nitop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Damn, I suck at this game.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Really addictive game, awesome polished look! Duval!!!

matt125 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23pm

This is excellent. Really feels like a complete game instead of something made in a weekend.

Conflei says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Full minimalista, excelente ejecucion, todo concuerda me gusta el ambiente y los colores, totalmente usable para publicar mobile. Saludos desde Venezuela!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:59am

Fun and challenging game! It looks kinda like a concept I almost made for this LD (although mine was more bullet-heck style on a 3x3 grid)

Glad I didn't because yours would take the cake by far! Great job!

fauge says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:04am

too fast but overall a great game, simple yet addicting

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:21am

Challenging but fun. Nice job!

Sayuri Tagata says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:36am

Wow! it's so simple, beautiful and funny! congrats!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:46am

Very addicting! Looks and plays great! Good job!

Azlen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:53am

Simple and fun!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:09am

Fun little game. Good replayability - I kept trying to beat my high-score of six.

cmdr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:46am

Super addicting! There were maybe too many visuals on screen at once but they did all look very nice :)

Kitch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:59am

Trying to think of a way to make this game better...
Gameplay.. no... Audio.. no... ummm... you could change the... no... Different color scheme! Yes... I don't like purple...

Seriously though, really good job! Had a lot of fun (and will have more) with this one. Thanks!

Devark says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:08am

Great game. Seems like somebody else has had the exact same idea though :P

sputnik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Super design, great fun, love the simplicity.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Difficulty was nicely balanced, though I wish I had one more square to warn me of danger. My highscore is 10 :D Overall super game!

Madball says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:43pm

These games are the most amazing. Creating a very fun game in several megabytes is normal, but creating a very fun game on a 3x3 grid... Is it even possible? Yes, here you are.
I managed to get 21 score, and I spent a lot of time trying to improve my result, but vainly, I didn't even get close.

fil00dl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:55pm

smart balancing of the game, it is a interesting concept of moving on the filled squares and in the same time avoid mobile obstacles

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Great simple puzzle game, it'd probably work super well on mobile. It'd be interesting if the grid shape randomly changed and you had to connect all them at once without going over the blank blocks.

jelly says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Wow! This game is really a stand out. Well done@ I really like how the sounds play with the background music. And the gameplay is so much fun.

My only criticism is that you have less time to see the black cubes moving up and down because the space to play is not square. This makes the fast-paced decisions much more difficult in a way where I don't think it's a positive aspect of the game.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Amazing game, it catched me for a while!

runvs says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Ths is really addicitive! I like the easy, but great concept!

It often happened for me that i slided into a black square that was just leaving the tile i wanted to go to. Proglably this could be programmed to be more in a player friendly way.
Also (at least on my widescreen monitory) i had the problem, that i had quite long time to see the blocks coming in from left or right, but the time to react to blocks from top/bottom is quite short.
Nevertheless a great game. Did i mention the cool soundtrack?

dunin says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I played Avoid Rage before, so my conbclusion: work together!
Your collect idea (and so levels) is cool. But the difficulty is too hard too fast.
And there are good graphics ideas in this one and in Avoid rage...

cabezotta says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:32pm

@dunin thanks for your comment and suggestion. I'd love to work with him, im going to ask him about it :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]