Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Entire Screen of One Game

by Tom 7 - Compo Entry

I am traveling internationally this weekend and had some other obligations, but I managed to put together this legit thingo in a few hours because I love Ludum Dare so much!

This one is low on polish but it has an "interesting" game mechanic I'll let you figure out. Can't be won except by figuring out what's going on and thus having your mind destroyed.

Only tested in Chrome. May need a fast computer. Use the arrow keys and space.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation4.79
Theme4.79
#38Overall3.95
#93Humor3.51
#294Mood3.25
#363Fun3.30
#799Graphics2.71
#1934Coolness32%

Comments

nbilyk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:28am

Worked great on my tablet once I grabbed the keyboard. I was impressed once I realized that I was seeing the history of my previous movements.
Only thing it needs is an objective IMO.

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:54pm

They said our lives were meaningless. That there was no victory. Spinning into infinity, endlessly incepting, we jumped. For what purpose? We got nowhere.

The community of ourselves formed and for a while we were content merely to embrace and huddle to fend off the chill of the RGB winter. But as fathers and daughters and mothers and sons consumed one another in the savage feast of time, forced to witness the decay of our own future-past, tortured by the dreams of what was yet to come again, our heart cried out: gods, won't you save us?

And no answer came.

Until at once a swelling thought: laughing through tears and longing to face the fear that we had never faced, as one we turned to the west. The ones who began this journey knew they would never see its end, so they ached in their soul a new burning ache that filled their emptiness, a new-born galaxy in a vast universe.

And still they marched west, pressing their faces to the wall and leaping, while others leapt atop them. So it was for an eternity. Generations born to be fed to the furnaces of the cause. Jumping to the highest point yet and then falling back, but ever taller they grew.

The First to be Free was not born in triumph because celebration was the product of certainty. But the First to be Free was born, granted the same iron birthright as so many before. And there it was. A jump barely touched the top of the Ledge. A second jump not even close. A third, likewise failed. The First wept silently that the barrier that united the community might be breached. To be the Hero and the Exile. To be the Hope and the realization of hope, that must surely tarnish in the harsh air of reality. One more jump and it was done. Atop the Ledge, the First looked down into infinite space. Hesitated. And in that hesitation realized the Truth. Though not enslaved to Space, Those Who Would be Free were still enslaved to Time. The First jumped -- and fell forever.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:09pm

JavadocMD <3

ponk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:14am

Really impressive ... ! Great work !

ianh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

I did it, I won!

radmars says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41am

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Waterman7 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:40am

Brilliant!

sam101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Whoah, that's a great idea.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:14pm

You have succeeded in blowing my mind. I have no words. Congrats, sir.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Hi there. Excellent interpretation of theme... really nice. Some sounds be nice. Horrible recursive mind-f%%^ tho' Good job!

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Flat out: This is the winner.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Great interpretation of the theme, probably one of the most creative I've seen yet. I don't think it's a great game, or very fun, but you nailed the theme. Well done!

tomdeal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:22pm

very innovative and you stick to the theme

tudd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53pm

It didn't destroy my mind too hard, but maybe I'm used to it as a habitual Portal player :)

Great take on the theme.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:26am

This game is so amazing, I have no words.

WELL DONE, SIR.

khahem says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:41am

Great interpretation of the theme, must have been fun to code :)

rainshapes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Amazing.

BK-TN says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:58pm

When I figured out all the different boxes could be mashed together in a corner, my brain blew up a little.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Really cool and innovative game! Felt that I could win for a while, though everywhere I went it ended with vertical walls. Thanks for the game and Merry Christmas!

Tortoise says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Really cool concept and good use of theme, it'd be nice to have an objective though.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Mind expanding! well done!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Cue "Inception" *BWAAA!* (http://inception.davepedu.com/) My mind was sufficiently blown, thanks Tom 7.

elvaq says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Hilarious! Really great jam game, best use of this theme I've seen. Simple yet effective.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:42pm

It kinda break my mind.

dlowe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:56pm

O_o

Headmade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Brilliant idea! Good job.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:47pm

thank you for bringing this game to the world

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:25pm

The only criticism I have is the lack of an objective.

