Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SnowBomber

by Mikel - Jam Entry

SnowBomber is our game-entirely-in-one-screen entry to LD31 Jam.

Snowy, our snowman is trapped in the magical garden, where the evil ...blue balls are about to catch him and make him...eeh..the things evil balls do to strangers.. Help him to get rid of all his enemies with a little bit of explosive power!

Controls:
Arrow keys : move
Space : place bomb

Update:
Added an Android version. That version is clearly post-jam, it has control by touching, that was implemented after the jam. Still trying to generate a Windows or Linux version :-(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#275Theme(Jam)3.80
#400Graphics(Jam)3.48
#460Humor(Jam)2.65
#460Audio(Jam)2.83
#517Mood(Jam)3.00
#569Overall(Jam)3.13
#672Fun(Jam)2.83
#976Innovation(Jam)1.93

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15am

Really cool game!

Try mine, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Azlen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:37am

Fun game, I had a hard time getting the bombs to blow up the enemies. Maybe a larger explosion size would help? (3x3)

Plus, the bombs took a bit too long to blow up, might be nice if it was a bit quicker.

I like the art, it's kinda cute!

brombatti says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Great Game ^^

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Nice art work - the audio was kind of grating, particularly when placing a bomb and waiting for it to explode.

Fun little bomber man clone!

MrSun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:58pm

I really like your art style! Great work

guldlock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:59pm

The art is great! Really nice job!

==========================
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46099

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Agree with Azlen, bombs take a lot to explode and it's difficult keeping alive, but it's a nice one-player bomberman clone :D

PapaCheech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04pm

so happy that people made snow themed games... keeping the snowman emoticon spirit alive ! Thats what I like to see!
Anyways great game I had alot of fun, and the graphics are top notch.
Keep at it!

OpenGL says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:16am

Solid boomer man game. It's difficult, enemy move speed too fast :)

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:08am

Excellent looking game. Hard to kill the enemies with the bombs. If they had patterns and not random movement it might be easier to play but I got killed when I got too close since it's one hit and dead. The Music is nice. It would have helped to not have all the bomb audio stack. It can get really annoying.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:17am

Nice art style and animation, though perhaps the character needs to stand out a bit more. Nicely challenging. :)

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Good game, I really love the snowman graphic! Also the game over screen is super cute !

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Nice game)
Love the bomberman style)

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:06pm

good work(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:26am

I like it, man! The music is a strong point. It has a certain beepy charm. The graphics were also nice, reminiscent of a newspaper cutout or something, which fit well with the tunes.

My complaints are that the enemies are a bit finnicky and you can get killed very easily by them. The bomb's sound effect is a tad grating, but otherwise a pretty solid bomberman game.

sorlok says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:27am

Leaving a blank comment to add this to my queue; I'll see if I can get my hands on a Mac to try it.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:31pm

I love the art style. The sheep and the blue enemies are extremely cute. The game itself however is extremely hard and punishing. Especially when some round directly kill you of with an enemy in front of your nose. But still a very nice entry.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:47am

I so badly want to play this, because I was an absolute Bomberman addict in early elementary school, but I'm windows-only... ;~;

Mikel says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Thanks for the comments to everyone we would have likes to be able to compile a windows and linux version, we will try again this week, meanwhile we have nearly ready an android version and will publish it very soon (also iOS but it will take some time to be online I imagine) :-)

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:03pm

For some reason, I've always had a weak spot for bomberman-like games! This one also has a really nice art style (reminded me of comics like Mutts etc).

rjhunter says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Smooth controls, good restart time, cute and engaging art. Feels very polished! I like the little touches like how explosions burn the snowy trees.

The random level layout was sometimes a bit frustrating, and the AI would often get "stuck".

If you continue to work on this game, can I suggest adding powerups?

(Also I think this is the first Mac-only game I've seen in LD!)

Mikel says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:40am

I got an android version, if someone is interested. Although a touch control system has to be made for it so it is not exactly the jam entry version. So hope more people can play it :-)

crazyrems says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:57pm

A bomber man clone.
The graphics reminds me of SMW2:Yoshi's Island.
The enemies kill you so fast, you can't dodge them
It's a good game though.

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Fun twist of the old bomberman games.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]