Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

90 Second Portraits

by SimonLarsen - Jam Entry

## 90 SECOND PORTRAITS ##

Time is money and you have neither!
In 90 SECOND PORTRAITS you're paying the bills by speed painting portraits of bypassing customers!

You have 90 seconds to paint the customer and his/her prefered background.
Your work day ends after 5 customers!

## CONTROLS ##

Please check out the in-game tutorial.

Change window size using number keys 1-7 on keyboard.

## CREDITS ##

Programming: Simon Larsen (@SimonLarsen)
Artwork: Lukas Hansen (@LukasErritsoe)
Character designs: Frederik Storm (@WonkyPolygons)
Voice acting: Simon and Frederik

Music by Kevin MacLeod:
"Monkeys Spinning Monkeys" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

# ANDROID VERSION IS HIGHLY EXPERIMENTAL ##

Please try desktop version first.
The game is not very playable on phones but it is great on tablets, especially with a stylus.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall(Jam)4.63
Fun(Jam)4.54
Mood(Jam)4.54
Humor(Jam)4.55
Coolness81%
Innovation(Jam)4.61
#16Audio(Jam)4.17
#17Graphics(Jam)4.63
#221Theme(Jam)3.87

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

Really cool game, I enjoyed it.

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

SilentNight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:00am

This game is AWESOME. Nice use of the theme overall and I really had a fun experience playing it! Great work.

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:37pm

jajjaja
Better with a wacom!
Great concept!

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:38pm

One of my favourite games in the jam so far - why aren't there more comments here? SUCH a polished and neat idea, really funny, love the characters, the gameplay and pretty much everything. Please make it into a bigger game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Fantastic showing of the theme! Nicely presented:) i loved how it showed all my paintings at the end:)

hollowspecter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43pm

TERRIFIC. So. Much. Fun. I will definitetly share this. It's so funny and challenging. I totally owned it in the beginnning: http://puu.sh/dnBqD/bbdec6fffe.png And this was my best<3 http://puu.sh/dnBrB/3722dddbf8.png

nuno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Awesome idea! hi-five from another Lõver :D

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. What else ca I say?!

7Soul says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16pm

What a cool concept ^^ Good job

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:22pm

This is the best game I've played this Ludum Dare hands down. It's unbelievable how much your team was able get done in 72 hours.

Every fit together like a glove, the art (not my paintings XD), the music, voices, and the mechanics.

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:24am

Hilariously fun! Absolutely gorgeous. Very nice entry.

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:38am

By far, the most fun and innovative game i've seen!! How did you do the grading? It must have been hard!

SneManden says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Wow :) Such a well-polished game. Cool idea, and funny characters to draw. Really awesome!

CScribes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Loved it! The idea is fresh and the use of them theme clear and hilarious. Great job :)

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Wow! This has got to be one of the best LD entries I have ever played. Very innovative, very funny, excellent audio and great visuals. Fantastic job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:20am

Thanks for the fun time! You really nailed it with this wonderful game. The graphics are awesome and it works like a charm.
-Steffen

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:15am

Great humor, super character designs and absolutely fitting music. You people did an extraordinary job. This game made me smile :)

K.Chplr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:09pm

I keep getting F but it's a whole lot of fun, good job.

anissen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Your game is, as always, very innovative and extremely polished! Although I absolutely sucked at drawing it's a really fun game. A bit stressful as well. Great work!

DarkCart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:38am

Looks cool, good job.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:38am

This was a great idea. Unfortunately, I couldn't get any money. :(

Maybe it was just because I was playing on a laptop with a touchpad though. The music was nice, but I was mentally starting to get frustrated with the paintbucket and my lack of mixing skills by Customer 3.

Great game. You might have a winner on your hands.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:03am

Wow, this game is really phenomenal considering it is made within such a short time. And there is some skill curve to mastering this game, such as thinking fast to pick tools quickly, making the right color, etc. Oh, the coloring combination is an amazing mechanics!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Great entry! Loved the idea, nice graphics, and great music! Good job overall!

Kitch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Great idea and execution. Was really a lot of fun (too bad I'm such a bad artist :) ) Good job! Thanks!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Excelent. Nothing to add. Great job!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:49am

Iam such a bad artist :(
I wish there was mode that gives you more time.

great idea, great game, good contents. simple and quickly understandable. this game is just awesome.

I will play it some more later and share it with my artist brother!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:14am

Wow I love this. Behold my beautiful art:

https://www.flickr.com/search/?tags=ludumdare31

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:25am

Wow, my lady and I had quite a time playing this one. I was pretty terrible at the mixing. Well, and the drawing. She crushed me! A+ job, this was really slick and fun. A strong vision fully realized.

Sushiy says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Genius idea!! it's so much fun to play!! you should totally make this a mobile thing :) might benefit from touchcontrols

Poupi says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Nice work ^^

ramyaanudeep says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:30pm

heyy....wat an awsum job guys

dunin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:02pm

really cool game. good graphics (and hard to copy...).
A sort of leaderboard with best paintings would be awesome...

Shivur says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Cool concept! Didn't earn a lot of money but it was pleasant.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Pssst - You are featured on todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pE047h0Gqx0

Si1ver says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:20pm

This is sooo much fun!
Awesome!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:48pm

This is really awesome, just loving it.
Best way to paint is using only the paint bucket :D

mortus says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Absolutely hilarious! Is there an option to export and save the gallery? I'm kinda proud of some of my creations. :D

I've not encountered that moment yet, but I believe it gets repetitive after some time. Have you tried combining more parts randomly for greater replayability? (or do yo already?)

miotatsu says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:07am

This is definitely one of my favourite entries! Awesome job!!!

digibody says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 6:16am

Really fun, nicely done

feiss says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:04pm

so fun! great job! :D
here's my art: http://imgur.com/5R9ScMi

Benjamin says ...
Dec 31, 2014 @ 3:28am

That was hilarious. I love it

scias says ...
Jan 9, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Cool! This really deserved to win : )

Zammalad says ...
Jan 25, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Good show. This had me literally laughing out loud. Well deserved winner.

crosscounter says ...
Jan 26, 2015 @ 3:27am

Best thing ever since Broken Picture Telephone. Definitely needs to be a multiplayer game with built-in public gallery. Absolutely gold!

valendeluque says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:32pm

comomiersajuego?

Ginjar says ...
Apr 7, 2016 @ 9:30am

I love this game so much, please please please fix the android version tho, I'd love to play on the go

binasa says ...
Jun 30, 2017 @ 7:30pm

From Blackstone Audio: THE BROTHERS ASHKENAZI by I. http://downloadthingshere.faith Our quarterly magazine is packed with news, articles, and essays not found on the website.

binasa says ...
Jul 24, 2017 @ 4:43pm

Our simple lessons will provide you with the artistic skills required to produce stunning drawings.http://newzhizn.ru/racing/fidic-client-consultant-agreement-pdf.php Twenty Holy Monasteries with pictures and description of each one.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]