Very interesting interpretation of the theme.

Lissaring says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Haha, well that broke me. Well done.

Muush says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Brilliant. I came here after reading the feature article on RPS. Genius idea

hbocao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:15am

Wow... that was clever. Awesome entry!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:51am

It successfully fucked my mind. Well done.

lekochen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:35am

Mind = Blown

wlovas says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:47am

Love a game that inspires its own mythology..

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:49am

FASCINATING

Knighty says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:17am

That was interesting.

erik says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:38am

Brilliant and bizarre. It reminded me of Towlr. I was sad that escaping didn't win. :(

Louisload says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:07am

||: A Screen Inside A Screen Inside :||

anokta says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:16am

simple yet genuinely inspiring! excellent work!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:14am

Woah! Man, I adore you :) Still come back to this game to try again and have my mind exploded again.

Davision says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Great concept, I imagine it also messed with your mind while making it.
Our games are not so far away btw: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44878

Mechamew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:48pm

This is a total stand out game for me.

I haven't had the opportunity to play too many LD31 entries (I think I've rated 26 so far). But that said, this is easily so far my favourite in terms of creative interpretation of the theme. Just awesome.

I spent ages playing with this.

With some LD games, I feel like I'm forced to spend more time with them to give them a chance. With this, I was quite into it, then started getting a little frustrated, then I was like "okay I'm done now", but then I just kept going and kept going and found myself really enthralled.

You've made something special here Tom 7!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:27am

The zooming out concept is very unique and innovative! At first it is like zooming out but I found that I am wrong.. The mechanism is hard to describe but is super cool! My only concern is I am feeling dizzy after play awhile..

nkornek says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:45am

Incredible

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Probably the most creative use of theme I've ever seen in a Ludum Dare game, the whole thing looks really deep.

Johnro says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Confusing, yet entertaining!

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:01pm

This is crazy. In a good way :)

alvarop says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:12am

holy shit

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:12am

That's super innovative, clever, genius. Well done!

Soron says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:08am

Ow. Ow ow ow. My brain. Ow. WHY did I play that right after "The Best of Both Worlds"?

I may have to come back to this after I've done some nice, normal thinking. Like listening to relaxing music... or navigating a 4-dimensional maze... or mucking around with exotic uses of Git...

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:14am

Such a creative mind bending idea, loved it. Was interesting trying to figure what was going on out. One of the best uses of the theme I've seen so far.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:38am

Whoa...

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:29am

Was linked to this from outside ludum dare, love it mind blown :)

foolmoron says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Oh my god whyyyyy askdbaslhxbahscn8329rtdyfX*^%#*O&cr

zompi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Cubeception oO
My mind just went out and don't wanna come back... thanks. 5/5

madmaw says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:59pm

A truly outstanding entry

Simon says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Dude, this is awesome! And crazy :)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:21pm

This game must be renamed "Aspirin Outception".
Is playing this is better while drunk ? I don't know, but I would not try.

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Cool take on the theme, but I suppose my mind is used to this kind of stuff. :P
The only major issue I have is the colors, they hurt to look at after a while... Despite that, I guess an objective would've made this more fun I guess. Still, good work =)

markusfisch says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:17pm

That's a pretty cool concept! Would love to see that as a real game somehow.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Would have been so perfect with a proper gameplay :)

Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

This game is a mine fuck. I Included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/hTIxzyGfxwg

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:32pm

A+++ would play again.

Dec 30, 2014 @ 4:42am

I hate this game! I love this game!

dunin says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 10:27am

cool game. if we could still rate, I will give you the best in inovation. but you don't need it... bravo!

Dec 30, 2014 @ 11:21am

"Daddy, where do new screens come from?"
"I dunno kid, let's wait under the pipe and find out."

Congratulations on a great game, I had a blast!

WiErD0 says ...
Jan 6, 2015 @ 5:17pm

TOO MANY FRACTALS!!!!!

seriously, though, cool game!

MafiaPuff says ...
Jan 13, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Ahh! There is no winning! Only repetition and death!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]